We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast and effective”

Osteria da Chichibio
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Certaldo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$23
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: traditional Tuscan cuisine
L'Aquila, Abruzzi, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fast and effective”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Small, warm and nice place. Tipical tuscany cusine, ribollita, salami, ham. The atmosphere is warm and friendly. Small prices , good food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    177
    22
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lunch and Nice Visit”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The staff were absolutely lovely and could not be more helpful.
A small establishment with a few tables so do not expect fine dining, however the food is simple cuisine, the cured hams and salami werejust exceptional as was the wild boar pasta dishes.
Overall a delightful lunch and truely Tuscan cuisine at its best. We are looking forward to coming back.

Visited August 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trier, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“how can this place have a certificate of excellence?”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I just happened to be here tonight on TripAdvisor because of the Mercantia event 2013... Dear TripAdvisor, how can this place have a certificate of excellence 2013? Don't you read the reviews? Your own reviews? The ones you published and which had been classifying this place to be somehow, yes, even hostile towards people who come up to Certaldo Alto and dare to sit down at this place of explicit non-hospitality, hostile maybe because they are foreigners...? If we talk about an organisation called "Advisor", you cannot seriously recommend this place to the ones who are consulting TripAdvisor. My worst experience in eating out in 67 years had been at Chichibio who (the eponym) had been not a clever but a mendacious cook to a noble man, and alright, in one or the other way this clearly comes up to how Chichibio of the so-called modern times is treating guests who dare to enter the place. My wife and I have to warn everybody and especially our German fellow-countrymen (ich warne meine Landsleute) to eat or try to eat at Chichibio.

I have to mention when I had been there. I have been there in Certaldo Alto In September 2012 but of course we did not enter this so-called pretending-hospitality establishment.

Visited September 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very small place to eat traditional Tuscany food”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

If you want to take a rest, stop here and taste some Tuscany food. The service is a little bit long and the place quite small, but the food is very tasty and prices are low.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germany
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thrown out...”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

... as the previous man wrote. We had exactly the SAME experience. We went inside and had a look. Then we asked for a table if possible at the outside terrase. We simply wanted to order some drinks + some not so cheap desserts. Just at placing our order the man wanted us to leave the table, as "this is a restaurant and no place to drink something and eat desserts. The table is reservered for people who eat there.". We told him that this isnt very polite and we had a seven year old child with us. No more words about this bad service and the kind they deal with the guests. I havent never been asked to leave a table after they offered me the one.

Visited August 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria da Chichibio also viewed

Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 
Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing