We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and authentic”
Review of Fattoria Bassetto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fattoria Bassetto
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We were amazed with the unique and rustic feel of this old Italian mansion. The rooms varied according to one's needs but for us, we were able to enjoy the lovely period room set amongst one of the buildings wings. Nestled within some old traditional Tuscan villages, we also experienced the lovely town of Certaldo. Truly Italian in all its authenticity, it was great to be able to sample the local food and wine and get a feeling for life in this part.
Thanks to Doogs and to Fattoria Bassetto for having us. It is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickbeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Bassetto is literally the prettiest place I have ever stayed in my life. Italy country side is amazing. I would recommend it to all of my friends who are easy go travelers looking for a place to kick back and relax. The atmosphere is terrific and the history of the place is incredible. The gardens are absolutely beautiful there is a herb garden for all the guests to us. The kitchens in both the Villa and hostel are huge and wonderful everything you could ever need is there. Breakfast is provided every morning. Its a great way to meet other travelers if you are by yourself. The old town is gorgeous. Certaldo is definitely a place i plan on coming back to! Thank you for an awesome stay!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizfish91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I absolutely loved staying here. If you want an authentic, peaceful, beautiful place to stay in Certaldo, this is it! Duigald (one of the staff members) is the most friendly, amazing host ever and he will make you feel comfortable and at ease right away. Everything is in a short walking distance and there are breathtaking trails nearby to go on light walks. The main house has plenty of rooms for large groups and there is also a house for small groups or couples for a more secluded stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lgwad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed in Fattoria Bassetto for three nights and it was absolutely magical!! Every morning the sun came up over the beautiful landscape and I had to pinch myself to believe the beauty was real!! Great location because Pisa, Florence and Tuscany are all accessible by a short train ride. The staff bent over backwards to make the stay enjoyable and the building was breathtaking. The town is a great escape from a bustling city and I will DEFINITELY RETURN!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahb k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed in the villa part of the guesthouse as we didn't fancy the idea of sharing a bathroom. The living space was big but we didn't use the dark dining room or living room at all as it felt very dated and grimy.

The strangest thing I found was not having any locks on any doors. I felt I couldn't leave valuables in the room and took everything with us when we went out.

The shower / toilet were fine. Everything was pretty rustic, which was not a problem for us.

The bedroom was a good size but it was almost as if it was someone's actual house during the 'off-peak' season as the drawers had clothes in them!

We still had a shared kitchen with the other residents which was fine as it wasnt very busy, but in agreement with another comment posted, we also didn't think much of the breakfast. The villa is quite pricey compared to the other rooms and for that you would expect something more substantial than sliced bread and jam. That was a disappointment.

The grounds are beautiful and the dogs who live there are friendly but they do roam around and are not always cleared up after.. If you get my meaning. This meant the area we parked our car smelt quite bad and you had to be careful when you went back and forth.

The grounds are beautiful however and the staff are friendly, and it has a relaxing and communal vibe. For a backpacker this is a perfect way to experience tuscany. We just didn't realise how 'hostel like' it would be - perhaps we should have done more research, and the the villa price does not reflect this.

We would not go back to Fattoria Bassetto, but would recommend it to backpackers. We would definitely visit Certaldo again as it is beautiful.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Goldfishimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We really had a great stay in Fattoria Bassetto!
Our plusses:
+ friendly host with lots and lots of experience of Tuscany
+ free herbs, free breakfast
+ close to San Gimignano, Siena, Firenze, Pisa, Cinque Terre (which are also easily attainable by local train)
+ A building with a great history and lovely kitchen and library. You really can feel the Tuscan lifestyle here ;-)
+ the swimming pool!
+ did i mention the swimming pool? :-)

The minusses:
- the dogs in the neighborhood (hunting dogs) keep barking till 4-5 o'clock in the morning (use your earplugs or get used to it :-))
- the beds are not so soft to sleep in...
- the railway and road close to the hostel are quite noisy. Ask for a room with a view to the inner courtyard, these are more silent at night.(when you're staying in the Villa)

The breakfast is indeed quite limited. But; you're staying in a hostel, not a hotel or B&B with a breakfast buffet. BYOF (bring your own food!), buy it in Certaldo, or get organic fruits from the garden.(For me, it was the first time in my life to pick and eat fresh abricots, yummy ;-)!)

As you are staying in Tuscany, (in the countryside!), stop complaining about the crickets and enjoy the view, the nature, the summersounds, the warmth, the swimming pool

Room Tip: Rooms (in the Villa) on the east side are more quite and cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janvanderborght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We went to Certaldo because we wanted to stay in the Tuscan countryside and the idea of staying somewhere unique like Fattoria Bassetto appealed to me.

We were one of two sets of couples staying at Fattoria Bassetto, and were actually the last check in of the year (mid October). The buildings and surrounding grounds are very pretty, and we had a huge room. We didn't have to share a bathroom as the place was almost empty, which was a bonus, the bathroom was a little dreary and not the cleanest, but functional all the same. Our room was quite cool during the day, and we needed to pile on the blankets in the evening to stay warm.

We didn't really use the kitchen, and went out for breakfast.

The only thing that would potentially stop us coming back here was walking backwards and forwards to town and back - sometimes several times a day. This was made more of a hassle by the road works taking place which blocked the footpath and we had to walk on the side of the road.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Certaldo hotels
2.3 mi away
Podere Benintendi
Podere Benintendi
#2 of 5 in Certaldo
99 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Certaldo
Hotel Certaldo
#1 of 5 in Certaldo
387 reviews
4.6 mi away
Fattoria Pogni
Fattoria Pogni
#1 of 4 in Marcialla
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Albergo Il Castello
Albergo Il Castello
#3 of 5 in Certaldo
88 reviews
5.1 mi away
Camping Panorama del Chianti
5.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Tavolese
Hotel Villa Tavolese
#1 of 1 in Marcialla
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Bassetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Bassetto

Address: Via delle Citta' 3, 50052, Certaldo, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Certaldo
Price Range: £40 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fattoria Bassetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing