We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10/10”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fattoria Bassetto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fattoria Bassetto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“10/10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

I stayed twice for a few weeks - thoroughly recommend it. Great location in the Tuscan hills, an easy train trip to Florence or siena with lots to see and do locally.
Staff are friendly, grounds are spacious. Locals are open to tourists. A great laid back base to have while touring Tuscan.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    14
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
18
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I showed up here by accident and stayed for a week. It's the kind of place you think about long after you've left. Located in a small, quaint town, it's a fantastic place to relax with a bottle of Chianti and delicious food from one of the amazing restaurants in Certaldo Alto or from the Bassetto's kitchen. They have an extensive herb garden. I highly recommend the Fattoria Bassetto and can't wait to go back myself.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I LOVED this place!! It is set in a cute little town in Tuscany away from all the hustle and bustle , making this place a peaceful place to relax. That being said there is plenty to do as well. You can travel to wine and olive vineyards, taste wonderful authentic local foods, horseback riding through Tuscany, take a cooking class, ride bikes, shop at the local outdoor market, or stay in and cool off in the pool or read a book in one of the hammocks! The rustic decor of the housing facilities use to house Monks years ago.The large thick walls and arched doorways giving this place a true Tuscan feel. In the building I stayed in there was a large dining/kitchen area with a enormous fireplace. A pair of travelers that were staying there cook everyone in the building dinner. We all sat around to the wee hours eating and drinking, making Fattorira Bassetto one of my most fond traveling memories. The man that runs the hotel is great!. He knows all of the locals and all fun things to do in that area. We went to amazing wineries and Olive vineyards. I got to taste wines that you can't get anywhere else!! This place is really amazing I just can't say enough!! And you can't beat the price. If you are looking for a place to really get a feel for life in Tuscany this is your spot! I can't wait to go back some day : )

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebaygirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed here all together for over a month when I was in Italy a few years back, and remember this as the absolute highlight of my trip. I lived and worked and wandered through Tuscany for 6 months, and Fattoria Bassetto I can say is by far the highlight for me, as I kept finding myself wandering back there. Great grounds, with a pool and hammocks to chill out in, shared kitchens that inevitably produced amazing communal meals as everyone shared and visited all evening, and nestled in the heart of amazing Tuscan scenery! It is not for everyone however, if you are looking for an American style hotel this will seem too "rustic" but if you want a taste of the real Tuscany, this place can't be beat. If the idea of staying in a Renaissance era villa appeals to you, you will love this place!

I stayed in the hostel portion, decent beds and clean linens, on par with any hostel one might stay in in Italy. No curfew, great kitchen, and free pick up from the train station. All the major pluses are in the location- easy travel to all the top Tuscan sites, Florence, Volterra, Siena, etc. It's an easy day hike to walk to San Gimignano, wandering through the picturesque Tuscan hillsides, or you can take a tour offered by the hostel. I did a few of them and they were all great. This place embodies the relaxed and slow Tuscan lifestyle. There is a supermarket in town, and it is easy to shop and prepare your own meals, and a local street market weekly with great produce, and the hostel had fresh herbs and tomatoes they let us use for free, they just left baskets of them in the kitchen!

I can't say enough about how awesome Bassetto is, if you classify yourself as a "backpacker" or you call yourself a "traveller" and not a "tourist" you will love it there. If you are into the slow movement, you want to see a slice of real life in Tuscany, if you are not on a tight schedule, and if you want to meet locals and see a different point of view, you wont be disappointed.

If you are doing a rush, "see Europe in 2 weeks" kind of trip, if you think a Best Western is roughing it, if you are looking for night life, or you are looking for spas and shopping for Gucci, this place will probably seem too rustic and slow. It's definitely a country style guest house, it has more hospitality than it has frills, but i loved it and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capatillergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

What an incredible spot - a true oasis- everything you need for a relaxing Tuscan holiday, very close to all the attractions. And what wonderful staff! Make sure you jump on a push bike and ride aroound the region...

Room Tip: Ask Duigald for the room with the Cupboard..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We were amazed with the unique and rustic feel of this old Italian mansion. The rooms varied according to one's needs but for us, we were able to enjoy the lovely period room set amongst one of the buildings wings. Nestled within some old traditional Tuscan villages, we also experienced the lovely town of Certaldo. Truly Italian in all its authenticity, it was great to be able to sample the local food and wine and get a feeling for life in this part.
Thanks to Doogs and to Fattoria Bassetto for having us. It is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickbeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Certaldo, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Bassetto is literally the prettiest place I have ever stayed in my life. Italy country side is amazing. I would recommend it to all of my friends who are easy go travelers looking for a place to kick back and relax. The atmosphere is terrific and the history of the place is incredible. The gardens are absolutely beautiful there is a herb garden for all the guests to us. The kitchens in both the Villa and hostel are huge and wonderful everything you could ever need is there. Breakfast is provided every morning. Its a great way to meet other travelers if you are by yourself. The old town is gorgeous. Certaldo is definitely a place i plan on coming back to! Thank you for an awesome stay!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizfish91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Certaldo
2.3 mi away
Podere Benintendi
Podere Benintendi
#2 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Certaldo
Hotel Certaldo
#1 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Albergo Il Castello
Albergo Il Castello
#3 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
5.1 mi away
Camping Panorama del Chianti
2.1 mi away
Il Pianigiano
Il Pianigiano
#3 of 17 in Certaldo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Bassetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Bassetto

Property: Fattoria Bassetto
Address: Via delle Citta' 3, 50052, Certaldo, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Certaldo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fattoria Bassetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing