We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to relax and unwind”
Review of Fattoria Bacio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fattoria Bacio
West Midlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“The perfect place to relax and unwind”
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We stayed at Fattoria Bacio in May/June 2010. We were a party of 50 altogether, and stayed for a week, during which our daughter and fiance got married in Certaldo Alto. It was the perfect place for a group, with the villa and surrounding accommodation. It was clean, comfortable, and very relaxed. The owner made us very welcome, and was so much help for the wedding reception, which was held in the beautiful grounds outside the villa. Nothing was too much trouble. It was just the most fantastic spot.. Very picturesque. We were looked after very well and would definately recommend it. and will go back there someday.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank certaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Misleading website! Staying here was not the authentic agriturismo experience we were hoping for. We stayed for a week and were disappointed that the self-catering units are across the road and up the hill from the main villa and pool. The private back garden wasn't worth sitting in as it overlooked cars and heavy machinery, beyond that lay the Tuscan countryside. There's no view from the front of the suite, only the road. The owners who will answer your email query are nowhere to be seen so expect nothing from them. The man who manages the property pretends not to understand English, or so we were told.
This is by no means a convenient location to see Tuscany, nor is it the most scenic area. Stay east of the RA3 if you wish to see rolling hills, quaint towns and vineyards.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank twoduvets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2007

We unfortunately only spent one night at Fattoria Bacio, but it was one of the best nights of our entire honeymoon! We arrived in Certaldo by train from Florence and had some trouble finding a taxi, but one finally did appear. Once we got there the wonderful owners gave us our choice of rooms in the main villa and showed us around their wine & olive oil making facilities. We enjoyed a wonderful afternoon relaxing by the pool and wandering around the vineyards. If you have the opportunity to enjoy the home cooked Tuscan meal on Thursday do it! For 25 Euro's a piece you get a wonderful meal complete with desert and all the wine and grappa you want. Overall a wonderful stay, can't wait to return for a longer visit!

  • Liked — Quiet and relaxing
  • Disliked — The bed was a bit hard
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millert2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

"I could live here". I had the opportunity to stay here for a week with my husband in Sept and then 2 weeks with 7 friends. Both experiences were equally as amazing. We were there during the grape harvest, which we both loved. The last two weeks hunting for rabbits had begun in the fields. Waking up to the harvesting machines off in the distance, the constant sweet smell of the grapes, the call of the hunters to the dogs in the distance flushing out the rabbits.....heaven. Picking fresh figs each day on our hilly runs in the morning.
Perfect location to visit all the hilltop towns and yet a fab place to chill by the pool.
We had a Tuscan cooking class at the villa by the owner and her sister.

The quality of the Fattoria Bacio was superb in every way.

Cheers,

DolceVancouver

  • Liked — setting
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolceVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2007

Fattoria Bacio is owned by Patrizia and Alberto Cascini, who also own Palazzo Galletti in Florence. I stumbled upon Palazzo Galletti, in 2005, and then stumbled upon Fattoria Bacio through the Palazzo Galletti website. It is essentially their summer home, with many rentals of different sizes, according to the size of your group. It is about 45 minutes to Florence, if you never make a wrong turn, which is easy once you've done it.

Fattoria Bacio offers essentially weekly rentals, from Saturday to Saturday from April through October. I am guessing that this could be subject to change. My husband and I stayed in "La Casina" for one week in early August, and it was everything we wanted. Fattoria Bacio was for us, an exceptional value, as it is close to so many Tuscan towns for you to visit, and offers many amenities onsite. These include a consecrated chapel, wonderfully clean swimming pool, laundry, billiards, kitchens, and stellar views. Not only did we have incredible views of the hills from our back patio, but you can see the towers of San Gimignano from the swimming pool! There is no air conditioning, but despite the afternoon heat, it was ALWAYS cool in our place, the walls are extremely thick. It cools off quite a bit at night, and the temperature is still cool in the morning. We also slept in the afternoon, or went to the pool to keep cool. Do note that you also can't shower for the entire day. The boiler is quite small, but it was just enough for the two of us to shower, probably more than sufficient if you do not have long hair. This is not a five-star hotel, so if you are expecting that, stay somewhere else. The bed was also not the most comfortable I have ever slept in, but it certainly wasn't the worst either.

The owners land covers approximately 150 hectares! It is essentially a very large farm, and in our little place there were bottles of olive oil, grappa, red and white wine for sale. 10 Euro for each.

At Fattoria Bacio, you are pretty much on your own, there is no concierge or front desk. If you ran into Patrizia or Alberto, they were extremely helpful and gracious, but be prepared to figure things out on your own - that is half of the fun! However, there were also many other travellers around to ask, if you needed. The rentals are cleaned before you arrive, and depending on how much you are there, you will likely need to clean a little bit. The little kitchen was perfect for us, it had everything you need. It came equipped with cups, plates, colanders, cleaning supplies etc. There was also a little couch, and a television.

Fattoria Bacio is close to many restaurants and so many things to do, including the Mugnano Riding Club. However, this is not a place to come without a car. The map on the website is quite clear, but the directions are not, unless you are used to the Italian form of directions (ie. direction Roma, but you never know where you are). It was absolutely gorgeous driving around, but know this - follow the directions they give you - WHEN you see the sign that says "Bacio", TURN (I still don't know what a "shunt" in the road means)...but turn off the road anytime you see the Bacio sign, as there are several onto Via del Pino...it is a bit of a loop. When you have made this turn, you are on "Via del Pino", and go super slow so you can see it. Fattoria Bacio IS Bacio, as far as we could tell. Look closely for the small sign on a gate.

Immediately after you arrive (Saturday), you will likely want to go to the grocery store, which is closed on Sundays. We didn't cook the entire time, but wanted to have a few things around. The "Coop" grocery store in Certaldo closes at 8pm I believe, so arrive early enough, so you can still make it. With everyone in the area arriving at their rentals, and the Sunday closure, it was like a complete raping of the grocery store!!

For restaurant recommendations in Certaldo and Chianti, check out www.divinacucina.com. A must is Dolci Follie, in the main square of Certaldo, a little pastry shop, which is beyond phenomenal. Have a perfect pastry, then take the funicular up to the medieval village of Certaldo Alto. When you come back down...have another one! They are the BEST you will ever, ever have, they come right out of the oven. Certaldo Alto is very much off the crowded "tourist" path, and a very unique little place.

  • Liked — The location and the pool!
  • Disliked — It was pretty dirty by the end of the week
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amaronemmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Certaldo hotels
0.0 mi away
Podere Benintendi
Podere Benintendi
#2 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Certaldo
Hotel Certaldo
#1 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fattoria Pogni
Fattoria Pogni
#1 of 4 in Marcialla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Il Paluffo - Main House B&B
0.0 mi away
Camping Panorama del Chianti
0.0 mi away
Il Pianigiano
Il Pianigiano
#3 of 16 in Certaldo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Bacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Bacio

Property: Fattoria Bacio
Address: Via del Pino 703, 50052, Certaldo, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Certaldo
Hotel Class:3 star — Fattoria Bacio 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fattoria Bacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing