We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Pianigiano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Pianigiano
Ranked #3 of 17 Certaldo B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We were guests of Cris and his family for 5 nights from 29th Aug - 2nd Sept 2011 to attend a wedding and were very impressed with Il Pianigiano.
As previously mentioned in the reviews, nothing was too much trouble for Cris, he was very friendly and there was nothing we can say but positive comments.
The b&b was spotlessly clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were filling and set you up for the day.
We walked into Certaldo every day (15-20 mins) to catch the train to Sienna, San Gimmiano and Florence and used the local coop for the provisions for our evening meal.
The 'emergency wine rack' was a fantastic idea which we made full use of,as was the garden were we ate al fresco every night. One thing not to forget was mossie spray as they were def in biting mode.
The other guests were of various nationalities and really pleasant, and we managed to maintain the stereo-typical image of brits aboad in not speaking anything but english.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Il Piangiano to all, enjoy the wonderful tuscan sights and Cris's hospitality. The only amenity missing which would make it near perfect was a swimming pool.
Thank you Cris!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

we loved our staying here.
great hosting.
clean. nice. comfortable. friendly. helpful.
breakfast. bikes.
laundry machine.
village. view.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blitental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

We returned to Il Pianigiano for the fifth time, this time as a couple for our wedding anniversary. The welcome from Cris is always a delight and the atmosphere of this family run guest house is warm and welcoming. It seems that nothing is too much trouble while you are a guest. Breakfast is also included which is a delight at such a budget price. Offers of a free ride into town, there is free internet access, you can have free use of a bicycle. There is even a wine rack entitled "Emergency Wine" in case you are poorly prepared one evening. (A few euros a bottle).
The rooms are excellent value and made up every day. All in all a great place to stay in the heart of Tuscany. It was our first time arriving in Certaldo by train which was no hassle whatsoever. We landed at Pisa Airport which has a station inside the terminal, bought 2 return tickets for 23 euros and all the trains were on time! Airport to hotel 1 hour 40 minutes.
I recommend a stay at Il Pianigiano anytime!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. There are no bad ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nurfdupap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czestochowa, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Really good place for holidays in Tuscany. Very clean; helpful staff; free bike rent; good atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gosia2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liguria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

Unfortunately my Boyfriend and I could only stay for the one night, I was working at Castel Fiorentino the next morning, but we were immediately struck by Cristiano's friendliness, sense of humour and how incredibly well organised the place was.

There is no set breakfast time, simply write on the kitchen blackboard when you would like breakfast to be ready. The choice and quality of food available was very impressive. You can also choose how you'd like your farm fresh eggs to be cooked.

Generally speaking the atmosphere is very relaxed, very easy, light hearted, and no details have been left out. There is Internet access 24 hours a day in the guest dining room, tourist leaflets in German, French, English and Italian, (and by the way Cristiano's English is impeccable) our room was very comfortable with its own TV. The bathroom; clean, functional, modern with a fantastic shower; good hot water pressure. No fiddling for hours trying to balance temperature.

My boyfriend and I went to an excellent pizzeria, the Pizzeria Osteria Borgobasso, recommended to us by our charming host. Excellent food at a very reasonable price!

We wished we could have stayed longer, but we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilouA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2009

My husband and I enjoyed everything about Certaldo and Il Pianigiano. The B&B was cozy, with a giant garden in the back that guests were free to pillage. We had fresh tomatoes, apples, pears, and onions. Also, Cris had bike and locks for us to use so we were able to bike into town and explore. Breakfast was wonderful! Cris' mother makes you eggs (from the backyard chickens, of course) in any style you would like and there's also a wide selection of yogurt, meats, and cheeses. We had a lovely time and only wish we could have stayed longer. We will certainly return again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ak1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

We enjoyed the homemade breakfast and very warm hospitality. We definitely will come back. Isa (the Mama of Cris) gives a warm welcome to everyone. We enjoyed the organic eggs and picking our own tomatoes for breakfast.

We did not have a car but realized later that it be very useful. This is the rural part of Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherItalianFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Certaldo hotels
1.3 mi away
Podere Benintendi
Podere Benintendi
#2 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Certaldo
Hotel Certaldo
#1 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.2 mi away
Albergo Il Castello
Albergo Il Castello
#3 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Latini Hotel
Latini Hotel
#4 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
4.7 mi away
Il Paluffo - Main House B&B
2.1 mi away
Fattoria Bassetto
Fattoria Bassetto
#8 of 21 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Pianigiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Pianigiano

Property: Il Pianigiano
Address: Via Piano di Sotto 89, 50052, Certaldo, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Certaldo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Pianigiano is in Certaldo, right in the heart of Tuscany and the ideal starting point for tours to Florence, Siena, Pisa, S. Gimignano, Volterra and many other places. The old part of Certaldo is worth a visit itself. Clean and quiet Il Pianigiano is in the middle of the countryside, but still only a 15 minute walk from the town center. At il Pianigiano you can use bicycles, laundry facilities, common kitchen, internet station (or wi-fi if needed) and BBQ for free. It has a private parking place and a private entrance for the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Odigeo, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Il Pianigiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing