We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Brighouse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not for me”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The food and ales are superb But I stayed in a room which was possibly the worst room ive slept in, as regards a good nights sleep. The old ceilings/floorboards above, groan and squeak so much that its like the people in the rooms above are about to come through them! I mean the noise was unbearable. Because the couple above me came in at 11.30, then bathed and seemed to walk around for hours with the telly on until the small hours it was impossible to sleep. After 2 hours i ventured out to reception to see if i could be moved but it was closed and finally I explained to the guests upstairs my problem. They were really lovely about it, but even though i sensed they were trying to be quieter, sleep was near impossible. In the morning i found the shower tray did not drain and was still full of water after breakfast. This might have explained the rotten skirting boards? I was surprised how poor the rooms were but again, the food and ales were very good.

Room Tip: take a first floor room at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 502charlottel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    67
    26
    13
    13
See reviews for
36
179
3
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Fantastic night before our trip to Cape Verde en route to Manchester Airport.Excellent value and very friendly and hard working staff.We stayed in the Champagne room and this was comfortable with a large bathroom and great shower..Meals were delicious and breakfast was one of the best I have eaten and I'm very fussy.

Booked via Travelzoo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toproofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

There was a lovely friendly atmosphere at The Black Horse Inn, from reception to restaurant through to bar staff. All were attentive but in true Yorkshire fashion unobtrusive! The food is wonderful, our dinner was superb, the olive bread delicious, soft shell crab, lamb, beef shin and ale pie, sticky toffee pudding and lemon tart were mouthwateringly good, and beautifully presented. Breakfast is served until a civilised 10am, everything you can think of, we had Buck's Fizz with smoked salmon and scrambled eggs plus all the usual extras. We stayed in the Mumm room in the champagne house, extremely comfortable and roomy with a large bathroom, bathrobes and toiletries. Everything of course was spotlessly clean. The wedding facilities looked fabulous, we stayed for our anniversary on a Monday night, it wasn't busy but there were plenty of other guests to help the atmosphere. I will definitely recommend The Black Horse.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

With fine food, excellent service and great location what else could you say? The attention to detail is what makes the difference, little added value items on the table and the way food is presented can show how much the management respect their customers. This is how it should be done, thanks for a really good experience. We paid slightly more than normal but it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakesman95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

My boyfriend (now Fiance) had booked us in to the Black Horse Inn (since we had our first date here 3 years ago) as a surprise where he proposed later that evening after dinner by the log fire in the bar. We stayed in an upstairs room called the Gold Room. Lovely and cosy, comfy bed, decent size room and bathroom. My only suggestion is the need for a full length mirror in the room.

We had not booked a table for dinner but the staff kindly agreed to squeeze us in even though they were fully booked. We enjoyed some delicious food and one of the nicest soups I have ever had.

After the meal, the group in the restaurant were quite rowdy and some of the other guests were also getting agitated by this, so we moved back to the bar next to the log fire which was quiet where we had champagne cocktails. Obviously being over the moon, I was showing everyone I met my ring and I think the staff became quite bored of this!! When we checked out the following morning I told the lady at reception that he proposed and she said "yes, so I heard".....anyway that's no big deal at all but just wish they had done something or made a gesture so I could say that I was more than happy with everything about the Black Horse Inn, unfortunately just something was missing for me in terms of the service because this is a place I will remember forever.

Breakfast was of average standard, small portion and I had to go into the kitchen to find a waitress to get some brown sauce.

There is no doubt we will return to the Black Horse Inn for anniversaries in the years to come to enjoy their wonderful food and the gold room, I just wish I felt that I couldn't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Location is just off motorway so easy to get to but not in a particularly pretty village, however who needs to go out with the excellent food and service they provide! The staff couldn't do enough, food was Devine (and I never gush about food), room was beautiful and bed probably the best I've ever slept in. We were offered Buck's Fizz with breakfast! Lovely courtyard which I just need to revisit in the sunshine to enjoy a lovely cold glass of delicious wine from their extensive list! Go, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 443NikkiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LydiaRussell, Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay as much as you did. We do try and order sunny days so our guests can enjoy the courtyard but we don't always get them. I do hope we see you back very soon to enjoy a drink in the courtyard.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed at the black horse last Wednesday on our way to a short break on a barge!! The hotel was really friendly the food and service were top class and we were able to take our small dog with us . it was a good stay and we would stay again. The only downside was that the room although very nice was very small as was the shower room. I think the rooms in the main building were bigger so try to avoid the courtyard.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LydiaRussell, Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you fro your kind review. As I am sure you can appreciate with the buildings being 17th century cottages all the rooms are different shapes and sizes, so some bathrooms are smaller than others. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighouse
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Property: The Black Horse Inn
Address: Westgate, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 4HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Brighouse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brighouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olde worlde 17th-century inn located in the quiet village of Clifton, AA rosette restaurant, beautiful rooms converted from cottages. M62 just 1/2 a mile, away from it all yet close to everything. We are located in an ideal place for touring the scenic beauty spots of Yorkshire, the historic City of York and scores of Country Houses and Parks. Leeds, Bradford & Huddersfield are all less than twenty minutes drive away which makes us a convenient centre for traveler's on both business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Brighouse
The Black Horse Inn Brighouse, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing