We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Brighouse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We used a Travelzoo voucher and we then extended our stay. The location is excellent, the food super and the staff delightful.
We were using public transport but on Sunday, when the bus service was quite limited, we took a taxi to Brighouse Station and the fare was only £3.50.
We hope to come again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank routemaster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    69
    27
    13
    13
See reviews for
36
181
3
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed as part of a Travelzoo deal and what good value!. We stayed in the accommodation over the road in the Laurent Perrier room which although not huge had everything we needed, comfy bed, spotless bathroom with all the little extras such as shampoo etc. We found all the staff to be so welcoming and in particular the two youngsters working hard in the restaurant, Damien and his female partner and nothing was any trouble. Food was fine although not as wonderful as we had expected with some reviews, maybe our expectations were a little high.
The welcome at breakfast was lovely and we were made to feel we had a personal welcome from the lovely couple, nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful fresh fruits and cooked breakfasts with a variety of breads toasted with a lovely choice of little jars of preserves. Lovely fresh juice,tea and fresh coffee, croissants could be ordered and served warm if required. From the reception smiles through to the pleasant cleaning lady there was a warm welcome here, for a few minutes off the motorway this is a peaceful place. Only negative with our room (Laurent Perrier)is that it is next to the main entrance block to the Champagne house and you are disturbed with the front door as people come and go but as this did not go on too late or too early we were ok with it. Well done to all the staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shusui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed for one night on 2 Aug and was very impressed. The attention to detail here is so lovely. The Jacobean room is so quaint and full of surprises. Tea and coffee, biscuits, water, iron and ironing board.
The restaurant was absolutely fantastic and we has one of the best meals ever.
We'll done to all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneandReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
269 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

It's been a while since we visited and on our return we weren't disappointed! Our room was oozing character with slanting floors and beamed dealings- the bed was really comfy and the bathroom spacious with a huge bath! We had dinner in the restaurant- the menu isn't massive but offers a variety of different food combinations to tease your taste buds. Portion sizes aren't big- more quality rather than quantity but we were left feeling pleasantly full without a dessert! Unfortunately we had to be off early in the morning but a delicious varied breakfast is served midweek from 7am, and the breakfast waitress was lovely ! Only 5mins from the M62 this place is definately worth a visit .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed for one evening as part of a Travelzoo offer. After checking in we where escorted across the road to separate accommodation which I was a little dubious about but when shown to our room it was so pretty and quaint. The inn is a lovely building full of character and we where lucky enough to be able to enjoy the beautiful outside courtyard for some pre dinner drinks. The food in the restaurant was outstanding and I can not say enough about the quality and the service. Again the exact same can be said for breakfast the following morning. As someone who is used to staying in large modern hotels this lovely place was a very pleasant surprise and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as part of a travelzoo package and it was well worth the money. We were shown to a superior room which was generously proportioned and individually designed. The room was well laid out and had lots of little cute extras like water, biscuits, toiletries.
The staff were very helpful and accommodating and the food on the set menu (although not an expansive choice) was very good quality.
I would definitely stay here again as I was pleasantly surprised and it was great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enjoytrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed for one night as part of a travelzoo deal and following a friendly welcome were taken to the Jacobean room which is a superior room across the courtyard (no room above) - it is quite large but could imagine would be dark in the winter

the weather was good so there were a few revellers in the courtyard area enjoying the weather but this didn't cause any problem with noise, the room was quiet and the road outside the window (as one side of the room faces the 'main road') no traffic noise at night - there is plenty of parking at the back or opposite the inn

access to the room may not be suitable for anyone with limited mobility and you do have to cross the courtyard to get to the restaurant so hope its not raining

the room was clean and well appointed, fresh milk supplied with no problems and even the wifi worked

the restaurant is the same area used for breakfast - as part of the deal its possible to pay a supplement and choose from the a la carte menu - the food was really excellent - service was friendly and prompt

breakfast was as expected, plenty of choices - there was only one person taking orders and looking after breakfast service - its wasn't very busy but plates weren't cleared as promptly as they could have been

Ensuite area was fine - plenty of toiletries - however, on arrival, the bath/shower drain had a few hairs in the plug hole which was surprising (and following a shower it just wasn't draining as quickly as it should) - which seems to be a problem in a few reviews in other rooms - it was reported to reception when we left and hopefully this has been resolved

otherwise - we would have no hesitation in staying again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avro10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighouse
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
3.8 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
534 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.7 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Property: The Black Horse Inn
Address: Westgate, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 4HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Brighouse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brighouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olde worlde 17th-century inn located in the quiet village of Clifton, AA rosette restaurant, beautiful rooms converted from cottages. M62 just 1/2 a mile, away from it all yet close to everything. We are located in an ideal place for touring the scenic beauty spots of Yorkshire, the historic City of York and scores of Country Houses and Parks. Leeds, Bradford & Huddersfield are all less than twenty minutes drive away which makes us a convenient centre for traveler's on both business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Brighouse
The Black Horse Inn Brighouse, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing