We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 ***** Food & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Brighouse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I had the pleasure once again to have dinner with friends at this lovely restaurant.

The first time was Very, Very, Good and this time it was Excellent. The food was cooked to perfection, the choice of wines from around the world was coupled with 5***** service, what more could a diner ask for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Manxman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just spent a night at this hotel.The fixed price meal was superb. Room was lovely and the quality and service from the staff was first class.Did I mention the breakfast it was one of the nicest I have had in a long time.We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

How surprised both my partner and myself were when we dined at The Black Horse last night. It was a wonderful meal, how your restaurant is not rated higher is a wonder, everything from Scallop starter to chocolate sweet dish was served with modest courtesy. The wine choice was excellent, 420 Nuits was served at the right temperature and when compared with prices in London, extremely reasonable.
The hospitality made for a most enjoyable evening
If you want quality then this must be on your listings.

Room Tip: We only dined
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JD_KB5513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great place to stay. Great Ambience, very friendly professional staff and fab food. I stayed in the single room which was cosy to say the least but had everything I needed and more. Dinner was excellent and breakfast too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tringtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We went there for a meal with our friends – group of 5. Reception and service was excellent. Food was beautiful. I will start with starters – must try: chicken liver parfait – heaven in your mouth, slow roast pork belly – mmmmmm….. Main must try: fish – any kind of fish in this restaurant is perfectly cooked; eye steak is just melting in your mouth – very well cooked to your liking. Obviously the cook knows what he is doing. As my boyfriend has a birthday coming we have booked other restaurant in Leeds, but after a meal which we had in this restaurant we changed our reservation and going back for fantastic food to Black Horse again :-) Cannot wait now!!

Room Tip: Choose any table you want - it is spot on place for food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuislemogra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here on 11/10/2013 loved it immediatly, great ambiance in the cosy bar which has 3 areas to it staff very friendly & welcoming, had a fantastic meal in the restaurant great choices I had pan fried chicken with snails mmm my better half had the fish & chips not for the faint hearted, we stayed in the green room which is a lovely large room with a huge comfy bed, bathroom adequate with a jaccuzi bath robes candles etc,breakfast great choice local fresh produce, wouldnt hesitate to stay here again..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

First, had a 3 course meal in the restaurant, which was exceptional. The chef and his staff did an amazing job and need to be complimented. The food really was fantastic and could not find fault. Pam was very helpful in reception on arrival.

Unfortunately, cannot say the same for the accommodation. Booked a Travelzoo deal for one night, paying a supplement as it was a Saturday. The supplement was for a superior room on the first floor opposite the Inn. If that was superior I would hate to see the standard rooms. It was dire. I know it is an Inn but it was so dated. We have stayed in many Inns before which are very modern inside and period outside. The room looked as though it was trying to be both contemporary and traditional and it just did not work and made it look tacky.

Bathroom looked as though it might have been revamped quite recently. Usual toiletries supplied. Heated towel rail, fluffy towels and dressing gowns.

Whole milk with the tea/coffee, who drinks whole milk in this day and age? Thank you Pam for getting me skimmed milk in a jug.

Pillows not covered with pillow protectors, very unhygenic. Carpets dirty. You had to crawl on the floor to plug in the hairdryer. Downlighter bulb not working by the window, bad housekeeping.

Breakfast was ok. It was busy and lacked staff. Only 2 young ladies working even though all the tables were full. There was a fairly good choice. We were informed when we booked we would have Bucks Fizz with our breakfast which did not materalise. Still we did not bother asking as champagne does not go with carton orange juice!

Room Tip: Not a superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank cambridgetravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighouse hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
307 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Lodge @ Birkby Hall
The Lodge @ Birkby Hall
#2 of 5 in Brighouse
52 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lane Head Hotel
Lane Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Brighouse
67 reviews
2.2 mi away
Elder Lea House
Elder Lea House
#3 of 5 in Brighouse
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Address: Westgate, Brighouse HD6 4HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Brighouse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brighouse
Price Range: £68 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olde worlde 17th-century inn located in the quiet village of Clifton, AA rosette restaurant, beautiful rooms converted from cottages. M62 just 1/2 a mile, away from it all yet close to everything. We are located in an ideal place for touring the scenic beauty spots of Yorkshire, the historic City of York and scores of Country Houses and Parks. Leeds, Bradford & Huddersfield are all less than twenty minutes drive away which makes us a convenient centre for traveler's on both business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Brighouse
The Black Horse Inn Brighouse, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing