We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”
Review of Elder Lea House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elder Lea House
Ranked #3 of 5 Brighouse B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Visiting area on business. Decided to stay at Elder Lea as a change from larger "impersonal" Brighouse hotels. The hosts are extremely welcoming and friendly without being intrusive. My room was very clean, comfortable and every effort was made to make my short stay as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PDPachus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monet208, Owner at Elder Lea House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Our most sincere thanks for such great comments which we really appreciate as not every guest has the time to leave reviews
We both look forward to seeing you again
David and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

We spent two weekends in the last month at Elder Lea House. Both were excellent. David and Dawn do everything to make sure you are comfortable. We stayed in a different bedroom each time. Both were excellent with very comfortable beds. Although close to the motorway you were not aware of the traffic. Our bedroom on the second visit overlooked the wonderful and well kept garden. Breakfast was well cooked and presented and served in the dining room. There is also an extremely comfortable lounge available for guests to use. This overlooks the garden. The whole house was spotless. David and Dawn are obviously passionate about their house and garden. This is an ideal place to stay if you are visiting Huddersfield or the surrounding area. We strongly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: If you would like a bath go for the rooms with a bath. However the showers are excellent. If you li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain_and_Elma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monet208, Owner at Elder Lea House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for choosing us for your two return visits to the area and it was good to see you both after a 3 year absence.
Also our most sincere thanks for such a wonderful review which is really appreciated as many guests are unable to leave a review with the time restraints of such busy lives that we all lead nowadays.
We are glad you enjoyed the local inn and thanks to your suggestion guests will in future be able to pre-order vegetarian dishes if the existing ones on the menu are not their first choice
We look forward to seeing you both again
David and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Not having stayed in a B&B before I was amazed to be greeted by name when we arrived and an offer of help with luggage. First impressions were the immaculate cleanliness of the house and from the minute that we arrived nothing was too much trouble

We stayed in the Blueberry Room which was cosy but with ample room to store our clothes etc. large wardrobe and chest of drawers. Hot drink making facilities with biscuits plus a decanter of sherry to taste before going out to dinner. Our bathroom was next door (not en-suite) but for our sole use. The usual miniature soaps and lotions that would be expected in a 4* hotel are in the bathroom along with fresh face cloths, good sized towels and good shower gel. As it is a shower only could I suggest a shower cap?

Published photos are of the Blueberry room with our belongings scattered everywhere and a sherry waiting to be tasted!

We were attending a wedding in the area; David kindly ordered taxis for us whenever we needed them and Dawn recommended her own hairdresser to fix my fascinator!

Our two breakfasts had to be ordered the day before; this enabled David and Dawn to ensure that they had the correct ingredients, plus a varied selection of teas, coffees and juices were available.

Our evening meals were already arranged before travelling, pre-wedding dinner and the reception, but David has details of local eateries (some with a discount for staying at Elder Lea, I believe).

The breakfast room and guest lounge are large rooms, in fact it is a beautiful 1890s Victorian villa. Our bedroom and bathroom were more than adequate in size and I believe the other two en-suite rooms are larger. The gardens looked immaculate (too windy for us to explore) with a large terrace; I believe that David and Dawn are very keen gardeners and grow a lot of their own produce in the greenhouses.

We did have trouble accessing the internet via iPad with the Elder Lea passwords but made good contact via BT Hotspots, David is aware and will include it in the guest info room package.

We have no hesitation in recommending Elder Lea.

Room Tip: Blueberry Room is a twin/superking room overlooking the drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barnetts148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monet208, Owner at Elder Lea House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Many thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review it is very much appreciated and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us
Shower caps,extra toiletries toothbrushes etc etc are available on request as our room information and we will mention this to future guests as we appreciate not everyone has the time to go through the room information folder.
Whilst there are a wide choice od eateries available locally from engilsh to greek our local inn a few minutes walk away does offer a discount to guests
Thank you for mentioning the alternative Wi-Fi network we have-BT-and we will make sure that information is included for the room information for the room you stayed in.
Again our thanks
David and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were fortunate enough to search & find Elder Lea House on the web. The superb reviews are well deserved & David & Dawn did everything to make our stay perfect. The suite was superbly appointed with a very comfortable bed, beautifully decorated & an en-suite to die for. Every little extra has been considered & it was clear how much David & Dawn cared that we enjoyed our stay. The Breakfast on offer was comprehensive & lived up to the rest of the booking. On a frosty morning I was presented with a defrosted car, another lovely touch. I cannot recommend this too much & we will go back to Elder Lea next time we visit this beautiful area.

Room Tip: The Peach room/suite is wonderful, but I imagine that all of the rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Icklejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monet208, Owner at Elder Lea House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you from us both for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the local restaurant
Looking forward to seeing you both again
David and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Arrived late, nearly 10pm, to a warm welcome and beautiful bedroom....and a very cosy bed - after a traffic jam on the M62 (what's new?!) this was much appreciated.
Breakfast was tasty and plentiful - see pic - and the whole place, the house and the gardens were a pleasure to experience.
Hoping to return, no hesitation to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Littletomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monet208, Owner at Elder Lea House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

It is really kind of you to take the time and trouble to leave us such a great review and from both of us a most sincere thank you
We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area
David and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I travel extensively both in the UK and abroad and nearly always stay in a group run hotel. In truth I booked in here by mistake, but then after reading the reviews I thought "Why Not?" Well as soon as we arrived I loved the look and feel of the place, the gardens are magnificent and its clear Dave and his wife spare nothing to make your stay memorable. We stayed in the "Peach" room which is suite size, with a lovely bed, and huge bathroom. The room looks out over the rear garden and fields. The place is absolutely spotlessly clean, and the breakfast was delicious. I wouldn't say it was cheap by B&B standards but its the crème de la crème and we all know the old adage "You only get what you pay for!" I found the place very insular in so much as although there is a main road at the front and a motorway at the rear, once you are in/on the property its like being in the country. You are surrounded by lovely gardens, trees and fields and traffic noise is at an absolute minimum.

Room Tip: Try and get "The Peach Room". It is more expensive but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geronimo1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monet208, Owner at Elder Lea House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

We are both so pleased you took a chance on us and you were not disappointed
It was lovely having you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again soon
many many thanks
David and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed while in the area on a course, and could not have wished for a lovelier stay. Dawn and David were friendly and welcoming, the room was lovely and I'm only sorry that I didn't get to sit outside in the lovely garden because it rained!
Breakfast was terrific. Elder Lea is a lovely place to stay and relax, and I will certainly be visiting again.Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sianyp777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monet208, Owner at Elder Lea House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Can we both say thank you for leaving us such a great review
It really is very much appreciated
We look forward to seeing you again
David and Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighouse hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
2.2 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 5 in Brighouse
338 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Lodge @ Birkby Hall
The Lodge @ Birkby Hall
#2 of 5 in Brighouse
51 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lane Head Hotel
Lane Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Brighouse
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elder Lea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elder Lea House

Address: Clough Lane | Rastrick, Brighouse HD6 3QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Brighouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brighouse
Price Range: £64 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elder Lea House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elder Lea House offers quality 5 Star Gold Award (VB) at reasonable prices,close to the M62,Huddersfield,Halifax,Bradford ,Leeds etc Set in award winning gardens with luxury en-suite rooms,guest lounge,free wi-fi and meals graded as excellent by the Tourism Inspector Free breakfast which has a Visit England Award All cards taken ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elder Lea House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elder Lea House Brighouse, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing