We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well looked after”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge @ Birkby Hall
Ranked #2 of 5 Brighouse B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Great countryside surroundings, feels like you're away from civilisation but you're not, nice room, good breakfast, friendly owner.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_p123186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

Somewhere we would return. Apparently has regular guests and thats no surprise !

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank combebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This place is great. I've stayed here on a number of occasions now and never had anything to complain about.

Modern clean rooms in the anex part of the building with comfy bed and en-suite.
Really nice valley view.
Very friendly and helpful proprietor (I've only met Steve)
Secure off road parking
Tasty breakfast
Close to a couple of golf courses
Short walk from decent food pub

Not always that easy to get a room but that is surely a sign of quality! The kind of place I now check first if going near Huddersfield.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank new_jay81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Despite arriving late at night, I received a lovely welcome. The room (Calder) was just what I needed and the view in the morning spectacular. Breakfast cooked by Eileen, was just what I needed and she was so friendly, it did not feel I had arrived only a few hours ago for the firdt time.
I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank continentaltourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

2 night stay to research my ancestors in Brighouse on our way to Northumbria. We had the ground floor double, set up very well for disabled use, which explained the space and wet room facilities. We requested blankets which were provided without fuss. The guest lounge/breakfast room was comfortable and well equipped with a balcony to sit out on with countryside views. Breakfast had lots of choice and was cooked 'before your very eyes'! Our hosts were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Despite being handy for the town it was very quiet and we had a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor room, designed for wheelchair use, recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PnPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The Lodge at Birkby Hall
Ok so it might be July but we’ve just returned from 2 relaxing nights at The Lodge at Birkby Hall on the green-witch.com Christmas “do”, The hosts, Steve and Janet, are so welcoming, we felt like we’d known them forever. They were more than happy for the organiser of the weekend to have a decorated Christmas tree and even offered Christmas cd’s for us to play. The accommodation at the lodge is separate to the family home. The bedrooms and the guest lounge/breakfast room are well decorated, clean, with lovely toiletries in the bathrooms. We stayed in the ground floor Ryburn room which is designed to be easily accessible for disabled guests. The bedroom is huge, as big as the whole downstairs of my house and the wet room is spacious and well decorated. The bed was sooooooooo comfortable; it hard to get out of it!
Steve, the host, cooks the breakfast in the kitchen of the guest lounge, it’s rather like having your very own butler! Breakfast was very leisurely and the food was good quality, local produce, with a range of cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurts on offer before the main “full english” Toast and jams finished it off. Freshly brewed coffee, a selection of teas and orange juice were also provided. Steve served breakfast and quickly cleared away empty plates with the minimum intrusion. Best of all he knew everyone’s name and it was like having brekkie with a friend. It was good to chat with him over brekkie.I hope we didn’t hold him up.
The guest lounge/ breakfast room was perfect for us to get together and celebrate our summer Christmas. French doors opened off the breakfast room onto a lovely balcony overlooking the fields. Bats and birds flew around the house and added to the country feel of the place, you easily forgot where you were.
The Lodge at Birkby Hall was quite unexpected and provided the perfect getaway, it was stylish and welcoming. Was it missing anything? I would have liked some lamps to give a more cosy atmosphere. I’d love to go and stay again but it’s only 15 mins from where live so it seems a little extravagant,, although it might be good to stay over to sample the delights of Brooks Restaurant in Brighouse. It’s a nice choice for a visit to West Yorkshire or for business stays. You won’t be disappointed; but will feel looked after and cosseted. Steve and Janet are excellent/ fabulous/ amazing/ attentive/ welcoming hosts and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callisto1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed here whilst researching family history nearby. A little bit out of the way but worth the effort. This is truly 5 star accommodation. Our host Steven was great, recommended nearby pub for dinner which was very good. Breakfast was excellent Beautiful outlook from our room across farm land, very quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wearenot2old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighouse hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
1.7 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 5 in Brighouse
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
307 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lane Head Hotel
Lane Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Brighouse
67 reviews
3 mi away
Elder Lea House
Elder Lea House
#3 of 5 in Brighouse
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge @ Birkby Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge @ Birkby Hall

Address: The Lodge Birkby Hall Birkby Lane | Bailiff Bridge, Brighouse HD6 4JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Brighouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brighouse
Price Range: £66 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge @ Birkby Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge @ Birkby Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge @ Birkby Hall Brighouse, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing