We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made to feel very welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge @ Birkby Hall
Ranked #2 of 5 Brighouse B&B and Inns
South Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Made to feel very welcome”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at the Lodge when attending a friend's birthday party nearby. Steve the owner is an absolute star. Very friendly and helpful and even gave us a lift to a nearby restaurant and collected us. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slartibardfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
32
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Our youngest daughter, her husband and our two grandchildren moved into our house for 3 days last week as their new house was not ready and courtesy of the builders we stayed at The Birkby Hall Lodge in Bailiff Bridge near Brighouse.
.
The accommodation is a converted stables with 3 self-contained bedrooms and a large dinning / lounge overlooking the fields at the back.

Steve Wilde and his wife have put a lot of thought and hard work into making this a very pleasant house.

Breakfast is cooked by Steve and is fresh with plenty of choice. If you find your self in this part of the world and looking for good clean accommodation I would recommend this to anyone.
Stephen N 2013

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Family celebration & family sadness necessitated the trip and a planned one night stay became two. Relaxed, friendly just as you would expect although more often than not do not receive. From the moment we arrived, things were easy, plenty of room to park, with the security of electric gates. Very nice rooms, situated a few yards from the main house, warm & bright with lovely views fo the surrounding countryside. The guest lounge that also doubles as a guest kitchen and dining room is simply stunning with views of the locally known seventeen fields.
During our entire stay we were made to feel very welcome by Stephen who also offered stimulating conversation but at no stage became intrusive. For our family event on our second evening Stephen offered to take us to the venue, its the little things that make the difference. When it was time to settle our account we were informed of the discounted pricing policy for longer stays, unprompted and indeed unexpected. As I say its the little things that make all the difference.
We will be back.
Thanks to Stephen & Janet

Room Tip: All to the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Land Rover M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is at least our forth visit to The Lodge and as ever e were made most welcome by Janet and Steve. A piece of cake was waiting for us on our arrival. Our room was comfy, full of little extras, including a cafetiere and coffee, a real treat. The breakfast was great, with lashings of tea and coffee. There was flexibility on the time you want breakfast
Steve and Janet have become friends over the time we have stayed and are more than happy to go that extra mile to ensure that one's visit is as good as it can be. Thank you for all you did and we will be back!!
The B&B is ideally placed to visit Haworth, Saltaire, Hebden Bridge and the Wakefield Hepworth Gallery.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyd69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Great countryside surroundings, feels like you're away from civilisation but you're not, nice room, good breakfast, friendly owner.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_p123186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
318 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Somewhere we would return. Apparently has regular guests and thats no surprise !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank combebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This place is great. I've stayed here on a number of occasions now and never had anything to complain about.

Modern clean rooms in the anex part of the building with comfy bed and en-suite.
Really nice valley view.
Very friendly and helpful proprietor (I've only met Steve)
Secure off road parking
Tasty breakfast
Close to a couple of golf courses
Short walk from decent food pub

Not always that easy to get a room but that is surely a sign of quality! The kind of place I now check first if going near Huddersfield.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank new_jay81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighouse
1.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
5.2 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
6.1 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge @ Birkby Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge @ Birkby Hall

Property: The Lodge @ Birkby Hall
Address: The Lodge Birkby Hall Birkby Lane | Bailiff Bridge, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 4JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Brighouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brighouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge @ Birkby Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lodge @ Birkby Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge @ Birkby Hall Brighouse, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing