We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brighouse
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellence”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

What a beautiful hotel. Friendly reception on arrival, room was fantastic, spotless, spacious (lucky enough to be in a Deluxe Room) Jacuzzi bath was wonderful, bed was so comfortable. The little touches like plenty tea and coffee, decent size Kettle, wine glasses and bottle opener. Food was amazing, the restaurant is lovely, staff very friendly, helpful and polite. Great selection for breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyable stay - highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 732Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    98
    58
    21
    6
See reviews for
35
118
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night. Room was clean and comfy. Staff excellent and when light broke, they fixed right away. Plenty tea and coffee in room as well as complimentary toiletries. Great value stay. Breakfast was lovely with plenty to choose from.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 833Madhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed at the Waterfront Lodge for the first time last night and what a lovely place it is and the staff couldn't do enough for you . The room was a twin and very comfortable ans spacious with fre Wfi which was a added bonus. In the evening we had a meal in the restaurant Preco which was which only one word to describe it is... delicious and a must if your staying at the hotel and you have to book a table but you can understand when when you go its packed and people come from all over to taste the cuisine.

We had breakfast this morning and you can such a wide variety of food to cover all tastes and again this was lovely.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and hats off to the staff which were lovely as well as the Managers...well done team!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat2212014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avallon, France
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I've stayed at the Waterfront Lodge a few times and it's an appealing and comfortable place to be. It's been developed from an old Yorkshire mill so is something of a maze in terms of getting to rooms, but the signage is good and, to be fair, I've walked a lot further in major chain hotels. Having stayed in executive and deluxe rooms I can't comment on other options, but these rooms are spacious, have great beds and the complimentary shampoos etc that define a quality operation. That said, some of the rooms need some sprucing up, especially bathrooms. Nothing really bad, just some tired grouting that could easily be sorted. I understand there is some work scheduled this year to sort this so that's a positive sign.

A major plus for the hotel is its restaurant, Pregos. It's a slice of Italy with very good food. The other plus is that breakfast is included in the room price. Having been charged ludicrous amounts of money in other establishments for food that appears to have emerged from a Soylent Green conveyor belt, the breakfast here is well worth taking. Yes, there are the usual containers with beans, bacon etc, but you can ask for your eggs to be prepared as you want, get black pudding and rostis. Lots of cereal juice etc choice. Can't fault it.

Staff are unfailingly helpful and though Brighouse may not be on a major destination map it should be with lots of great little shops including a sweet shop that sells Pontefract Cakes and brilliant cheese and wine shop.

And no, I don't live in Brighouse or in the UK!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireFailte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

As with other reviewers at £40 a night for a single, didn't expect the Ritz, but it was clean, warm and quite well equipped although very small and the traffic noise can be a little bit of a problem, but it is convenient for the town centre and Halifax. Breakfast ok not mind blowing, all in all worth the £40.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Room we have had at the Waterfront, but booked with late rooms in the morning for a one night stay the same night, so hardly expected anything else! £50 for a Saturday night B&B in a double room, good sized really comfy bed, excellent shower, room temperature - you decide ! Proper big mugs for an early morning brew.
Booked Pregos restaurant for 7pm, got a good table on a very busy party evening, the food and wine were good value for money, as were the the post drinks at the bar. My wife wanted a brandy cocktail but didn't fancy anything off the drinks menu, a conversation with one of the bar staff resulted in a cocktail list printed off the internet, still couldn't find one to suit, good customer service that needs to be recognised.
The breakfast as always was very good on choice and the extra touch of how do you want your, and how many eggs would you like is a good touch. The breakfast room with the sun shining through, newspapers available, a delight - A £50 bargain!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrineholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights, the price was reasonable. But the overall feel of the carpets and decor was slightly old. The building is a converted old mill located on a canal in the centre of Brighouse. The carpark outside isn't owned by the hotel but the local council so is payable Mon-Sat 8am-6pm. Its 60p per hour. Many guests were rushing out (including myself) sleepily half dressed at 7.55am in a race to beat the over zealous Parking Attendant hovering round the corner . Make sure you have plenty of spare change for the no change giving pay and display machine . There is a very pleasant and beautiful walk along the canal which stretches all the way to Todmorden. There are plenty of nice shops in the small town of Brighouse including a large Tesco and Sainsburys alongside many more traditional shops and small pubs. The traffic in Brighouse is quite heavy though. There is quite a busy bar open to the public at night in the hotel and most of them seemed respectable and non rowdy . The reception staff and breakfast waitresses were on the whole very pleasant and helpful. Except one young thin boy who worked as a bar attendant I encountered twice let the place down by being rude , untrained and speaking disrespectfully to me with an abrupt upperty manner ( There always one!). The Breakfast however was a delight with lots of choice and pleasantly served by the young waitresses.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontLodgeHotel, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

You are right that some aspects of the hotel do need upgrading, as in any established hotel. This is why we are refurbishing our standard bedrooms from January 2014. This will be completed with no disruption to our guests or services.

The car park is Council owned and it is pay & display at 60p per hour. It is free overnight, from 6pm, and free on Sundays. The machines do accept payments for the following day; so there is no need to go outside at 7.55am to put a ticket on your car; simply pay from the day before until the time you are planning to leave. We are more than happy to change notes to coins for parking.

I am very pleased you enjoyed breakfast and found our staff to be pleasant and helpful. I will be speaking to the bar staff, as we expect all our team to be friendly and professional at all times. I would like to apologise if you found anyone to be anything else.

We hope to see you again when you are next in the UK.

Kind Regards

Fiona Walker
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighouse
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
3.3 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
544 reviews
3.7 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
5.2 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
462 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Hotel
Address: 14 Huddersfield Road, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 1JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Brighouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brighouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air conditioning & mini bars are available in our executive and deluxe rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Brighouse
The Waterfront Hotel Brighouse, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing