We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basically OK - better if you upgrade” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brighouse
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Basically OK - better if you upgrade”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We chose the Waterfront because of its central location. It is OK, but not great. Good and helpful welcome from staff. Our standard room was barely adequate - just about room for two plus luggage. Bathroom also incredibly small. If I was a 'large' person I simply don't know how I could have used the toilet! The room had all the necessary bits and pieces - so that is good. Furniture a bit tired but OK. Free wifi worked well - a necessary big plus these days. Breakfast in adjacent restaurant good.
We have stayed previously and booked an Executive room and this was much better - even up to five stars.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CupCaketheBold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    96
    51
    19
    6
See reviews for
34
109
18
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stopped (as many seemed to) for a meeting in Brighouse the following day. Stopped in a Executive room and it was truly lovely. One of the best nights sleep I've had in a hotel for weeks.

The bed is very soft which suited me fine, but might put others off, the shower was powerful and the bathroom huge compared to many. The addition of wine glasses, a minibar and plenty of tea/coffee made the room stand out from so many others.

Ordered room service, and was not charged! The food from Preggo was wonderful and I would suggest you check it out.

Will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingauditor23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culcheth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

The room was tiny but clean. The bathroom was also clean but very tatty, the shower is minuscule. The whole place needs a makeover. Breakfast was ok but the waitress clearly learned her skills at the Chairman Mao school of charm. But hey it was only £25 a head bed and breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cryerrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontLodgeHotel, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We do agree that some of our rooms are starting to look a little tired. Throughout 2014 we will be undertaking an extensive refurbishment programme of our standard rooms, the first of which was completed last week with new modern wet room style bathroom.
We do however take exception to your comment regarding our breakfast supervisor which we do find offensive. All our staff are fully trained to our usual high standards and we pride ourselves on the lovely comments we receive regarding the friendliness and helpful attitude of our team. If you experienced a service standard that fell below this level then we apologise for this & we would be happy to discuss this with you in a constructive manner.
We hope you will stay with us again in the future, perhaps in one of our newly refurbished rooms or one of our executive or deluxe rooms.

Kind regards
Joanna Campbell
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Brighouse was never on my list of places to visit, but work dictated it necessary and Waterfront Lodge was the venue. Easily accessible by train (from Leeds or Manchester) the hotel is about a three-minute walk from the station. There is also parking outside the hotel, but requires payment between 8am and 6pm.

My room on the second floor was small with not much space to move around, but as I was staying alone and had no luggage it wasn’t a problem. The bathroom was a little uninspired and the shower door appeared to be missing and replaced with a shower curtain.

The bed had the softest mattress I have ever come across in a hotel and it wasn’t great, I can’t believe anybody likes such a soft mattress.

The bar downstairs was decent and although I didn’t use the restaurant it looked good.

If you’re travelling as a couple, or you don’t like soft mattresses, you may want to consider other options in the area, although the Waterfront Lodge is the only hotel in the centre of Brighouse.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHandBaggageOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
164 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I booked this hotel purely for it’s close location to an early meeting I had the following morning. The hotel is situated close to Brighouse town centre, car park is at the rear of the hotel (follow Bethel street) and is a pay and display car park (60p per hour upto 6pm and after 8am). Beware parking attendants are very aggressive with this enforcement so don’t leave to chance, the receptionist will tell you the same. I was welcomed with a smile at reception and told everything I needed to know, my room was on the first floor and I booked a single room just for price & convenience. The single room I got was adequate for the money paid, all frills and comfortable bed, floor creaked like a teenage couple's bed but that would have bothered the person below rather than me and the room was hotter than ghandi's flip-flop, I could not open the window.
The hotel is adjoining with “Prego” restaurant, ate here two courses for £12.95 which was an ok deal, mains off the menu looked expensive for what they were.
I did not get a chance to sample breakfast as I had an early start the following morning. If you are a late riser in the morning I assume you will need to feed the parking meter again at 8am however 60p an hour isn’t going to break the bank, I’ve paid £12 per hour down south!
All in all a good stay for the price paid, but wouldn't have paid more than £50 a night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kromeandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

The room was very small and basic and needed to be updated old dated shower curtain the sink a big crack across .
The bed was comfy and good quality bedding .
Instead of glass they had plastic ones I've never seen this before
We paid £45 got the room it should have been £65 I would have been gutted if I had paid that .
Not a bad hotel but a great reastraunt

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lisalang23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

What a beautiful hotel. Friendly reception on arrival, room was fantastic, spotless, spacious (lucky enough to be in a Deluxe Room) Jacuzzi bath was wonderful, bed was so comfortable. The little touches like plenty tea and coffee, decent size Kettle, wine glasses and bottle opener. Food was amazing, the restaurant is lovely, staff very friendly, helpful and polite. Great selection for breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyable stay - highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 732Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighouse
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
4.8 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
3.0 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#12 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Hotel
Address: 14 Huddersfield Road, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 1JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Brighouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brighouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air conditioning & mini bars are available in our executive and deluxe rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Brighouse
The Waterfront Hotel Brighouse, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing