We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Food, Great Location!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gomersal Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gomersal
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Staff, Great Food, Great Location!!!!”
Reviewed 2 September 2005

After spending a while looking for a Hotel on the outskirts of Leeds we decided to settle on Gomersal Park. We were spending the day at Leeds Festival so I called the Hotel to let them know. The Receptionist on duty was more than helpful giving details on the closing times for the Restaurant and giving us a local taxi number so if we couldnt find a taxi after the Festival we could give them a call and order one.

We arrived at the Hotel at 10.30pm and the atmosphere was buzzing, with three weddings and a coach party staying over we still received a warm and friendly welcome. Wake-up calls and newspapers were offered and then clear directions through the maze of corridors to our room.

The room was very homely and linen crisp and clean and the bathroom was immaculate. There was a copy of the menu in the room along with a wine list and a well presented guest information booklet.

The breakfast was lovely, even if it took a while to get a table but what can you expect when the guests from the previous evenings weddings were feeding there hangovers?! When we went to check out the same receptionist that greeted us, when we arrived, was on shift again bright eyed and bushey tailed and with her two other colleagues they bid us a safe journey home.

We'll definatly be going back soon - For a longer stay and to use the Leisure Club on site and to sample the superb looking menu!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    203
    119
    53
    36
See reviews for
146
316
19
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 August 2005

Staying for a family wedding was an uncomfortable experience. Having telephoned five times I had expected my booking for 2 single and one double non-smoking rooms to be correct. It was not! We were given one double smoking room, one double and one single non-smoking rooms; and charged inappropriately for two doubles! I had advised the hotel on the day that we would be arriving late and anticipated we would be expected after 10pm. Our welcome was far from overwhelming. On arrival in the car park at 10.30, the whole place was throbbing and pulsating with disco music and there were hordes of young people running in and out of the entrance. We fell over two brides slumped in the foyer. The elderly receptionist/night porter did not listen to my approach and immediately started talking to people behind me. It took four requests to get across the message that I had three rooms booked and, despite giving my name twice, he had to repeatedly ask me for the information between conversations with others roaming up to the desk. He appeared reluctant to tell us the direction of our rooms.

After finding our rooms, it was disconcerting to find the room like a furnace. Throughout my stay I was unable to find the source of heat, but the room remained uncomfortably hot until I left, despite having windows open as wide as possible constantly. The rooms had no lobby and the corridors were very narrow. Consequently there was a great deal of noise until the early hours of the morning. Nor was the noise confined to the corridor. The people above me returned to their room at 1.30am, apparently held a 3,000 metre steeplchase around their room before energetically copulating. A combination of noise and heat made sleep almost impossible. Although the bed linen was fresh and clean, the waste bin had not been emptied and there was garbage under the bed, which gave concerns about the thoroughness of the room cleaning.

Breakfast was passable. The usual buffet was OK, but fried bread seemed to have been prepared in industrial lubricant and the fried eggs had obviously been left out on a hot plate for at least 90 minutes, such that the concept of a soft yoke was illusory. The staff were all young people, who appeared to have spent the night in their disco and were attired in scruffy, once-black clothing, giving a faded and dirty appearance. Although I had breakfast early at 8.00am, the table I was given had crumbs left on it and missing cutlery.

There are virtually no public rooms and facilities in this hotel. The restaurant/breakfast room contains a bar and a corner with some easy seating. However, there is nowhere to sit comfortably and quietly to while away any time.

There is a production line of weddings; two on the Friday we arrived, three on Saturday and a further one on Sunday as we were leaving and the hotel has function suites to cater for these, which it does quite well. However, it does not provide very much else for the casual visitor, or even the wedding guest who chooses to stay for a night or two. It is a pretentious establishment which aspires to be something it can never achieve. Sadly the people who run, manage and staff it believe that they have got there because they have no idea of the real standards they should be providing.

Stay if you must for a wedding but another establishment nearby might be more enjoyable and comfortable and avoid it at all costs if you are not attending a function there.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 August 2005

We recently stayed at this hotel for a family wedding. On arrival, the reception staff could not have been less interested in checking us in, prefering instead to chat to friends while we were forgotten about. Once we had been given our room keys, there was no effort to direct us to our rooms, instead we were left to wander aimlessly through the poorly signed corridors.

The linen in the rooms was clean and the bed very comfortable (probably the only plus point to this hotel) however, there were hairs in the bath tub, the bins hadn't been emptied and there was rubbish under the bed from a previous occupant. The walls are very thin and despite some guests attempts to be quiet, you can still hear everything in the corridors.

The staff at breakfast were both rude and pushy. There seemed to be no concept of service whatsoever. The food was pleasant, although you will be lucky if you are seated at a clean table.

When we checked out, we were overecharged significantly and the member of staff on reception was unable to sort the problem, instead telling us that we must hang around for the reception manager.

Please think long and hard before deciding on this hotel, it is trying very hard to be something it isn't ..... and failing.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2005

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding and needed a day to recover after staying there. We had the worst night's sleep due to loud noise from other guests throughout the night and until early hours of the morning.

We were tempted to leave and drive home instead.

The walls seemed to be very thin and we had ring-side seats for our neighbour's rows both next door and upstairs. We were also apparently staying in a 'non-smoking' room, despite finding a dirty and full ashtray in our room.

Whilst the pool and sauna facilities are good, they are not sufficient for a hotel of this size in my opinion. This hotel's room amenities seem dated and could do with some updating. The hotel was full with wedding parties and therefore we queued for breakfast after being frog-marched to our table by a rude member of staff. Do not expect to sit where you like at this hotel! We then waited for 20 minutes for our breakfast to arrive.

Overall, a poor experience at this hotel despite a nice appearance.

Helpful?
30 Thank mancmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, West Yorks
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2004

Excellent food, fabulous service and rooms as nice as some five star London Hotels. I only stayed one night but I would love to go back. Great value for money. Conference facilities were also very good, including food - though there was an additional charge to use their powerpoint pojector (we forgot ours!)

  • Stayed November 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JHD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gomersal
11.1 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Healey Hotel
Healey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batley
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,562 reviews
11.6 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
962 reviews
3.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gomersal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gomersal Park Hotel

Property: Gomersal Park Hotel
Address: Moor Lane, Gomersal BD19 4LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Gomersal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gomersal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gomersal Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gomersal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gomersal Park Hotel West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing