We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christening Day - Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gomersal Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Gomersal B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Christening Day - Fantastic”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We celebrated our daughter's christening here on 30/06/13 and had a fabulous day! We chose the venue as it had everything we wanted and more, the marque was ideal for the special day. After speaking to both Antony & Jane we were made to feel at ease with all that came with hosting a celebration here. We opted for hot beef & pork sandwiches, salad & potatoes - this was all gorgeous and delish food and we never ran out.We also had a separate children's food table which was equally as good, the hotel let us amend & change the menu to suit our needs. All the decorating of the marque was done by the helpful staff so we didn't have anything to worry & panic about. When all our guests arrived they were made to feel at ease and anything we needed the staff made sure this got sorted immediately. The marque looked fabulous, the bar was well stocked and the food was out of this world! .
All the staff bent over backwards for us and our guests and nothing seemed to be a problem to them at all. The marque and the grounds are fantastic and an ideal location for any celebration. After the previous reviews on here we were a little doubtful however after yesterday we will be returning for meals & afternoon tea at Gomersal Lodge very soon
All our guests enjoyed the day and cannot believe how fantastic the staff were. We had an excellent day and would not think twice about returning to host another occasion here.
We are so grateful for all that was done to make our day so special! This hotel will get better day by day but in the mean time they just need to carry on how they are as they will go far! Staff are brilliant and I have no doubt anyone that chooses this venue will have a brilliant day here.
I can honestly say Antony, Jane & Amy will make Gomersal Lodge a huge success! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeedsLubyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    25
    20
    9
    63
See reviews for
27
56
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This place is so bad it's almost good! You can go mad or just sit back and laugh, I chose the later. It's set in nice grounds but inside is like a halfway house, somewhere they send you between prison and being let out in the general community. Please please please do not order the breakfast, it really is quite inedible, Im feeling a little queasy just thinking about it. I'm only writing this review as I have no tv to watch here, yes I'm in my cell / room now. I have just spent half an hour looking for a remote then an hour looking for a member of staff, to no avail. Eventually I rang the hotel and was told that "no the tv in my room didn't work". There was no apology or offer of a different tv or room. They were however planning to report it to the manager, sometime in the near future I presume. So that's OK!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank UkDefenestrator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gomersal hotels

Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Me and my girlfriend fancied a bit of change and headed out looking for somewhere with nice grounds for a picnic and to walk the dog. This hotel did exactly what it said on the tin. Set in a very quiet town with very nice surrounding and great views.

The Room cost £37 for the night and they even let the dog stay. For that price you don't expect much but what we did get was a very friendly welcome, a clean bed, shower and a TV - its not the Hilton, but if your a little open minded and not too fussy, you'll enjoy the stay!

We went looking for somewhere to enjoy the outdoors and we had a roof over our head for the night. For less than £40 I think it did exactly what we wanted!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manchester_Macka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I was visiting my friend over in heckmondwike and gomersal seemed to be suitably close.

The grounds were lovely and my room overlooked cleckheaton, the room was lovely and clean and showed the historic character the house provided.


The staff were friendly and catered to my every needs and I would be happy to come back to gomersal in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaymadnes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently.
Never never again.
Horrible hotel horrible staff and service.
The room was disgusting the bathroom was also so horrible i could not shower in.
Please please please avoid.
This hotel should be closed down.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blonde1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very dated, dangerous pot holes all along the long driveway to the entrance, no adequate parking facilities, bathroom so tiny you had to climb onto the toilet to close the door behind you. Would not shower as it was so antiquated that I was afraid I may break something. Stay here for a dare if you must but make sure the management pay YOU for being so brave!

Room Tip: There IS no good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShazNaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Me and my boyfriend booked to go to this hotel on sat night, it looked very nice on the pictures. Well that was a different story when we got there. We arrived to not knowing we had a double room booked online. We were told to sit in this bar while they " got the room ready" we was sat for about half an hour waiting for our room. The owner of the hotel took up to our room. The "double room was like a cupboard " I wouldn't even put a dog in the room. It smelled and was really dirty the dirty horrible bathroom had a hole in the floor, and it looked like it was stuck in the 1950"s the bed was in a coner and it was horrible with stains on the sheet .We dint even have a key for the room as he said somebody knicked it and when we wanted to get out of the room we had to ring downstairs. It was that bad we left. He wouldn't give us our money back and we had to argu until he did. This hotel is horrible and I wouldn't even send my worst Enmy to sleep in that room. it was like a night mare.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gema1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gomersal
1.0 mi away
Gomersal Park Hotel
Gomersal Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gomersal
825 reviews
2.3 mi away
Healey Hotel
Healey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batley
284 reviews
4.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
122 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford
Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford
#21 of 27 in Bradford
373 reviews
9.9 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gomersal Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gomersal Lodge Hotel

Property: Gomersal Lodge Hotel
Address: 189 Spen Lane | Cleckheaton, Gomersal BD19 4PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Gomersal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gomersal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gomersal Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gomersal Lodge Hotel has recently been taken under new management and is under a process of refurbishment - and apologises to all previous visitors who have reported having a 'terrible' experience - and wish to assure them that the Lodge will be returned to its former. The new general manager has over 25 years experience in the hospitality industry and will be bringing a new level of high standards to the Lodge. This will include a new breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea menu. We are available for private events both personal and corporate, and we will also be offering a number of events throughout the year. We look forward to giving you a warm Yorkshire welcome . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gomersal Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gomersal Lodge Hotel West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing