We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gomersal Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Gomersal B&B and Inns
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I booked this hotel prior to reading the reviews on Trip Advisor & was therefore somewhat nervous as we arrived on Saturday 30 November. What we found was a lovely, warm welcome from Imran and a hotel which whilst in need of a little TLC in areas, was otherwise warm, clean and tidy.

This is an old building set in beautiful grounds with fabulous views. Don't visit if you only like modern identikit boxes but we thoroughly enjoyed staying in an old building with character & the quirks that generally throws up.

Room Tip: Room 5 has fabulous views but a somewhat wonky floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nichola485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    25
    20
    9
    63
See reviews for
27
56
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I came to look around Gomersal Lodge Hotel with my fiance as a possible wedding venue. We have been engaged for over 8 months and this was the first venue I had seen in that time within the Bradford area that I really liked.
We both loved the marquee and had decided that should the price be right we would definitley get married here in 2015. We were told we would be sent some quotes in the post but after over 3 weeks I have received nothing. I followed this up with a phone call around 10 days ago and was told they had been sent...which is obviously not the case.
The hotel is under new management so I did expect to wait longer than usual but I feel that as a hotel under new management they should be doing everything they can to build a good reputation and gain future business.
As my fiance's family are not from Bradford, we would have hoped to book most of the hotels rooms for the night of the wedding so I feel like they have lost out on a lot of business through not doing something so simple.
I am extremely disappointed as I will now be finding a new wedding venue...if a hotel cannot even send some information, how will they be able to make important arrangments for a wedding?

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gomersal hotels

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had stayed at gomersal park hotel the night before and it had been Fantastic! But due to a Wedding event they were fully booked so we needed somewhere to stay for the last night, We came across gomersal lodge hotel and thought we would try it.
First odd thing about this hotel was that the man wanted cash up front. It was getting late so I agreed. Booking in was very casual indeed. We had quite a big room. Bed sheets were nice and clean. But everything eles seemed dusty. The views were beautiful. Breakfast was ok lady who served us was very friendly but unorganised. Its ok if you need somewhere to crash but I would not recommend it, Try Gomersal Park Hotel if they are not fully booked instead! Cheaper and you get a lovely clean room and bathroom and yummy Breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmaliz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I didn't expect this place to be top grade at £ 55 but it was absolutely awful and not worth half that. Old beds dirty mattresses, floor, door, walls. Mould on the floor and wall of bathroom and paper coming off the wall. Curtains do not fit or close properly, no blind nets ect. Very dated artex ceiling and very tacky decor/colours. Lots of banging and people talking very loud beneath us in the kitchen & office, the room was number one. The window overlooks the marque that had a noisy birthday party going on. The window sills were very dirty and the windows. I desperately wanted to leave but due to finances and a busy Saturday night with everywhere booked we had no choice but to stay. Their were only showers no baths and so dirty that I wouldn't use it. The kettle was so old and also dirty (20yrs+) that I'm amazed it could be safe to use? Its a shame because the house is connected to bronte and it has lovely gardens, in the right hands it would be awesome and very profitable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Metsx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I recently held my husbands surprise 40th birthday party in the marquee, it was brilliant! The marquee and gardens are beautiful and the staff couldn't do enough for you. I had it booked for months beforehand and anytime I needed anything the manager Antony and his wife Jane were always there to help and did me a great deal. Amy, abid and Nadeem were fab too. Definitely recommend! In fact there are a few of my family members and friends wanting to book their up coming functions there now too. Overall a big success! X

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edenwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Came for a 40th and it was fab, the marquee was awesome and the staff esp abid and nad were fantastic and great hosts, we asked for nothin they gave us everything. They let us stay up and they served us even though it was closed, they then bought us a curry at no expense to ourselves. The grounds are beautiful, defo recommend it and hope to come back. Staff were great xxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nettienbraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I've written several reviews for T.A. and other media and pride myself in always giving an honest opinion. Myself and my four brothers, along with our partners, all stayed here for the Folk Festival weekend of the 6th & 7th of July and, I've got to say, we are all of the same opinion that we couldn't have been better treated.
Having consulted the reviews on T.A., we approached our stay with some trepidation but were very pleasantly surprised! It's not The Ritz, and the rooms aren't 'premier inn modern', but we weren't expecting that. What it is, is a nice family run, small hotel which was clean, tidy and welcoming and everything worked.

It is, essentially, a large Victorian house set in it's own spectacular grounds. We received a warm, friendly welcome which lasted all weekend. The rooms were more than adequate, for the price range, and the breakfast was very good indeed. We used the late bar facilities on one night and the barman was equally friendly and informative and there was no pressure to have 'one drink and out' as in some places.

Having revisited some of the reviews, I can only think that some people are trying to use T.A. to pursue a vendetta and that's a real shame. We'd all have no hesitation in staying here again so - be discerning, yes - but don't believe everything you read!

Tom Wilson (on behalf of The Wilson Family)

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gomersal
1.0 mi away
Gomersal Park Hotel
Gomersal Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gomersal
826 reviews
2.3 mi away
Healey Hotel
Healey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batley
284 reviews
4.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
122 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford
Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford
#22 of 27 in Bradford
374 reviews
9.9 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gomersal Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gomersal Lodge Hotel

Property: Gomersal Lodge Hotel
Address: 189 Spen Lane | Cleckheaton, Gomersal BD19 4PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Gomersal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gomersal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gomersal Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gomersal Lodge Hotel has recently been taken under new management and is under a process of refurbishment - and apologises to all previous visitors who have reported having a 'terrible' experience - and wish to assure them that the Lodge will be returned to its former. The new general manager has over 25 years experience in the hospitality industry and will be bringing a new level of high standards to the Lodge. This will include a new breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea menu. We are available for private events both personal and corporate, and we will also be offering a number of events throughout the year. We look forward to giving you a warm Yorkshire welcome . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gomersal Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gomersal Lodge Hotel West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing