We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Food, Great Staff what more could you ask for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gomersal Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Gomersal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I was a little concerned about coming to stay here at first after reading a few of the reviews on here. But when I arrived I was made to feel more than welcome! The place was clean smelt really nice was warm and cosy. The place is under new management and the staff are just lovely. The room was Clean, Warm, Flat screen t.v on the wall It's a great value for money. The restaurant is really nice. Quite posh actually ha ha. The food was really nice above and beyond your ordinary 'Pub Grub' The breakfast was very nice as well. So all in all this was a great stay and I will be recommending this place to my friends and family. Don't let old reviews put you off the place.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel over looking the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed overnight with my partner staff are freindly make you feel at home and welcome meals are gorgeous and affordable great room price aswell.
freindly faces lovely views staff more than happy too help with anything under new management everyone is helpful and friendly introducing themselves will be staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kellynelson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Went to a funeral wake at gomersal lodge and I've got to say its under new management and they are great,they looked after us so well and made what was a very sad day absolutely lovely.
The place has real potential although a little shabby the new team more than make up for it..
Great staff
Great food
Great grounds
I will be back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sherri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Met a customer for breakfast this morning - not been here before. Stunning location, really friendly staff and most importantly a fantastic breakfast.
Dinner menus look great so already planning a return visit just on the strength of the breakfast.
Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is an absolutely awful hotel and should be closed down.

Where do we begin:-
Alarm bells rang when we got to the hotel and there was no reception area and no staff! We telephoned the hotel number and the call was redirected to a mobile phone. Eventually someone showed up to check us in.
When we booked the room by telephone two weeks beforehand we were told that
the room would cost us £39 for a double room including breakfast. They told us that we did not need to give our credit card details to reserve the room and could just pay when we arrived. When we arrived at the hotel they charged us £60. We were in a hurry so we did not have time to argue. They did not give us any receipt or ask us to fill out any forms with our names.

The room was basic but adequate, however we did not try the tiny shower.

The real ‘fun’ started the following morning. We had told them when we arrived that we wanted breakfast at 8:00 am (Sunday morning). We showed up at 8:00 am and there was no staff! There were 5 guests all waiting for breakfast (ourselves, another couple and one man on his own). We telephoned he hotel number again and we were redirected to another hotel owned by the same person. The staff member at that hotel was not very concerned or helpful. He declined to give us the name of the owner/manager. After we called a few times he did finally call the staff of the Gomersal Lodge Hotel and eventually at approximately 8:45 am a staff member did show up. By this time one of the guests waiting for breakfast had given up and left because he had to go. The staff member who did show up gave us the owner’s phone number. When we called him he did not apologise and just hung up. When we called back he did not answer the phone or return our calls.
At around 9:00 am another staff member showed up and apologised to us. She explained that she had overslept. That is a totally inadequate explanation.


Other matters:-
The breakfast when it finally arrived was quite good.
The kitchen and reception area were both filthy and disorganised.

The dining room was freezing. There was no staff to turn on the heating.

In conclusion this was one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed at. We would strongly recommend that no one ever stays here. The grounds of the hotel are very pleasant although they do need some work on the driveway entrance which had several pot holes. In the right hands this could be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as we were attending our son's wedding and it was situated nearby. We travelled up from Devon and took my 92 year old mother with us, who is virtually blind. We were not really expecting anything luxurious and just required comfortable, clean and warm rooms and a decent breakfast. The house is lovely and I'm sure the grounds look stunning in better weather.
Imran, the manager, gave us a really warm welcome, even though we were much later arriving than we had estimated. Both rooms were warm and the beds were comfortable. Yes, the decor was a bit 'tired' looking but the rooms were clean.
We were amazed to discover the next morning, that Imran also cooked the breakfasts and waited on the guests too. Our full English breakfasts were great; freshly cooked and with generous portions. Imran serves a really excellent pot of tea; none of your wishy washy catering rubbish. In fact, Imran really made our stay. He could not have been more helpful and he was kind and friendly without being intrusive. We will certainly stay again and would certainly recommend Gomersal Lodge. Great value for money we thought.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CELIA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Upon arrival we were shown to our room, it had a double bed and a single and was a bit of a squash. I went into these ensuite to use the toilet to dirty! The toilet flush handle was broken so we had to take the top of to flush the toilet, the heating wasn't on and some tissue was behind the single bed! We went for a drink at the bar and was served a warm white wine and warm magners that cost us £7.00. While sat in the bar we figured out that the heating wasn't working and Inram was struggling to get the boiler to stay lit! Inram changed our room because of the flush but we then found a cigarette butt under the radiator! I proceeded to have a shower as we were going out only to find the shower door wouldn't shut and the water ran hot & cold! The boiler wasn't going to lite so we were given a electric heater which we plugged straight in, the hair dryer we were given was dangerous as the handle was split and would probably have given me a electric shock! My husband tried the hair dryer and the next thing the electrics had tripped, faulty towers has nothing on this place. At this point my husband lost his patience and told Inram we weren't staying there. We were told they had a sister hotel a few minutes away and they could accommodate us. Naive I know but off we set to the Alder House Hotel, omg, we had been set up I am sure, we were shown 2 rooms, they were also terrible, I then asked for a refund and the guy there had to ask his manager if we could have our money returned! They tried to give me a 50 cent coin instead of £1, we were already pissed off but that was the icing on the cake, the moral of this story is stay away from the Gomersal Lodge and it's sister hotel.

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gomersal Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gomersal Lodge Hotel

Address: 189 Spen Lane | Cleckheaton, Gomersal BD19 4PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Gomersal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gomersal
Price Range: £48 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gomersal Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very Warm Welcome awaits you here at the Privately owned Gomersal Lodge Hotel, Overlooking the famous 15 acre Stray parkland, the historic Grade II Gomersal Lodge Hotel dates back to 1860 and sits on the site of the town's first ever hotel. Gomersal Lodge Hotel has comfortably furnished en-suite bedrooms. Tastefully decorated and equipped with all the usual facilities that one would expect from a hotel of such stature. All bedrooms features an en-suite bathroom, and offer a desk, Hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities and a flat-screen TV. All of the rooms benefit from large windows and views across the countryside and garden. At the Gomersal Lodge Hotel guests will be able to relax in the garden. The hotel offers extensive free car parking and only 5 minutes from both Junction 26 & 27 of the M62 and is located at the very heart of West Yorkshire. The hotel is only a short drive from the centre of Leeds, Bradford, Huddersfield, Halifax and Wakefield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gomersal Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gomersal Lodge Hotel West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing