We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hebden Bridge
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Called in at lunchtime. Plenty of character, nice friendly staff and nice roaring fire.
Waited a while for food but to be expected if freshly prepared as the wild mushroom risotto appeared to be and certainly worth the wait. Delicious and possibly best I have tasted.
Would recommend. Also parking at rear which is always handy in Hebden Bridge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prisoner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

The White Lion Hotel offers great food and service. With a real wood fire we both felt cozy inside as it was cold and raining in Hebden. We both ordered a gourmet burger which was brilliant, 100% minced ribeye steak, with mouth watering coleslaw and thick fluffy potato chips (good value for the quality and quantity of food on the plate). This pub captures real British food with a helping of great customer service and great beers/ciders/ales. Unfortunately we didn't stay here in the hotel, but we would definitely be interested in staying for a night or two in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had a lovely dinner at the white lion yesterday evening. I opted for the fondue as a main while my boyfriend had the proper Yorkshire pie. Good food, my one slight concern with the fondue was the amount of meat for one person, perhaps mix it up with some crudités? The pub was bustling and had a nice cosy atmosphere an enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 3HelenC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I held my daughter's christening reception in the White Lion Function Room recently. Although the room was full of rowdy children the size of the room worked very well. The fact that it was well out of the way of the main public areas, upstairs with separate loos and its own bar was terrific. The room was decorated beautifully and set out exactly how we had planned it. The food, drink and staff were all superb and all together a most enjoyable day. Thank you again White Lion

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isla a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Went here for a celebration following a recommendation from a friend. I rang in advance to book a table and was given the option of where I wanted to sit. As I hadn't been before the table near the fireplace was recommended and subsequently reserved for us. The pub is lovely inside and the table was the best located. We had lunch, which was lovely. It did take a while for the food to arrive, but we were not in any rush so this wasn't a problem. The food was delicious, the atmosphere good and I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parky14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Visited on 21st Feb 2014 pm...What could have been the perfect experience was spoiled by simply not having enough staff behind the bar. Poor girl on her own was serving drinks, answering the phone, liaising with waitresses,taking room bookings, sorting out the coal fire etc etc. It baffles me that a purveyor of real ale does not have enough staff to sell it!!!! Easily sorted if the owner takes a step back and observes. Happy to help if you give me a call.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

wouldn't go anywhere else in Hebden Bridge for Sunday Dinner,it was a great atmosphere ,the staff didn't rush us at all,we talked for ages before we ordered and they didn't mind at all,if you want a nice relaxed place with great food and fantastic staff and excellent service this is the place !!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank phil0002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hebden Bridge
5 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
326 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
The Queen Hotel
The Queen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Todmorden
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Croft Mill
Croft Mill
#2 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moyles
Moyles
#5 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Address: Bridge Gate, Hebden Bridge HX7 8EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Hebden Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hebden Bridge
Price Range: £101 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lion is a traditional coaching inn; with exposed timber and masonry, an abundance of comfortable corners to hide in, and always a warm and friendly atmosphere. Set on a riverside location in central Hebden Bridge, the inn has always been well known for fine country ‘pub’ dining, and its extensive choice of wines and real cask ales. All of which can be enjoyed throughout the year, whether that be in front of a roaring log fire, or in one of our scenic riverside cobbled courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lion Hotel Hebden Bridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing