We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely staying here again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hebden Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thorncliffe B&B Hebden Bridge
Ranked #8 of 22 Hebden Bridge B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely staying here again”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Recently spent four nights here, Jo and Carmel made us very welcome . The rooms were spacious and comfortable with a good selection of goodies there (chocolate , fruit juice , selection of teas biscuit bars etc)
Breakfast was continental and delivered to your room at a time of our choosing (changing after nights out) and was selection of toasted breads fresh fruit etc
Wifi worked well and is only a few minutes from town centre.
The only draw back was the steep (steep!!!) hill to get back home after evening out but cans easily available.
Can't recommend this B&B more and will definitely stay there when next in Hebden

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed here recently, and was delighted with it. The owners were so welcoming and helpful; nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were gorgeous and very spacious, and were well equipped. Small fridges housed fresh milk, orange juice and water, cheese, butter, jam and marmalade, and the tea chests had many different types of tea. Little touches made the room special, such as a bowl of fresh fruit and some chocolates, wine glasses, books....I could list many things. The breakfasts were delicious - left outside your room at a pre-arranged time, complete with a wake-up knock on your door! The breakfast consisted of fresh tea/coffee, a bowl of fresh fruit, and an array of toasted breads, along with a croissant or pain au chocolat, and that was as well as cereal bars and cereal in your room.
The place itself was a few minutes walk from the centre of town (although it is on the world's steepest hill!), and has a parking place right outside the door. Wireless is available, and there is information on taxis and local walks.
My handy hint would be to ask for the attic room, as the views out of the dormer windows were stunning.
I would highly recommend Thorncliffe, and would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night .It's on the first part of a very (very) steep hill overlooking Hebden Bridge itself .We left our van in the town and walked up rather than trying to negotiate turning .Once that was sorted it easy .
We had a room but no en suite , but the bathroom was right next door, and everything was very clean. The room spacious, light and airy .We were extremely well looked after by the hostesses , and they couldn't do enough for us. We had all kinds of goodies in our room including chocolates, tea/coffee/hot chocolate , biscuits etc .We had a delicious breakfast in our room which made our day !

I would recommend this B and B to couples and singles alike ,and if we had to stay in Hebden we'd stay here again .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rainysnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Jo and Carmel are very welcoming ....their home is lovely, the room is spacious, sparkling clean and they have thought of everything to .....all the little extras....and the high-quality, discreet room service continental breakfast is a real treat....

Hebden Bridge is a friendly, arty, lively place to visit...with some challenging hills. Make sure your clutch and brakes work well whilst driving up to Thorncliffe.

I will definitely be visiting H.B. again....and I hope there will be some room for me at Jo and Carmel's ...Thorncliffe B&B...I would love to stay there again. A great place to switch-off, relax and recharge. Thank you ladies!

Room Tip: The attic room has skylights....whilst there is no view....the light in the room is lovely....and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyLadyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bridgford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A single night stay at the Thorncliffe was a delightful experience: I am a female, retired traveller and was made so welcome by Carmel. First impressions were extremely pleasing, my room was spacious, warm, comfortable and I was assured that anything I needed I was to ask for. The location is close to the town centre and well within walking distance. A wonderful breakfast was supplied, everything you could wish for. A well-stocked fridge containing the usual preserves, butter, milk, cheese, in addition to a great selection of teas, coffee, biscuits, fresh fruit, chocolates was supplied and a breakfast tray (brought to your room at a time you request) had toast, croissants, muffin, and a pot of tea or coffee. Honestly, what is there not to like here? I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Thorncliffe!

Room Tip: I only saw the room I had on the first floor: having a slight mobility problem, I might have found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank June Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The house is beautiful, and standard of the room is excellent. It is a 2-3 minute walk into the town centre. The owner (Carmel) made us feel very welcome. The continental breakfast is brought to your room in the morning at a time you request. Some excellent personal touches - home made muffins included on one morning in the breakfast. Hebden Bridge has plenty of places to socialise and eat. Of note is that some of the shops do not open on Monday and Tuesdays. The old picture house (cinema) is worth visiting. You can have a proper cup of tea whilst watching the film. We also visited the Trades club to watch a live band. Overall highly recommend Thorncliffe B & B and the town. Thanks Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tl180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We would highly recommend this lovely B&B. Carmel was very welcoming . The house and our room were beautiful .The continental breakfast was exquisite and all the little touches were greatly appreciated . Thankyou Carmel .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hebden Bridge
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
5.0 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Croft Mill
Croft Mill
#2 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moyles
Moyles
#4 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#10 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorncliffe B&B Hebden Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorncliffe B&B Hebden Bridge

Property: Thorncliffe B&B Hebden Bridge
Address: Thorncliffe Birchcliffe Road, Hebden Bridge HX7 8DB, England (Formerly Thorncliffe B&B for Women)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Hebden Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hebden Bridge
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorncliffe is a lovely spacious Victorian house with wonderful views overlooking the town. Located in the quiet Birchcliffe area, just a few minutes walk from the centre of town. We offer continental style breakfast in each room. There are two rooms each with kingsize bed and ensuite. Wireless broadband access, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities in each room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thorncliffe B&B Hebden Bridge Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing