We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so sure...”
Review of Laurel End House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hebden Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel End House
Ranked #14 of 22 Hebden Bridge B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not so sure...”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Hot water, clean beds and good hot breakfast, but property in need of an update inside. Reception hall and stairwell had doggy smell- great if you wanted to bring a pet, but not so good if you didn't. Breakfast room obviously used for other things in the day and cluttered. Bedrooms a good size but older style furniture and bedding. Generally slightly dusty and windows very dirty. Woken up in the night with owner putting the dog to bed! Rather expensive for what we got, although owner polite and a central location with private parking.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    35
    5
    5
    16
See reviews for
15
32
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We have recently returned from a trip to Hebden Bridge where we stayed at the Laurel End B&B. There were 5 of us, 2 adults & 3 teenagers. We had a great time, the B&B was good, a large attic room divided into 2 seperate rooms which was perfect for us. Breakfast was fab and nothing was too much trouble for Laura who runs Laurel End ( how many people do you know who would help carry your luggage up 2 flights of stairs?). It is perfectly situated for all amenities and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we will return. Thankyou Laura.

Room Tip: Book attic room if travelling with family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulaDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We always stay in Laurel End House when in Hebden Bridge and usually rent a beautiful rustic loft apartment with a fantastic view from the roof window – it is very quiet and restful place, exactly what one needs after rumbling the surrounding hills – Laura cooks excellent and very generous breakfast and here is a view from her breakfast table! We have always enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend Laurel House. And one more thing - parking is free and in front of the house!

Sonja Mirkovic and Robert Johns, London

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonjaandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I've read the reviews posted by other users, and they are mixed to say the least! Personally I can only praise Laurel End. I stayed for 3 nights, and had a really good stay. This is a period property, which meant that I had a lovely spacious room, with a huge window which let in loads of light. It is not a characterless 5 star hotel. Despite that, my bed was more comfortable than the one I had in an InterContinental Hotel (Warsaw)

I was looking for a central location, and can't fault Laurel End on that score. Very convenient. Free Car parking is also available, which is a big plus in Hebden Bridge!

The breakfasts are plentiful, consisting of fruit, yogurts, cereals, juice, various breads and eggs made to order. A cooked meat or veggie breakfast is available for a small supplement, which makes sense as that is not for everyone.

Laura is very helpful, and full of advice about the local area and things to do. There are plenty of leaflets around.

If you want a faceless hotel, don't stay here. If you want friendly, personal service, this is your place!

I wanted a clean, safe, convenient plce to stay and that is what I got!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeniseWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Laura is a great host, easy going and friendly, the rooms are clean and spacious, breakfast was generous and as well as the really good deal on room and breakfasts, we got free car park!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaza86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Spent a night at Laurel End in February. Unfortunately found it smelly downstairs in the dining room so didn't want to eat breakfast, cat pee......
Our room was nice but the upstairs room was dodgy to say the least, plugs in the bathroom and the toilet cistern in the bedroom.
Still it is conveniently located, near the wonderful Thai restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sazzieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
successWestYorkshire, Owner at Laurel End House, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
I don't have a cat. There is no toilet cistern in any of the bedrooms and no (electric ? ) plugs in any of the bathrooms. I find this title hurtful and offensive. Why was this guest wandering around the rest of my house anyway ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hebden Bridge hotels

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2011

I stayed at Laurel End House 3 times during 2010. I found Laura very accommodating and helpful concerning my coming and going times and my needing to have a very early breakfast. The beds were very clean, fresh and comfortable. The bathroom was not ultra posh but was spotlesly clean, the towels provided were adequate and again spotlesly clean and fresh, I was invited to ask for more if needed, I never needed to. Being a VIctorian Terrace the stairs are narrow and by the same token the rooms are spacious. Luara provides a variety of cereals, bread, yogourt, juice, fresh fruit and herbal teas for breakfast with facilities in the rooms for hot drinks. What more could one ask for the price paid.

I own a similar property which I've converted to a House in Multiple Occupation(HMO) and to be licenced I have to conform to local council regulations. All businesses of these nature have to be registered and so have to conform to local regulations as Laural End must surely have done. The regulations stipulated can vary from area to area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vix49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hebden Bridge hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Croft Mill
Croft Mill
#2 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moyles
Moyles
#5 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#9 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hebden Bridge Guest House
Hebden Bridge Guest House
#13 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
6 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hare and Hounds Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel End House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel End House

Property: Laurel End House
Address: 9 Crossley Terrace, Hebden Bridge HX7 8AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Hebden Bridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hebden Bridge
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated Bed and Breakfast only five minutes from station and shops. Lovely views over canal and hills. Private parking areas and gardens. Three bedrooms, one ensuite, two others which share one next door bathroom. TV and tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms. Can accommodate doubles, singles, families and pets. Vegetarians and vegans catered for. Walkers welcome. Reasonably priced. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurel End House Hebden Bridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing