We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fascinating stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kersal House

Kersal House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hebden Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kersal House
Ranked #18 of 22 Hebden Bridge B&B and Inns
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“fascinating stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for one night whilst at a gig to see the Staves. We were warmly welcomed by Maggie, and shown to our charming room. We were going straight out so Maggie recommended places to eat before the gig and we ordered breakfast for the next day. Our quaint room was well equipped and comfy with all nature of tea and coffee to choose from! Breakfast the next day was hearty to say the least, and Ron was a great host. Literature abounds in Kersal House and we would have happily stayed another night or, perhaps a month, just to sample the countless books and to converse more with Maggie and Ron! Would definitely recommend :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRosie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
15
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights and felt more relaxed than we have done for ages. Our room was cheerful, light and incredibly comfy and the bathroom was great with some lovely shower/bath lotions. Ron's breakfasts were delicious and he managed our mix of meat and non-meat food without a hint of stress! The dining room was chock-full of fascinating books and our conversations about football, Palestine, travel and living in Hebden were enlightening. Maggie and Ron were happy for us to leave our bags with them for the day and when we collected them during a rainstorm Ron gave us a very welcome lift to the station. Outstanding hospitality – we will definitely be back. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed for one night only and loved it. Maggie was welcoming and cooks a great breakfast. The room was comfortable and the ensuite bathrrom was fine. The atmosphere was unpretentious and homely. Hundreds of books to read! One minute walk to town centre. Good Italian restaurant 50 yards from B&B. Overall a great place to stay. Thanks, Maggie

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Kersal House B&B is simply the only place to stay in Hebden Bridge!
I regularly travel to Hebden Bridge on business, and having tried out several other B&B's and small Hotels in the area before I discovered Kersal House, I can now safely say I have found my home from home!
If you are looking for quaint accomodation full of pennine charm, a homely atmosphere and a welcoming feel .. not to mention the best cooked breakfast in town, this is your place.
The owners of the B&B, Maggie & Ron, could not be more accomodating and they have gone out of there way on more than one occasion to make my stay an even more comfortable one ... whether it's a lift to the local train station or tips on the best places to eat and drink.
The rooms are more than spacious, quiet and very comfortable (particularly the beds) and you are guaranteed a perfect sleep. Each room has an en suite bathroom, tea and coffee facilities as well as a TV and DVD player .. and only a 2 Minute walk from the centre of town .. what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrotterZB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at Kersal House recently and thought it was great. Lovely room, very helpful people and really good breakfasts. Also very close to all the amenities. Would highly recommend it if you are wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjpeake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our experience of Kersal House was not like that described by other reviewers.

The greeting we received was curt, as the booking procedure had been. We'd hardly got through the front door before being asked exactly what we'd like for breakfast and when. It seemed that we were a great nuisance for requesting breakfast at 8 o'clock as "normally people take it later at weekends". We had family commitments to fulfil, but agreed to 8.15.

The bedroom was just about adequate in size (not spacious) and the furniture tired and mismatched. Everything except the bed linen felt like it needed a good clean. There was a sharp nail projecting dangerously from the dressing table surface which the proprietor had to take a hammer to after failing to get the precariously rigged television to work for us.

The bathroom was small and didn't seem to have been properly cleaned since the previous occupancy (residual hair). The shower itself ran either on the hot side of comfortable or stone cold and the soap rack was rusty and not securely fixed.

On the plus side, the bed was comfortable. By the morning, Ron was making more of an effort and breakfast was good.

It may just have been an off day, but we won't go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hamlet03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We spent three nights at Kersal House on a choir long weekend singing in Bradford Cathedral. We booked Kersal House on the basis of Trip Advisor recommendations and were certainly not disappointed. The accommodation was outstanding - spacious, clean, quiet and really comfortable cotton bed linen. The full English breakfast prepared by Ron was spectacular. Maggie and Ron were friendly, courteous and interested hosts. Ron even gave us a lift to the station when we left. This was quite the best bed & breakfast accommodation we have experienced. We will certainly try to book with them again when we come back to sing in Bradford Cathedral.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hebden Bridge hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moyles
Moyles
#5 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Croft Mill
Croft Mill
#1 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#10 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hebden Bridge Guest House
Hebden Bridge Guest House
#13 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
1.1 mi away
Robin Hood Inn
Robin Hood Inn
#1 of 1 in Pecket Well
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kersal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kersal House

Property: Kersal House
Address: Hangingroyd Lane, Hebden Bridge HX7 7DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Hebden Bridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hebden Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Kersal House Hebden Bridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing