We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crown Inn
Nearby Hotels
The White Lion Hotel(Hebden Bridge)
US$163
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Queen Hotel(Todmorden)
US$95
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The New Hobbit(Sowerby Bridge)(Great Value!)
US$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$57
Travelodge
View Deal
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$59
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Imperial Crown Hotel(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
94
73
31
28
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
73
31
28
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindulgence roomthe ownerafrican themeland ladytoastroom was spotlessbreakfast was amazingexcellent hospitalitycooked breakfastblack puddingfull englishdouble showerlovely ladythe pubcentral locationgood nights sleepset us up for the day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Myself and my family recently stayed at the Crown Inn while in Hebden Bridge for a wedding. We were initially delighted to find this Inn close to the location of the wedding. We booked into the Indulgence room and we shown to the room by a very friendly member of staff. However after this things went down hill. She was unable to show us how to switch off the ceiling lights properly so they could only be dimmed. When we went down for dinner we were asked to pay for the whole weekend up front which I found a bit strange. On the first night there was considerable noise coming from the street below, so much so my wife asked if the window was open! While the owners cannot be held responsible for the street noise a small investment in secondary glazzing would make a huge difference to quality of sleep. On the second night there was a disco down stairs, we had been prewarned of this and were told we might hear a background hum. This hum however transpired as being able to hear every word of every song played! It was like staying above a night club!! Not exactly what we had in mind when staying in what was supposed to be a nice quiet country village Inn. In the morning there was no member of staff in a position to help with our complaint and no way of getting a reduction as we had been asked to pay up front. All in all a terrible experience.

Room Tip: Save yourself the money, park your car in a busy street under a street lamp, turn up the radio and enoy the "indulgence experience" :-(
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tiree2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We can not control the noise from the street and although secondary glazing may be an option it would be huge cost to all bedrooms. We will try to do it bit by bit.
Our website clearly explains where we are positioned in the town centre and the noise that can arise.
We did inform you of the disco and of the finish time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Called as we were in the area on Sunday.

Unfortunately some of the party where desperate for the toilet.

After ordering the food we found a table no problem as the place was empty however most tables where uncleared and very untidy.

The food was disgusting.
Cleanliness is non existent.
The overall experience was disappointing and would not recommend or visit again.

AVOID !!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anthony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

I have asked for this review to be removed, but it doesn't violate trip advisers criteria.
I was a customer on this day, in the bar with friends, all afternoon. We had a meal and drinks.
This review does not in any way resemble the bar area or the standard of the food.
Our staff member also asked every diner how their meal was and no complaints were made.
I do not the reason for this review but it is not of the same bar I was in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Firstly the good... the staff are extremely friendly & helpful and they are trying to achieve something different for their customers, so if nothing else it'll be an experience!!
The bad... they forgot to get some of the basics right. We stayed in the Indulgence room with a very low, circular bed which was a novelty but found to be quite impractical. Other problems we had were,
- the toilet room would be much less cramped if they hadn't put in two washbasins. Also a spare loo roll (rather than 1/2 one only) would be good.
- the toilet cistern took over 20 minutes to refill itself - WAY TOO LONG
- the separate shower room had a good large double shower but the towel rail couldn't be turned on / off so it was freezing in the morning.
- a caftiere was provided (not properly assembled) but only enough coffeee for a quarter fill - why??
- there was no hairdryer or phone in the room
- it was impossible to completely turn off the complicated lighting system, which made sleeping very difficult.
- parking in the town is a bit of a nightmare (not the Crown's faullt !!)

The DANGEROUS - the door lock on our room could not be re-opened from the inside once locked so was a serious safety hazard and needs to be fixed immediately. We had to ring the bar to get them to open it & were lucky to get a mobile signal in what is a very poor reception area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhiteSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear WhiteSmurf,

We are sorry you didn't completely enjoy your stay with us and have looked into the points you raised.

We have replaced the faulty lock and again, apologise for the mishap as of course we did not want this to happen.

Furthermore, the problem with the toilet which we didn't know about could've perhaps been resolved if you had told us during your stay. Also, our room information pack clearly states that should you require a hairdryer then all you have to do is ask and one will be provided for you.

We do hope to see you again in the future and hope to ensure you fully enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I were walking the Pennine Way in September and arrived in terrible conditions - wet and extremely windy to a very friendly reception warm bath, warm and comfortable room. The Hotel has an excellent location in the centre of town and nothing was too much trouble for the manager. Breakfast in the morning was excellent too - one of the best places we stayed on the Pennine Way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenleyonThames1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to make a positive review. We have many happy guests but only disgruntled people tend to write reviews.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the excellently located Pub hotel but were very disappointed with the room ironically called 'chill'. The room was boiling hot due to the sun turning it into a greenhouse. We told the helpful understanding staff who advised us to open the windows. We did this but not for long when we saw the vast amount of dried pigeon droppings on the window ledge and windows. Pigeon droppings can carry a variety of diseases and are at their most dangerous when dried and the dust is inhaled. Exactly the situation we were faced with. We looked for alternative accommodation but non was available in this popular village. The next morning we left a message with the staff for the owner to contact us to make them aware of our concerns but have heard nothing. As this health issue has been ignored previously by the owner I think it is only proper that potential customers ought to be aware.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ponteangler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

We did have a terrible problem with pigeons above this window ledge and had pest control to sort the problem. Unfortunately, there is not a lot more we can do than all of the measures we have taken. The window ledges have been cleared and are now blasted every 3 weeks by a professional.
We did provide you with a big fan and checked back with you later in the day. I am sorry no manager was available on the sunday morning.
We did however have e-mail contact with you later on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews