We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want the ritz, then go there!”
Review of Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crown Inn
Ranked #9 of 22 Hebden Bridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Me and't wive stayed ere on't 2 night stay, a Christmas pressie off't brats! Never thought Hebden Bridge as a holiday destination but was pleasently suprised, We had a great time and stayed in't Lush, its lovely room, not quite spotless but realy comfortable and roomy.The staff were realy friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. T' Food and drinks were superb and I had one of t' best burgers I've tasted and t' homemade chips were there. We are planning t' go back there - prob with t' dogs - and explore more of t' excelent country side!
Daave.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaaveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Crown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Went in on a Saturday evening for dinner. Had calamari and garlic mushroom starters which were fab, however the mains of steaks were fantastic. Cooked perfectly and were really nice cuts of meat. Also the alcoholic dandelion and burdock they sell is delicious!! Will definitely be eating (and drinking!) there again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AuroraLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and i only had 22 hours in Hebden Bridge. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay in, than The Crown Inn . It's so close to the train station but also situated in the town center.
The staff are so friendly and helpful and the rooms are amazing. A private party was held there on the same night as we were staying. The staff said that we 'd also been invited. John & i danced the night away and had a brilliant time. The only small negative was that the breakfast took a while to come but will we go back again. We certainly will and can't wait.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Indulgence room. At first i thought that as the bed is round in shape it's smal...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This has to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.our room was supposed to be a twin but was a single with a camp bed across the end of the single. Okay we got over that one even though we had to climb acroos the camp bed to hang our clothes up.
Then we tried to take a shower.and guess what no water came out apart from a tiny trickle.
Then down to the worst breakfast we have ever had. We waited 40 mins for what was dried up char grilled burnt scrambled egg on toast and a full English with a sausage that was raw on one side and looked disgusting by this time I had given up and just wanted to get out of there because i felt physically sick. We complained and were given a £10 discount from the £76 per night we were charged which was still a massive rip off. They need to sack the chef and get new management in there.who know how to run a hotel.
.

Room Tip: avoid like the plague
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nhod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us at Crown Inn. I was sisappointed to receive your feedback and to read that your expectations were not met on this occasion. I am sorry that we were not able to resolve this for you during your stay.

With regards to the room, as the room was booked for you by a friend i did inform them that as it was a single room, and as a favour would be converted to a twin room for your convenience and as a special request due to us hosting your friends party which you were attending. This was made clear to you upon your check-in as we showed you the email correspondence regarding the booking of the rooms.
Due to you being guests at the party your room had already been discounted, so the further discount was another gesture to compensate your dissatisfaction.

I also hired a plumber to look into the shower problem so this has now been resolved. Furthermore, we had no other complaints about the other sixteen breakfasts that were served that morning and as we were fully booked, it perhaps did take longer than usual.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Me and my husband stayed here on a 2 night stay last weekend, a Christmas pressie off our children! We realy gad a lively time, we stayed in indulgence which is a lovely room, spotlessly clean and realy comfortable and roomy.The staff were realy friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. On the Friday night we had few pints and burger and chops brought to our room, it was one if the best burgers I've tasted and the homemade chips were beaut and salad very fresh! The breakfasts were realy nice too.
We we're told that there was going to be a private party on the Saturday and May be bit noisey but we we're more than welcome to go to party and also warned because our room was directly above the bar and dj, it didn't bother us at all, it wasn't that noisey and didn't in any way upset us
Before we went here I read reviews what people wrote and they wasn't very good, I was dreading going!! But now I have been I can't understand their problems and complaints!! We would definatley go back there we were well looked after by the very polite staff
Thankyou so much Lisa and Danny

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisaelxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you ever so much for your positive comments and feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stopped at the Crown 15th Feb 2014. Great location in the centre, room clean and warm with a great shower. Nice staff, very helpful. Excellent breakfast. Would go back next time we spend the night in Hebden Bridge. Recommend when you arrive to park up as near as you can as you get an hour free parking then there are plenty of NCP, 2 minutes walk if that and 40p an hour, free parking on NCP between 6pm and 8am so pop back after 6pm to get another parking ticket for the morning, but the staff will explain this to you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you ever so much for your positive comments and feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Went to the Crown Inn for dinner last night and the food was really gorgeous and tasty. I love coming here for dinner because no matter what I order, the food always exceeds my expectations :)

The service was excellen as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharron i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you ever so much for your positive comments and feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hebden Bridge
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
387 reviews
5.0 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
303 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Queen Hotel
The Queen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Todmorden
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
0.1 mi away
Moyles
Moyles
#5 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn

Address: 10 Crown Street, Hebden Bridge HX7 8EH, England (Formerly Bar Place)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Hebden Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hebden Bridge
Price Range: £80 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently reopened in December 2012 after the floods in July of the same year. After a full refurbishment we rebranded ourselves to further improve your visit and our levels of customer service. We are a 4* Bed & Breakfast with hotel rooms on offer, a varied menu and lots of different drinks available, please don't hesitate to contact us to enquire about your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Place Hotel Hebden Bridge
Crown Inn Hebden Bridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing