We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding in Hebden Bridge”
Review of Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crown Inn
Ranked #9 of 22 Hebden Bridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed overnight at the Crown Inn when we went to a wedding in Hebden Bridge. Having read the description I was expecting a quirky room in a pub. And yes, that's what we got, however...

All the staff we came into contact with were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, and there was a good selection of both cold and hot items. Top-ups of tea and coffee were offered the second a cup was drained.

As a bit of a long running joke between my husband and myself, I had booked the Indulgence room with the circular sunken bed. Actually, it was a really lovely, spacious room with a great shower and we both had a brilliant night's sleep. And a circular bed isn't weird to sleep in! We both loved the room, the décor, the ambience, the kookiness.

There is no car parking there, but there are 2 public car park a whisker away, and the charge (during the day 0800 - 1800) of 40p an hour seems a real bargain. So parking was no problem at all, we thought we might have a difficulty with it being Bank Holiday Saturday, but parked up straight away at 2.00pm.

If we ever need to go to Hebden Bridge again, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Princess Kimber... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W, Public Relations Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit us again soon. Many thanks and kind regards, Dawn Cooper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Average hotel. OK for a one night business trip. I suppose the rooms are OK for what you pay. The bathroom was poorly lit. It would be handy if there was a power point near a mirror for those who want to use a hairdryer. It tries to set itself up as a boutique hotel, but doesn't quite make it. Would I stay there again? Only if there was no where else at a similar price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W, Public Relations Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We wish to look into your recommendations but you didn't give us any information to what room you stayed in? Also, we are a four star bed and breakfast, not a hotel as we cannot offer all the services of a hotel such as a 24 hour reception. Kind regards, Dawn Cooper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped off for lunch. Staff friendly and attentive. It was reasonably busy for saturday afternoon. Our party had burgers, steak and ale pie and beer-battered haddock which were all presented nicely and were hot and tasty. We would visit again. Toilets are upstairs however there is a ground floor loo for those cannot 'do' stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JBrabusLimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W, Public Relations Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Dawn Cooper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Arrived tired on Saturday evening. Reception is at the bar which was busy and noisy, bit like being in a Wetherspoons, complete with swearing. Had to wait while until the bar staff, only two of them, were free. Got to the room, very hot, no opening window, very stuffy. Decor was OK but no drawer storage and not a proper wardrobe also there was an unsightly bunk bed in the room, not expected.

I chose this room as it was described as being big enough for four with the addition of a bunk bed, it didn't say the bunk was there, like it or not and the well taken picture of the room did not show it, very misleading, I think. This room should be sold at a lower price than the rest in summer and if there are only two of you.

The staff were friendly and the breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room named "For Four"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W, Public Relations Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. However, I must point out that several of the issues you have raised could've been easily avoided had you read your room description that is on our website. While we appreciate you had to wait to be checked in, it was a saturday night, and as a pub in the town centre, we feel it is unfair that you booked a hotel room above a town centre pub if you dislike hustle, bustle and noise. Furthermore, as it is a family room it is stated on our website about the non-opening window and the bunk beds which you would've been prepared for had you read the room description. Again, you were charged a lesser rate as there was only 2 of you staying in the room which you would have also known if you had again, read the room description. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast but feel that if the room was looked at properly before booking these negative comments could have been avoided. Kind regards, Dawn Cooper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We arrived at 1.05pm I ordered drinks and two sunday lunch. A short time after a small party ordered sandwiches some with chips. Approx 30 minutes later some of the sandwiches arrived. Ten minutes later I went to check progess of sunday lunch. The bar lady rang the kitchen to be told all the food was on its way. Afew minutes later the rest of the other parties chips and sandwiches arrived. Some time passed and our lunches arrived. We were told the boss was in the kitchen today. We complained about the delay, had we knoen when the order was placed we would have eaten somewhere else. At 8.50 each there was a tsblespoon of mashed potato, three roast potatoes that were deep fried !!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 929arma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W, Public Relations Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologise for the delay in the food coming down, this was because the kitchen was uninformed that the food was to come down all together. And i can assure you the potatoes are indeed roasted and that as well as those you get mashed potato, seasonal steamed veg, the meat of your choice, a homemade Yorkshire pudding and a rich gravy.
Kind regards, Dawn Cooper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed in the Gemini room while we were in Hebden for a few days visiting friends. We found the room to be clean and the linens were changed daily. Having stayed in various hotels around England during our visit, it was nice to have a warm, full breakfast to start out each day in Hebden and the staff made sure that everything was taken care of to our expectations every day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W, Public Relations Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for writing us a review and we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Dawn Cooper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My stay at the Crown Inn was perfect the staff were extremely helpful & the room was spotless the bedding was changed every morning which does not always happen in a hotel & i did not feel rushed into checking out of my room when i was leaving i will definately be staying again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W, Public Relations Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Dawn Cooper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hebden Bridge
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
390 reviews
5.0 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
313 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Queen Hotel
The Queen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Todmorden
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Moyles
Moyles
#5 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Croft Mill
Croft Mill
#2 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn

Address: 10 Crown Street, Hebden Bridge HX7 8EH, England (Formerly Bar Place)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Hebden Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hebden Bridge
Price Range: £84 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently reopened in December 2012 after the floods in July of the same year. After a full refurbishment we rebranded ourselves to further improve your visit and our levels of customer service. We are a 4* Bed & Breakfast with hotel rooms on offer, a varied menu and lots of different drinks available, please don't hesitate to contact us to enquire about your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Place Hotel Hebden Bridge
Crown Inn Hebden Bridge, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing