We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky cafe”

The Lamppost cafe and boutique
Ranked #18 of 66 Restaurants in Hebden Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Quirky cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Had a day out in Hebden bridge intending going to the lamppost cafe as the dogs had previously had some cakes from the cafe - and loved them.
The cafe was very busy lots of people and dogs, we found a table and looked at the menu, which was a little limited for hot food for humans.
When we went to order the staff seemed a little disorganised and I was really disappointed in the choice for the dogs at the time we were there as people had told us about all the different dog cakes. We made our choice and sat and waited after a while a few different orders were brought to our table - not ours!
I think they need a better system
Our order got mixed up and we ended up with wrong food and food arriving at very different times - but even with all that we enjoyed the cafe and the staff were very helpful and apologetic and gave the dogs some dog treats - which the dogs loved !
The human hot food was ok but the carrot cake was lovely. The dogs loved the fact they had their own bowl were made very welcome and they really loved the buns and treats.
We would definitely go back and would recommend it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 719Traceyc_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    50
    17
    7
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous dog-friendly cafe!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This place was recommended to us and we were glad we made the journey to visit. The staff were lovely and made a real fuss of our springer. I would like slightly more choice on the menu, but perhaps I am being greedy! The food we had was indeed lovely and the coffee was divine. Our dog woofed down the carrot and cheese pup cake!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Viggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love dogs but not with food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Somehow managed to stroll into The Lamppost without realising it was a dog friendly cafe - we had already ordered by the time we noticed.
I love animals but surely it's a health and safety nightmare! I'm sure the staff must go to extra lengths to ensure the furry friends don't affect the cleanliness of the cafe, but still the thought of it makes my skin crawl.
That aside (since it was my own error) - the food was mediocre at best and we found the menu to be very limited.
Not awful but nothing special. Wouldn't take the time to visit again but I'm sure it's well loved amongst dog owners.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mhysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great idea!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We were staying near to Hebden Bridge with our " girlies" and it was great to find such a welcome for them at the Lamppost. In fairness the town of Hebden Bridge and surrounding area is generally dog-friendly, but the Lamppost excels with lovely cakes and healthy treats for our girlies. The cappuccinos were the best we have tasted.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Willy451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dog friendly cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Spent Sunday pottering around the lovely town of Hebden Bridge, went to the lampost for coffee and cake. The coffe was excellent and the range of cake great. Best of all our German Pointer got to choose a pup cake, a healthy dog cake so she didn't spend our visit begging for our food. Great idea, don't listen to miserable people who say dogs and food don't mix - why not ? Not as if other peoples dogs bother you. A lovely friendly place a must visit with or without a dog.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbs325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lamppost cafe and boutique also viewed

Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Mytholmroyd, Hebden Bridge
 

Been to The Lamppost cafe and boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing