We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for allergies and intolerances!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Organic House

Organic House
Ranked #42 of 66 Restaurants in Hebden Bridge
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great for allergies and intolerances!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is a little yorkshire cafe, with a traditional core cafe menu of soup, breakfast egg dishes and sandwiches. Don't go expecting to be shown to your table or wowed by the sophistication. It's rustic, homely, cosy and does what it says on the tin.

Where it excels is in offering variations of these dishes suitable for anyone. Wheat free, dairy free, gluten free, vegan or (like me) the odd strange allergy; they bent over backwards to supply suitable food. My smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on wheat free was perfectly acceptable and a joy when it's so common even in London to end up with a salad in mid-winter.

So if you're looking for a warm place to get a filling bite before continuing a winter walk this place is recommended for Everyone. There aren't that many places you can say that about!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    46
    29
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Poor service for lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My brother and wife have just moved to Hebden Bridge, so we treated them to lunch at the cafe. Our lunches arrived at different times with such a lengthy wait that the soups were cold by the time the last of the food had arrived.

The hot chocolates were nice but expensive. The soup was ok but pretty salty and repeated on me all afternoon. The bread was dry and only one butter was given.

On the plus side, it was a nice warm and cosy place to sit and there was a kids play area that kept my two year old occupied.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J_Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Visited with my friend and our 2yr olds, lovely cakes and drinks, warm fire and toys for the kids to play with. The service was quick, all the cakes are homemade and very tasty. They have a really good range of vegan drinks and cakes as well.

Helpful?
Thank ceciliamarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“once is enough”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Called into this cafe on spec for afternoon tea based on the boards stating that they offered gluten free food.
Once inside it quickly became apparent that this extended to overpriced small portions of gluten free cakes, £3.50 for a small slice of dubious looking cake! I think not, we ordered tea which when it eventually arrived was weak and warm, staff distant and disinterested, we quickly finished our drinks and left, throughout the time we were there the staff behind the cake counter and in the kitchen were constantly involved in private conversations.
We will not be returning as there are many more places more deserving of custom on this pretty little town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyC525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Ordered panini and greek salad. Both were well presented and tasty. The humus was delicious! Drinks were hot chocolate with marshmallows which was warm and our opinion overpriced. The coffee was good but was a small cup. Staff were friendly and there was a pleasant atmosphere. Cakes looked tempting but uncovered on counter so did not try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jetsetters8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Organic House also viewed

Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Organic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing