We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced, small coffee, burnt milk, burnt coffee, nice environment”
Review of Organic House

Organic House
Ranked #40 of 67 Restaurants in Hebden Bridge
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Over priced, small coffee, burnt milk, burnt coffee, nice environment”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I live in Hebden Bridge and love the café culture. However Organic House just disappoints repeatedly.
Not sure where you think you are located but your pricing and portion size matches that of a large city......we are not a large city !
Cake portions are just too small for the price, the size of the coffees are also just far too small in relation to the price. A large coffee is just not large but compared to many cafes far and wide they would be classed as small if not very small .
Whilst I am on the coffee, why oh why do you always burn the roast and burn the milk. Please send your guys on a barista course if you insist on the prices.
The place is great, but the greed you display is such a shame as it just takes the shine off what is a great little business.
Come on guys, get with the programme, its all about the volume and the repeat business. Don't go down a dead end like Mooch has.........

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    47
    31
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Relaxing little cafe stop”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Called in for a drink after a long walk and got settled in with a nice pot of tea. The cakes looked lovely. The choices of tea and coffee were good. Comfy settees. Quite rustic inside. The smells wafting out of the kitchen were amazing. Would like to re visit to try a meal. Seems popular even on a wet Sunday afternoon in January. Thought prices were reasonable. Pot of tea for two was £2.70

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great for allergies and intolerances!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is a little yorkshire cafe, with a traditional core cafe menu of soup, breakfast egg dishes and sandwiches. Don't go expecting to be shown to your table or wowed by the sophistication. It's rustic, homely, cosy and does what it says on the tin.

Where it excels is in offering variations of these dishes suitable for anyone. Wheat free, dairy free, gluten free, vegan or (like me) the odd strange allergy; they bent over backwards to supply suitable food. My smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on wheat free was perfectly acceptable and a joy when it's so common even in London to end up with a salad in mid-winter.

So if you're looking for a warm place to get a filling bite before continuing a winter walk this place is recommended for Everyone. There aren't that many places you can say that about!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Poor service for lunch”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My brother and wife have just moved to Hebden Bridge, so we treated them to lunch at the cafe. Our lunches arrived at different times with such a lengthy wait that the soups were cold by the time the last of the food had arrived.

The hot chocolates were nice but expensive. The soup was ok but pretty salty and repeated on me all afternoon. The bread was dry and only one butter was given.

On the plus side, it was a nice warm and cosy place to sit and there was a kids play area that kept my two year old occupied.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Visited with my friend and our 2yr olds, lovely cakes and drinks, warm fire and toys for the kids to play with. The service was quick, all the cakes are homemade and very tasty. They have a really good range of vegan drinks and cakes as well.

Helpful?
Thank ceciliamarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Organic House also viewed

Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Organic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing