We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, has been better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Kinver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
“Not bad, has been better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We called here on a sunny Saturday lunch, we couldn't sit outside but there were plenty of tables inside.
After ordering our food and drink, we seemed to wait an age for the food. When it eventually arrived it was well presented and quite tasty. We had a ribeye steak sandwich, trout salad and a burger. All were quite pleasant but we have far better in there in the past. The service was ok.
All together our bill was just under £30 including 3 soft drinks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank vaso99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge. We really do appreciate your feedback.
Regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    95
    32
    32
    22
See reviews for
58
98
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Don't know were to start, but here goes, as soon as we walked in, asked for a high chair for our friends 2year old, said there was none available, walked around the corner by the bar, and there were 3 against the wall. THE FOOD well it was VILE, the FISH was FULL of BONES, the Sunday Roast was like rubber, the salmon was inedible, ALL was SENT BACK. As we were sitting having a drink, lost count of how many other tables were sending food back. The manager, well he was another story, completely and utterly not interested, so rude, cannot understand why the brewery employ him. Amazing location, won't be going back there in a hurry.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Steph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilkley hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

called in for a drink with my husband and got a shock at the prices. We glanced at the menus in case we wanted a meal sometime but i dont think we will bother everything seems overpriced it looks like you are paying for the name of the place as its been a popular pub and hotel for many years.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Four of us went out for a celebratory evening meal to the Cow and Calf Ilkley. It is a quaint looking pub/hotel in a great location which is a complete waste as it is run by a manager who has a severe chip on his shoulder and is very dismissive and flippant attitude to any opinions and problems you may have encountered during your stay or meal . I have eaten in many places from greasy joes to 5 stars in Dubai and I have never come across anyone so uninterested in your grievances after a poor meal. I am surprised to see that the restaurant has any scores above 2 stars. I shall not be returning ever again. The impression I get is that he is deliberately driving customers away as the way he treats them is disgusting. Here are just a few of our complaints on the night which were brushed aside as if it didn’t matter.

1. The meals were cold (served on cold plated)
2. Mixed grill egg yoke was decimated and fried rock hard
3. Frozen Chips (never used to be)
4. Lamb meal very small portion (I ordered it im glad my husband didn’t as he would have had to order it again) 3 very small potatoes …cold
5. 6 glasses of red wine were ordered during the course of the night 3 had to be sent back as they were filthy, someone’s lipstick and smudges all over them, I will be making a complaint to the food hygiene agency today as if this is what they are like at front of house what is the kitchen like. All in all a very unpleasant experience.



Visited May 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank micheIIe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

what an amazing location for a pub - shame everything from there on is a complete let-down. Although the beers were pretty tasty, and an average-ish price, the food was absolutely shocking! Myself and my fiance thought we'd treat ourselves after a lovely day of walking in ilkley - and spent £19 something on two mains. Advertised as high-end pub grub, it couldn't have been much worse. I would've felt disappointed but had less need to grumble if it had cost a fiver - but these meals are over a tenner! Straight from a freezer - the tasting platter was completely BEIGE, completely average deep-fried foods. Don't get me wrong, I love deep-fried food - but not when it has no flavour. Think they might've only just turned on the fryer - the chips were anaemic, and almost raw inside. Verdict - GREAT view, stop for a beer, but DO NOT PART WITH YOUR MONEY for this absolute daylight-robbery of a menu!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phoebeannryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed here on the Sunday before the first bank holiday in May, booked early and got the room for £42 for two adults and two kids (9 & 4).
Room was spacious, however it only had a shower, not the greatest inconvenience, however if you like yours baths.....
We used it as a base to walk over the rocks and down in to Ilkley which took about 45 minutes.
We ate in the restaurant late on the Sunday and was surprised they had everything on the menu, considering how busy they had been all day.
The continental breakfast was sufficient and set us up for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch with a friend this weekend at the cow and calf hotel,the setting is stunning and interior are just beautiful but once you get past the candy coating the food is a real letdown.
We ordered two sandwiches and chips that weren't cheap but sounded nice.we ordered at the bar,the first alarm bell rang when I asked for one of the sandwiches to be available in non seeded bread and was told this wasn't possible,I thought this was strange because surely If they were prepared fresh then a bread change would not be a problem?
The food arrived and the order was wrong they had given my friend a totally different sandwhich to what one he'd ordered but it was getting busy so we thought we would eat what was put infront of us,I had the the steak sandwich which was really disgusting didnt even taste like steak more like corned beef so weird,my friends sandwhich was awful and dry too and to add insult to injury when you ask for sauces someone brings them over and looms over you till you've chosen,why not leave them on the table so odd,we were itching to leave after this experience but thought lets have a latte coffee before we go they got that wrong aswell and brought two filter coffees from a machine that wouldn't look out of place in an all inclusive hotel!!!! Not fresh.
This pub is being run by kids who have no intrest in customer service and don't have a clue quite frankly.
I hope this hotel chain leave and a good independant moves in and gives this beautiful building and location the food and service it's deserves, by the way go look at the view and then take yourself s to the Wheatley pub in Ben ridding just down the road which is just wonderful,I live in ilkley and adore the cow and calf "Rocks"but not this disgrace of a pub/hotel.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Boothwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.8 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ilkley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Address: The Cow and Calf | Hangingstone Road, Ilkley LS29 8BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cow and Calf in Ilkley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our 13 bedroom Innkeeper's Lodge continues The Cow and Calf's tradition of welcoming travellers. It's our local charm that attracts historians and ramblers, as well as diners and drinkers from Ilkley and nearby Burley in Wharfedale, Denton and Askwith. We also welcome business and leisure travellers to enjoy some of the best bedrooms and accommodation in Ilkley. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.Book a table online and enjoy a spot by our roaring log-fire. Or make the best of the British summertime by eating alfresco in our pretty beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing