We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service-not bothered!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Service-not bothered!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here for a weekend break with friends. Having eaten here on many occasions when the food has been very good I was looking forward to a good weekend away with friends. The member of the bar staff(there didn't seem to be anyone concerned particularly with the residents!) who checked us in was extremely helpful and polite-after that I think we were actually an inconvenience. The rooms seemed to be a mixed bag-our room had a window with a view of the Cow and Calf rocks-if you stood on a neatly placed box, and no bath-or complimentary toiletries-only shower gel in a container attached to the wall!-our friends room was larger-with a bath, which was scratched and marked-when we asked a member of staff why there was a difference in the rooms he remarked "that's just the way it is!"
The welcome in the restaurant was in a similar vein- a member of staff actually asked how long we would be before we ordered food( we had reserved a table)because we had been there quite a long time and they would need the table-the restaurant was not full all night!!!!-if only we had known we would have driven down into Ilkley-,water glasses had to b sent back because they were marked and dirty and the food was awful-one pie was hard, one pie was half empty and the risotto was almost non existent!
Breakfast staff were much friendlier ,but there were glasses left from the night before both outside in the garden and in the restaurant! I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here as there were too many faults-and it appeared nobody to care!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Cow And Calf, Innkeeper's Lodge, Ilkley was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    97
    32
    35
    22
See reviews for
59
101
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birkdale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Appreciated views over Yorkshire. A hot day and Inn is situated on a hill where we could enjoy a beer in the beer garden. All Inns provide a good meal and you do not have to go out for a meal after a long drive. Secure car parking available.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have stayed here before and enjoyed the accommodation and food. But this time poor room, number 9 - avoid! No view - windows in the ceiling and low beams over the bed to bang your head on! In the restaurant diners were asking for a refund because of poor food. Ours was average to poor - last time it was great. A big disappointment - would we come again?

Room Tip: Avoid room 9!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
We are sorry that had disappointing stay at Innkeepers Lodge and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
Thank you.
Innkeeper’s Lodge Ilkley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilkley hotels

Portrush, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Booked in May for a trip to Ilkley in June. Asked for the easiest access room as I am on crutches ,therefore have limited mobility. On arrival we were allocated rooms at the very top in the attic. I asked why ,just told that was the one set aside for us!!! My husband set off with luggage, no offer of help and I tried to follow. Maybe the room was on the second floor but the stairs were extremely steep with turns in them, so it was the equivalent of 4 flights of normal stairs. Finally made it to1st floor,where we found the bar bathrooms, what about disabled toilets????? I just couldn't go any further. guests coming down the stairs were even asking if there was anything they could do to help - note, guests not staff.
I knew I couldn't make it to the room, so my husband went down to ask the manager would they please sort something for us.
Your answer, we don't have rooms on the ground floor. We were trying to explain that we had booked about 6 weeks previously stating that I had mobility problems and at least we would have expected rooms on the first not the second floor!! Answer from manager, We don't have rooms on the ground floor and that was the only room available. SO SIX weeks is not enough time to organise a room on floor one for a guest who asks for it. We voted with our feet and got our money back and left, less than impressed with the attitude and ability of management.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonibrown49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Ilkley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Such a missed opportunity for a great hotel location, but sadly our stay is not to be repeated! No welcome nor sign of anyone in charge, nor offer to help us with bags. A truly terrible breakfast, particularly if you don't like toast and packet cereal. Stale fruit and bread are not tempting items. A little choice would have been nice - fruit salad or eggs? The room was okay - basic but adequate with hot water and extra pillows and blankets, but no frills - not even a box of tissues! I don't really want to go on..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BathCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Ilkley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My Mum had previously been here and loved it so my husband and I thought we would give it a go and booked a room for a break away.
The location was perfect - shame it was a rainy day as it would have been lovely to sit outside but it didn't spoil it, we just made sure we had a window seat while we had a glass of fizzy!
We were checked in quickly and shown our room - a lovely size and dual aspect (Room 3).
We had a couple of drinks downstairs in the afternoon and then went and got ready before our evening meal.
The food was tasty and good sized portions. The Gourmet chips were really really good!!
The price of the food and drinks were also well priced. We really enjoyed our evening.
When booking we knew it was continental breakfast only - having stayed all over Europe and having had continental in a few different hotels I thought that would be fine....however my husband and I came over feeling rather underwhelmed and honestly a bit disappointed.
Previous continental breakfasts I have had might have included some cheese/ham/boiled egg machine/fruit salad/different breads but this was not the case here, it was toast or a shop bought muffin/cereal with warm milk/super strong coffee/fruit bowl/vanilla yoghurt.
I ate half a slice of toast and a slurp of coffee.
Definitely think they need to do something a little more for breakfast here. The rooms are priced between £60-£80 therefore not cheap to have included something a bit more tasty.

Room Tip: Room 3 has lovely views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Ilkley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Great views, with good atmosphere and plenty of covers. Down hill from there on. Too few staff who despite trying to be pleasant ( students on gap year types) were clueless and poorly trained. Waited 45 mins for a very simple order. The 'chef' had left chicken mayo bacon sandwich under heater whilst burgers and 'wraps' were being prepared. All lacked finesse . Sent dried out sandwich back to where it belonged. Oh dear! oh dear! Amateurish, poorly organised and under staffed....it's not rocket science to get this right. Wetherspoons would make a better fist of it than present owners, the food would be more adventurous (yes!) and staff better trained than this. To the management- If you have so many covers then make sure you have the staff to respond to demand. if you don't have the staff then reduce the covers. If its going to be sunny then be prepared.....you can take classes in all this sort of thing.......

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to the Restaurant and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Ilkley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.8 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
1.3 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
215 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Keighley
Travelodge Keighley
#3 of 6 in Keighley
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Address: The Cow and Calf | Hangingstone Road, Ilkley LS29 8BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cow and Calf in Ilkley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our 13 bedroom Innkeeper's Lodge continues The Cow and Calf's tradition of welcoming travellers. It's our local charm that attracts historians and ramblers, as well as diners and drinkers from Ilkley and nearby Burley in Wharfedale, Denton and Askwith. We also welcome business and leisure travellers to enjoy some of the best bedrooms and accommodation in Ilkley. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.Book a table online and enjoy a spot by our roaring log-fire. Or make the best of the British summertime by eating alfresco in our pretty beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing