We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Place With Superb Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here for one night but could easily have stayed longer!
We were given a Wharf view room which was very big and extremely clean with fantastic views across the Wharf Valley.
The room was very quiet and had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was the usual Innkeepers buffet style continental but for £6.95 you could order an absolutely huge English breakfast.
The pub food is also very good and a good selection of Ales also.
All in all I would say this is one of the nicest Innkeepers Lodges we have stayed at and the location (being literally across the road from Ilkley Moor and some stunning walks and views) is fantastic.
If I had one very minor gripe and it is minor really, it would be about the size of the TV in the bedroom which is out of keeping with the rest of the high standards. Overall hard to fault.

Room Tip: Wharf View family rooms are very large with stunning rooms and can be booked just for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NBD1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge, Ilkley and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here for a few days with my mother, and we were very happy with the standard of accomodation, which also offered very good value for money. The location is just spectacular, with breathtaking views across the valley and across to Ilkley moor. The moor is literally a few steps away from the front door, so a perfect location for anyone who likes walking. The accomodation is clean and has everything you need, including a menu innyour room so you can choose what you want for dinner before you go down. We were on a winter deal that included the cooked breakfast, however the included continental breakfast offered a good choice, and guests not on a special deal can opt in or out of the cooked option by paying a supplement. The pub was really cosy, with open fires frequently replenished by the attentive staff team, and everyone who worked there (including the bar cleaner in the morning) were really welcoming and friendly! The staff really do go out of their way to make you feel welcome, and that is one of the best features of this hotel. Food was of the usual good standard for a Vintage Inn pub, however you could take a short drive into Ilkley if you wanted more choice of places to eat. Well worth considering if you want reasonably priced accomodation, close to the quaint town of Ilkley - with a warm Yorkshire welcome!

Room Tip: We were in the Wharfdale room which offered fantastic views across the valley - well worth paying th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mad4Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Cow and Calf. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My boyfriend and I weren't sure what to expect after reading the mixed reviews online, but we decided to take a chance because we were only planning to stay one night. We left without any complaints and would be happy to return someday. The room was slightly on the small side but comfortable and clean, the staff was pleasant and attentive, the food was delicious, and the location is beautiful. We had a lot of fun walking on the moor opposite the hotel the next morning. If you're on the fence about trying the Cow and Calf Inn, I'd say give it a chance. We were glad that we did!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kestra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Cow and Calf, Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great location overlooking the moor. Room was a little on the small side but clean and comfortable. Food was fine and a good selection of beers on offer. We got a room on the Winter Offer and it was pretty excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GandolfTheTeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for reviewing our Innkeepers Lodge. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at The Cow and Calf, Innkeeper's Lodge, Ilkley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Went to the Cow and Calf for family sunday lunch. It is in a lovely setting and was extremely busy. The pub has a nice friendly country pub feel about it. The staff were friendly helpful and accommodating. Food was lovely and good value for money. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Cow and Calf and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here at the end of December 2013 as we were flying out of Leeds/Bradford airport the following day and so not knowing how good the weather would be, we made a reservation at the Cow and Calf as it is close-ish to the airport.
The hotel staff were very welcoming, there was a good choice of real ale type beers and wine and sensibly priced pub food. We managed to get one of the comfy leather seats to chill out after our meal which was a bit dangerous as it was located close to the bar so made it easy to keep sampling the drinks! The hotel room was perfect and considering it was over the bar area, we didn`t hear a thing. The prices are very good for the quality of the accommodation.
We really enjoyed our stay and would stay again when travelling from LB airport but the really clincher and one which should be applauded was what happened after we left.
When we got to our holiday destination, we found that we had left my wife`s I-Pad in the car at the airport. On returning two weeks later, we searched the car only to find nothing. We drove back to the Cow and Calf and I asked the guy at the bar if anyone had handed in an I-Pad. Sure enough, someone had and after checking that I knew the password he duly handed it over to me much to the delight of my wife. It turned out we had left it in our room when we left.
We really appreciated the honesty of the staff who having had no contact for 2 weeks, could easily have been tempted to just take it. In an often cynical world, it shows that there are honest people and this really was the best start to 2014 and was the icing on the cake to an already excellent experience at the Cow and Calf.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Just returned from two nights here when working in Ilkley and Leeds. First off, excellent staff. From Amy through to the duty manager and then to Barr and restaurant staff, all were excellent.
Food is top quality pub grub at very reasonable prices. The bar has a range of well kept real ales, the whole hotel is served by free wifi and there is plenty of car parking.

My only quibble was having to move rooms firstly when my bathroom door wouldnt unlock at 10.30 at night, then again the next day when my replacement room got redecorated while i was working! That said, the duty manager was great and very apologetic.

So would I return again? Yes I will. The hotel is in a beautiful position overlooking the moors, and i reckon that will be the perfect place to enjoy a beer garden pint or two on a warm summers evening

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to The Cow and Calf, Innkeeper's Lodge, Ilkley. We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.8 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
1.3 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
222 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley

Address: The Cow and Calf | Hangingstone Road, Ilkley LS29 8BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range: £70 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cow and Calf in Ilkley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our 13 bedroom Innkeeper's Lodge continues The Cow and Calf's tradition of welcoming travellers. It's our local charm that attracts historians and ramblers, as well as diners and drinkers from Ilkley and nearby Burley in Wharfedale, Denton and Askwith. We also welcome business and leisure travellers to enjoy some of the best bedrooms and accommodation in Ilkley. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.Book a table online and enjoy a spot by our roaring log-fire. Or make the best of the British summertime by eating alfresco in our pretty beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing