We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing- doesnt deserve its good reviews” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dalesway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dalesway Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ilkley
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing- doesnt deserve its good reviews”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This isnt an hotel. It is pub with rooms which are "student level" accomodation at best, Very overpriced. Lots of road noise. Comfortable bed but thats about it. Cheap garish furnishings. Jerry built wooden built in wardrodes with guests' abandoned coat hangers etc etc Mould around bathroom. very disappointed and surprised that this has so many good reviews. There must be better places to stay in Ilkley. I wouldnt go back.

PS great resturant next door.down the hill opposite the church- if only they did rooms!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank clanchiefminto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soccamatic, Owner at Dalesway Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
I am sorry that this guest did not like our lovely pub but, It clearly states on our website and on all sites on which we are featured, that we are a Traditional pub with rooms on the upper floors and in the town centre.

Therefore this guest's review was clearly based on their own wrong choice of venue.

Other guests would clearly disagree with the the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    60
    34
    14
    18
See reviews for
35
84
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amersham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The owner of this hotel needs to inspect the rooms ,especially the bathrooms and then invest in major refurbishment.There was black mould in our shower and washbasin. The room could best be described as minimalist and the linings in the drawers of the chest of 3 drawers were filthy.
Other guests whom I met were similarly appalled by their rooms
The staff were very helpful but must be aware of the problems.
We could not get breakfast before 09.00am and were not offered an alternative to a cooked breakfast before that time.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norman w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soccamatic, Owner at Dalesway Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
I note that you had 2 rooms booked for your stay and assume that you are referring to views of your party in your comments.
I can agree that these 2 bathrooms are in need of upgrading and will be done during the winter months.
I also note that at the time of booking, higher grade rooms were available for you to choose from.
However our rooms, regardless of grade, are cleaned to a very high standard.

On a final point, I hope that the empty 1.5 litre bottle of gin left in one of your rooms did not blur anyone's judgement !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed at the hotel over Halloween. I was upgraded to the Penthouse which had a jacuzzi bath, massager chair and large comfy bed. Room was really nice and staff were friendly. My only criticism would be the noise from the pub downstairs kept me up a little later than I'd of liked. Other than that a great place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Truewo1f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
418 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We popped in here (for the first time) the other lunchtime. It was around 1:45 and we were greeted by a very nice lady who straight away said that there was no hurry as lunch was served till 2:30 "so sit down and take your time".
There was plenty of choice and the food was nicely served and in big portions - try the fish medley platter.
This pub is probably on the wrong side of the main road to attract too many casual visitors which is a pity as it was well worth braving the traffic and we'll certainly be back.
Gentlemen must visit the toilets as there is a novelty in store.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imacbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had a great stay at the Dalesway Hotel. Friendly welcome, good food, lovely room. Good location for trips out. The owner Ian was helpful, as were all his staff. Jenna, Toby, Margaret to name a few. The breakfasts were very good value, as we're the evening meals. We would definitely stay again and recommend it to others. Paul and Susy of Chingford

Room Tip: Midweek a deluxe room is very good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights as a base for walking in the area. Staff are friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was showing signs of wear and was in need of a lick of paint. It was large however as was the bathroom. Breakfasts are extra but are worth it, being cooked fresh to order and a good start to the day. On-site parking is for two cars only but we had no problem finding a space on the adjacent road. Location is very central and for us the main road wasn't a problem for noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bimco63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed on the Saturday night. Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Took my bag to the room and gave me lots of helpful local information. Bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was first class.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.5 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ilkley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
0.3 mi away
Rombalds Hotel
Rombalds Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalesway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalesway Hotel

Property: Dalesway Hotel
Address: 1 Leeds Road, Ilkley LS29 8DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalesway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very centre of the pretty spa town of Ilkley, just a short walk from the railway station, serving award winning food in our restaurant & bar with excellent guest rooms on the upper floors. The Dalesway offers warm hospitality with a friendly atmosphere on the ground floor and accommodation with en suite guest rooms on the 2 upper floors. The large rooms are comfortable and well equipped with TVs. All of the rooms are en suite. A full cooked English breakfast is available at an additional cost. Generous and tasty pub food is served daily. Sunday night is our popular karaoke night, keep an eye out for special events. Privately owned, the Dalesway has a convenient location for visitors to Ilkley and the surrounding area. Wharfedale and the famous Ilkley Moor provide some of the finest countryside in the whole of England and the area is a haven for walkers and tourists throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dalesway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalesway Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing