We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dalesway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dalesway Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ilkley
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night. Bar was good, beer was good, one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in, staff were super friendly and the breakfast (the Dalesway breakfast is huge) awesome. Second time I have stayed and would highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 911Jon999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    60
    34
    14
    18
See reviews for
35
84
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay at the Dalesway Hotel. Its like being home! Owners and staff are very friendly and welcoming, making you feel relaxed.
Karaoke night is great fun on sunday night, locals seemed to be a fan of singing...which makes a great atmosphere.
The rooms are lovely, cozy comfy beds. Very clean and smelt fresh. We spent alot of time downstairs chilling on the sofas, reading the newspapers that are provided in the hotel.
Ended up having sunday lunch because couldn't resist the smell. Food was delicious. Was great to see the food displayed so we could help ourselves. The lady serving the meat was very generous.
Breakfast was also lovely...poached eggs were cooked to perfection.

Will definitely be back. :) ♥Ilkley♥

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Dalesway Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Many thanks for your kind words which I am happy to say is what most guests think of our small pub/hotel business.
It helps cheer up the staff who were disgusted by the comments made in the previous review.
Thank you once again.

Ian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Ask to see your room before you part with the well overpriced £65 per night for this £30 per night flop house. The first thing to greet you at the stairs to the two floors of rooms is the heavy smell of dog, and sure enough a big black dog lives on the first landing! If you are working in the area as I was, make alternative arrangements for breakfast as they start serving at 09:30 we found very good alternatives for each of the 5 days we stayed. The same for evening meals there are brilliant places to eat in Ilkley, but this is not one of them. The room we had was dirty and dimly lit (40 Watt) so being able to work in the room (reading or writing) was impossible, besides there was no table top to use. The wardrobe is built under the eaves of the attic room we had, and you cannot use it without bending quite low and or banging your head on the roof. The beds have seen better days; the pillows are beyond their sell by date. The quilts on the bed are small and very light (cheap) and fall off at the slightest movement. The bathroom has been due a refurb for a very long time black mold in the shower and sink and a shower that is disappointing, we had room 5; for Pete’s sake fit a sliding door to the bathroom as its very difficult to get in when the door just misses the shower sink and hits the W.C.! And while you’re fixing that; move the glass shelf over the sink up so you can actually get your face close to the sink! You might also think of repairing the over sink light and shaver point and clean the filth off it! During our week in Ilkley the locals we spoke to had nothing good to say about the place. The one and only good point is the bath towels are huge. When this place was known as the Star the rooms were £30 which is spot on and I would never book at that level, so new name and double the prices! Overall; the only bad thing we encountered in North Yorkshire.

Room Tip: Add a tip to help travellers choose a good room =Find rooms in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank partyhartyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Dalesway Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
These guests were offered breakfast which they declined.
How they can have the nerve to comment on our food when they didn't even spend a single penny on food here is beyond belief.

They stayed during the quietest time of year(mid January) and yet did not mention one word of a complaint about anything. Alternative rooms were readily available.

There has been a hotel on this site for 300 years. Perception of what is a hotel has been changed by others (eg Travelodge) not us. We are the authentic Hotel/Inn, offering rooms, a pub atmosphere, award winning food, parking for cars even got the original stables for horses for overnight stays.
The pub name was changed almost 10 years ago so get your facts right.

I like Trip Advisor and support it's purpose but a review like this is just what we in Yorkshire call "TRIPE".

We have a brilliant small pub/hotel here. Read all the reviews, check the website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

As three couples we really enjoyed our one night stay on New Years Eve 2013
And Ian & the team are very friendly & helpful & made us feel very welcome
Ian also gave us some good advise on places to drink & eat in Ilkley.
The rooms are very big & nice & clean with tea & coffee making facility's .
And the pirates of the Caribbean themed party & fancy dress night was brill :)
So keep up the good work & if we visit Ilkley again we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We where in room 3 which was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and much appreciated early check in. Good BB for the money. Nice good value breakfast. Very centrally located and lots of parking on the street. Would recommend it for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greeceforme_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here for one night because of its central location. We booked the penthouse room which was indeed on the top floor but this is where any similarities to a penthouse end. The room was spacious and could have been much better but the attention to detail was very poor. There was mould round the bathroom sealant the toilet roll holder was loose, the white painted bed had big scratches on it etc. we paid £120 which didn't include breakfast and I think it was worth £50-60 with breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a cheap double , it's probably the right priced what you will get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tophatfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian c, Owner at Dalesway Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We are very proud of our Penthouse room. It is the most popular room that we have. As I write this response, there are guests just checking out who totally disagree with the review. To suggest that a room with a Jacuzzi bath, huge tempur bed, leather sofa, leather massage chair etc. Is only worth £50 is ridiculous beyond belief. I suggest the reviewer should go spend £50 on a B&B in say Blackpool and see what he gets! Happy New Year to everyone reading this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Enjoyed a 1 night stay at the Dalesway and found it very good value for money. If returning to Ilkley would definitely book in again. Very friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast was extra but again plenty of choice and good value. We were served very promptly. The room we had was at the top of the hotel. Very spacious and views towards the Cow and Calf. The hotel is central to Ilkley so very handy for wandering around the town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.5 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ilkley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
1.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Rombalds Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 0 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalesway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalesway Hotel

Property: Dalesway Hotel
Address: 1 Leeds Road, Ilkley LS29 8DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalesway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very centre of the pretty spa town of Ilkley, just a short walk from the railway station, serving award winning food in our restaurant & bar with excellent guest rooms on the upper floors. The Dalesway offers warm hospitality with a friendly atmosphere on the ground floor and accommodation with en suite guest rooms on the 2 upper floors. The large rooms are comfortable and well equipped with TVs. All of the rooms are en suite. A full cooked English breakfast is available at an additional cost. Generous and tasty pub food is served daily. Sunday night is our popular karaoke night, keep an eye out for special events. Privately owned, the Dalesway has a convenient location for visitors to Ilkley and the surrounding area. Wharfedale and the famous Ilkley Moor provide some of the finest countryside in the whole of England and the area is a haven for walkers and tourists throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Dalesway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalesway Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing