We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wheatley Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wheatley Arms
Ranked #2 of 9 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elland, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mixed reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I had mixed feelings about my stay at the Wheatley Arms, it has the potential to be a fantastic B&B but the bits that let it down meant that disappointingly I couldn't give it a better rating at this time.

I had booked an evening in a luxury suite. My husband & I were given the keys to our room and we went up to find that it had not been cleaned from the previous occupants to the extent that the bath was still full of their dirty water and used towels were strewn all over the unmade bed. Two of the bar staff dealt with this amazingly!! They offered us a complimentary drink in the bar and cleaned them room themselves, they did offer us a different room but the only other luxury room left didn't have a bath in the room so we opted to wait. They did a great job and the room was lovely so we didn't let that affect our stay.

Later on we headed down to the restaurant for dinner only to be told that as we hadn't booked they couldn't seat us. It may have been naive to assume that as residents in the B&B we would have been accommodated but as we were dealt with by 2 separate members of staff on our arrival due to the room incident, they both explained at times for the meals but neither mentioned that we would need to book. Never the less they offered us the same menu in the bar area and told us to take a seat whilst they brought us menus & drinks. We got the feeling that being in the bar and out of the way we were forgotten about a fair bit. We waited for about 15 minutes for our menus and drinks, then a further 35 minutes before someone took our order. We were just about ready to walk out and order a pizza instead! Well over an hour later we finally received our starters.

When the food finally was served we were glad we waited as it was delicious, however the following morning the full English breakfast that my husband had apparently was not very good at all and he left having barely touched it. My eggs benedict was ok, no complaints but no real compliments to speak of either.

All in all the room was very good for the price we paid and the staff that we came into contact with were all very polite and friendly but I feel that the service suffered somewhat in parts and this really let our overall stay down.

I would put this down to bad luck and I would return again in the future in the hope that these problems had been ironed out.

Room Tip: Room 10 is lovely!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slf1983_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hi,
Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor. Firstly I do remember the day you arrived. It was a total error on our behalf that the Housekeeping Department had not serviced your room on arrival but I will agree with you that the boys did a sterling job getting it ready for you whilst you had a drink,so huge apologies for that.

When guests do book with us we do not automatically book tables in the Restaurant unless advised to do so. We have a wide variety of guests staying with us albeit,business,families,friends, wedding parties etc. At most times even if a booking is made on arrival a table in the Restaurant would not be a problem. On the night you were with us we had 2 "post" Christmas Parties going on so had limited availability. I am sorry if you felt you were not looked after. That is certainly not how we wish to do things here at The Wheatley
Please dont be put off!! When you visit again we will make sure everything is "Tip Top"

Kind Regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    74
    37
    13
    13
See reviews for
39
204
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Each time we have dined here there has been various dishes on the menu not available which is disappointing as the menu is also very limited. After coming here for a year or two i think this is something they need to address as i see a lot of others notice this too. Never-the-less the food is tasty and well presented and the staff are very helpful too. The Wheatley is in a lovely location and has lovely modern decor.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveT198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hello..
In response to your recent review there are some days when due to the volume of customers we do run out of certain dishes on the menu. Sometimes it is very difficult to gage how many people we will serve in a day,especially on a Sunday when we run the full menu from 12.00 till 7.30pm. As all our food is fresh not frozen unfortunately once it has gone, its gone so to speak. However we do pride ourselves on having a rather extensive menu, so even if we do run out of some dishes there are plenty of other things to choose from.
Come along and see us again some time and hopefully we will have everything on!

Kind Regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely room and breakfast. Only thing which needs improvement is that it needs to be clearer in the obline booking process as to when payment us taken - after putting credit card details in online we were surprised to have to pay when checking out, but the staff were polite and helpful about it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
When booking on line card details are taken to secure the room booking only. I do understand that this may be quite mis-leading. We are contacting our booking agents to see if there is something that can be done.

Kind Regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a perfect Christmas getaway at the Wheatley arms. From start to finish we received excellent service and this place really made our first Christmas as a married couple very special.

Check in was quick and efficient and our room was lovely. Lots of daft little touches that make this place stand out from the crowd- I.e. Proper mugs in the room, Yorkshire tea bags (not cheap rubbish!) and robes in the room. The price was very reasonable for the modernly decorated and very clean room.

The staff were bubbly, friendly and attentive- exactly what you want in a 'proper pub'! Good banter, good atmosphere but still an air of professionalism about the place.

Food here was awesome! Don't get me started on the scrambled eggs and pancakes! Xmas day food was beautiful, courses were well spread out but this suited us perfectly, no one wants to rush through Xmas dinner!!

A special thanks to Kate the bubbly lady who went out of her way to make sure everyone was happy. Steve who was very helpful during booking and let us chill with a real ale on Xmas night with his adorable pooch and finally the lovely wee blonde girl who served our breakfast on Xmas day - very helpful and friendly and started our Xmas day off on the right note!

All in all a very comfortable, laid back and memorable Christmas here. If this is how good a place performs under pressure at such a busy time it shows excellent management and what a good team they are. We will most certainly be back.

Thank you very much

The Botwrights xx

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanipoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Hello The Botwrights!!!!
Thank you so much for your glowing response. We have experienced an exceptionally busy Christmas and New Year period and when we get reviews like this one it does make everything so worth while... All the Team here have worked very hard and we are all so glad that we helped to make your stay with us a memorable one.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon..

CHEERS!!!!!!!

Kate, Team Wheatley and of course not forgetting our lovely pooch Jack!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Our food we wanted was not all available we had to change our order several times when the food came only half the /meals camewaiter said they hadmixed the order up with another table andthe chef would have prepare the food again .When my meal came it was cold and was left .My wife had fish pie she did not enjoy it .She said shehad better food at Morrisons cafe We were all very disapointed WILL NOT GO AGAIN

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Oh dear. What a shame you feel you have had to leave it some 4 months after your visit to complain, for what seems to have been a catalogue of errors with your food and service, yet none of us can recall or remember any major complaints?? There is always myself or my Deputy Manager on duty. Perhaps something should of been mentioned at the time.

Ah well our loss and Morrisons gain!!

Best Wishes
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome. We were shown to our room by a lovely girl who also booked us a taxi for us for later that evening. The room was nicely furnished and there was quality treats( flapjack, chocolate brownies) on the tea tray.
Our taxi didn't turn up so the manager/owner did no more than get her car and take us to our destination herself. Sadly we only experienced breakfast here, but that was beautifully presented and the service was yet again second to none.
Family atmosphere and great location

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManicDepressive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you VERY much indeed for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We all enjoyed having a "chit chat" with you both and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kate and all the Team @ The Wheatley Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We love the Wheatley. Kate and her team are always very welcoming and service is excellent. The early bird offers great value and the a la carte and specials add to the choice! I would recommend visiting (and booking) on a Sunday as the roasts are to die for and there is always a warm family atmosphere about the place, we usually visit later in the day and stay for the quiz which is always great fun :)
They also have the most gorgeous hotel rooms all individually styled and at a good price too.
Thanks for being fab and we look forward to christmas time with you again (it was gorgeous last year....you need to give the interior designer a raise!)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazzle212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Well Sazzle!! What more can we say..........THANK YOU . Its great to see you love every aspect of The Wheatley.We do too!!!! Very much looking forward to seeing you again at Christmas.. But please don't mention the "Raise"!!I will never hear the last of it!!!

Kindest Regards
Kate and "Team Wheatley"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.7 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ilkley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Rombalds Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 0 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ilkley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
5.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatley Arms

Property: The Wheatley Arms
Address: Wheatley Lane | Ben Rhydding, Ilkley LS29 8PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Wheatley Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatley Arms Hotel Ilkley
The Wheatley Arms Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing