We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wheatley Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wheatley Arms
Ranked #2 of 9 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

A one night stay was an excellent, relaxing break. The room was quite spacious, well equipped and tastefully decorated with a large private terrace. The evening meal was up to the usual high standards in the pleasant atmosphere of the pub which also has real ales and a good wine list. The staff are friendly and efficient. Ilkley is a charming place to wander round and a great base for walks on the moors or along the river. Overall great value.

Room Tip: Only tried room 3. Walk in shower, two windows plus French windows to the terrace. Large bed, sofa a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Geoff

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback, we are all pleased you enjoyed a relaxing break with us! We are very proud of our rooms and the atmosphere in the restaurant and bar areas, and it is nice to know this comes across to our guests as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards

Steve & all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    74
    36
    13
    13
See reviews for
38
202
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

My wife and I recentley had a one night stay in the Wheatly Arms near Ilkley. The decor through out the hotel is lovely and helps to create a relaxed atmosphere. The bar area is superb. We stayed on a friday night and a lot of local people came to enjoy a meal which is always a good sign. There is a specials menu which costs about thirteen pounds for three courses but is only available up to 7pm, We ate from the normal evening menu which was really enjoyable and good value. The breakfast which was included in the price was lovely there was plenty of choice, it was well presented and of high quality.

We stayed in room seven which was very spacious with a large wet room. The room was very clean and up to date The bed was comfortable. We had tea making facilities at our disposal.

The staff were very good and they went out of their way to help us to enjoy our stay.

We booked our room at a special rate of seventy pounds which was a bargain. We plan to return to the hotel in the summer with our grandchildren and takie them swimming to the outdoor pool in ilkley

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback

We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your comments onto the team. We very often have special offers available through our own website, and if you need assistance on booking on your return in the summer please do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Steve & all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I wanted somewhere special to surprise my husband, and as we visit the Tempest Arms often I thought that it would be nice to try one of the sister hotels. We weren't disappointed!

I booked room 4 (described as the Honeymoon Suite), because of the in-room bath and roof terrace. I wasn't expecting it to be quite a lovely as it actually is, the room is very ornate and luxurious and the bath is huge. It was a little cold to use the roof terrace but it is large and quite private, gorgeous for use in warmer weather. We loved the decoration of the room, the huge comfortable bed and the bathroom with its fantastic power shower.

We were very warmly welcomed to the hotel, particularly by Michelle who seemed to be everywhere! She was running the bar, checking people in and then serving at both dinner and breakfast. Despite all this she never once stopped smiling and was extremely helpful throughout our visit.

We ate dinner in the hotel, and were delighted to discover that the food was absolutely excellent. Same high standards as the Tempest but less rustic and a little more fine-dining. My husband ordered the pork plate and has been talking about it ever since! Food, wine and service were wonderful and we felt very relaxed as we sat in the bar by the (real) fire. Gorgeous.

We loved it here and will be returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Room 4 is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback,

We are all pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I have passed your kind comments onto the team, Michelle in particular! Hopefully on your next visit you will be able to enjoy one of our terraces in the sunshine!

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind Regards

Steve & all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Very pleasant stay - super food - good value set menu - I had potted meat, bacon chop and crème brulle for £13 - great atmosphere - comfortable room with lovely bedding - friendly staff - we will be back!!

Room Tip: Room 2 had a lovely terrace - v nice bed and super shower with lovely towelling robe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback,

We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon, hopefully next time the weather will be better so you can enjoy one of our terraces in the sunshine!!

Kind Regards

Steve & all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at the Wheatley Arms for four nights at the end of January 2014. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. The food was good with a wide choice on the menu. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We had a very pleasant stay and expect to return when we visit Yorkshire in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnanddory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback,

We are all pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Yorkshire!

Kind Regards

Steve & all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend booked this b&b as a surprise for me after a stressful few weeks, after coming home and reading the recent reviews on unhappy staff and other negative comments.. I begin to wonder whether these people were in the same place we were!


We stayed for one night and had a meal in the restaurant at night, we opted for one starter to share which was a special of king prawns, it was gorgeous and just enough for us both to start with. I then opted for venison which was cooked to perfection along with the mash and veg.. Very impressed. My partner chose the duck off the main menu which he also thoroughly enjoyed! I do believe that the price of a glass of when was rather expensive but as we chose bottles I didn't think the prices were bad!

The room itself was relatively small, but as we just wanted a get away it was ample for what we needed it for, all of it was extremely clean and there were little parts of the room that were decorated with good details.

We found the staff to be extremely welcoming and very helpful in all aspects from arrival, dinner, breakfast and upon leaving and the manager should be very proud of their team!

We both opted for a full English for breakfast, which admittedly could of done with an extra sausage or more than one slice of bacon, nether the less, we we're greeted and immediately asked whether we wanted tea or coffee, both the food and drink were very swift at arriving

The place as a whole is in perfect location, with friendly staff, well worth the money and we shall definitely be visiting again as well as recommending to numerous people

Thank you for main our weekend so nice!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katiej27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you very much for your very kind review..

We are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Having previously submitted a positive review after one (of two) successfull large group lunches at The Wheatley Arms this is slightly more downbeat. Two of us went on a Monday night for an early "Inset" value for money) meal. The food was perfectly satisfactory for its cost. Where the bill mounts is for the drinks. The Wheatley do price highly for wine, some of it indifferent. The table service was somewhat cheerless, albeit functional.

On the positive side, the refurbishment of the public rooms downstairs in the hotel was excellent, the decor is still fine, the bar and restaurant are spacious and the bar service is very good.

Overall though, all in you can dine out better in Ilkley for better value for money elswhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, General Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Having read your previous Trip Advisor Review I am a little bemused as to the wine comment. Our wine list has not changed for over 12 months yet you previously commented that the wine was good and fairly priced.

We do think we are very competetive price wise with other establishments in the area and do offer good value for money.
Will look into the "cheerless" staff. We all like to think we are happy and chatty with all our customers. I will endevour to find out who it was and cheer them up.

Kind Regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.7 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ilkley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ilkley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rombalds Hotel
Rombalds Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
5.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatley Arms

Property: The Wheatley Arms
Address: Wheatley Lane | Ben Rhydding, Ilkley LS29 8PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Wheatley Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatley Arms Hotel Ilkley
The Wheatley Arms Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing