We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wheatley Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wheatley Arms
Ranked #2 of 9 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A gem of a find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Warm, friendly welcome. Keen, enthusiastic, helpful young staff. Extremely comfortable room, well furnished with lots of useful things for the traveller. Imaginative, creative dinner menu. High quality cuisine (we live in France most of the year). Wide choice of wines with many available by the glass. Very good breakfast. The Wheatley Arms enjoys a quiet location ensuring a good night's sleep for all. We spent only one night there but are planning to come back later in the year for a longer stay.

A real gem of a find.

Room Tip: Room 9 at the top has views over the Wharfe valley and is VERY quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTH242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay with us.

We were all so pleased to hear how much you had enjoyed your time at the Wheatley Arms, and will look forward to welcoming you back later in the year for a longer stay!

Kind Regards

Steve & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    74
    36
    13
    13
See reviews for
38
202
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

great place, top food, excellent customer service, rooms are well kept and well appointed, breakfast is amazing......nothing too much trouble for any of the staff, have stayed there for business and leisure and treated equally on all occasions.

Room Tip: rooms with baths at end of bed.....fantastic....novel, romantic etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevelarbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi Steve

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave some feedback about your stays at the Wheatley Arms! Its always nice for us when guests that stay regularly on business enjoy it so much they want to come back and have a relaxing break as well! I have passed your kind comments onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Steve & all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

What a lovely hotel! Location is excellent and situated in the small village of Ben Rhydding. Our room number was 10, gorgeous decor in the style of 'shabby chic', very comfy big bed and excellent shower! The room had a very homely feel and had everything in it we could possibly need. Once unpacked we went down to the bar for a few drinks which was very relaxing. The decor throughout the hotel was excellent and everything was very clean. We dined in the restaurant in the evening which was perfect. Again the decor was so nice and the chairs we dined on were so comfy. I would give the food 7/10. The menu was excellent and there was plenty of choice, the wine was very nice also, however £8.00 per glass of red wine i thought was a little steep. Breakfast the following day was very nice and was included in with our stay. I had eggs benedict which was lovely. I will definitely be revisiting The Wheatley Arms and be recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abbydabbydoo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay with us,

We are all so pleased you enjoyed your break with us and appreciated the individual décor of the hotel rooms and public areas! With regards to the wine list we have an extensive range of wines and varying prices, £8.00 does seem a little steep for a large glass but this would have been at the 'top end' of our list and our house wines are substantially less.

We look forward to seeing you again soon, please let me know if you would like to request Room 10 again on your next visit, or try one of our other rooms, some of the Luxury Suites feature stand alone Bathtubs in the room as well!

Many Thanks

Steve & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed at the Wheatley Arms for 2 nights for my girlfriend's birthday. The luxury room was fantastic, and had a large bath in the bedroom! The large bed was very comfortable, but the pillows were pretty hard. These were replaced for us on the second night after I spoke to someone on reception. We had dinner there on the first night, and I would definitely recommend the fish sharing platter to start and a nice bottle of Sancere. After going to bed, we woke to a strange intermittent beeping sound that happened every 20-30 mins or so. We tried our best to ignore but didn't sleep particularly well. I spoke to reception in the morning and was told someone would look into it. The beep was still there in the evening when we returned form a day out, so I spoke to reception again before going out for dinner. That night, the beep was still there so the night porter moved us to a different room and that they had been having problems with this for a while. Apart from this we had a really lovely stay and would be happy to book there again in the future (minus the beeping room!). They also knocked the price of a night's stay off the bill. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: make sure to ask if the beeping problem has been fixed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gareth o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Gareth

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay with us. I would like to apologise again for the 'beeping' sound that disturbed your sleep on both nights, and am glad it didn't ruin the whole weekend for you both. An electrician has already been round and is returning at the end of the week to ensure the problem is fixed once and for all.

We would love to welcome you back again and please feel free to contact us directly on rebooking so we can assure you the issue has been resolved

Kind Regards

Steve & all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirralocation not found.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stopped here jan 2014 had a few concerns regarding cleanliness rather than fill in the feedback form in the bedroom I wrote personally to the manager on 2 occasions as of the 01/03 /14 no reply [ very heavy dust on top of wardrobe which came down like a snowstorm when I placed the case on top of it also decorations of cobwebs over the bed and lamp shades welcome tray mugs stained and this was an upgrade room if you have a dust allergy this place is not for you. BEST PLACE FOR FEEDBACK CARD IS IN THE BIN.
because if they cant be bothered to reply to your concerns that's where the cards will probably end up

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi John

Please thank Mrs Brown for taking the time to contact me directly regarding the issues you have raised here. I would like to apologise again for the delay in anyone responding to your feedback, as I explained I have only recently taken up the management of the hotel and upon finding your letter attempted to reply as speedily as possible.

I would like to assure you that we have taken steps to deal with these issues, and by introducing systems that guarantee each bedroom receives 'deep cleaning' once a month to combat the build up of dust and other cleaning issues. We are very proud of our accommodation and it is always helpful for people to point out areas that can get overlooked, as we do not want our standards to slip.

As I mentioned on the telephone please contact me directly on rebooking by emailing info@wheatleyarms.co.uk, as we would love to welcome both yourselves and your friends back to the Wheatley.

Kind Regards

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights midweek. Great rooms with stylish decor(luxury room). Fab breakfasts with good service. Ate in restaurant both evenings and loved our food. Again service was attentive and prompt. Good choice of well kept ales.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paleninteresting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback

We are all so pleased you enjoyed your mini break with us, and that our home cooked food hit the spot! Our selection of real ales rotates weekly with a few permanent beers, so hopefully on your next visit you will be able to enjoy some new ones as well!

Kind Regards

Steve & all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This place is an absolute treat. A cosy lounge & bar area, comfortable rooms, friendly staff & delicious menu serving up generous portions. A short but rather uphill walk brings you directly to the Cow & Calf rocks & some of the best Yorkshire scenery you can hope for - but if the weather is unkind, holing up in this comfortable bolt hole is a real pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback

A lot of our guests book with us with the intention of walking on Ilkley Moor (Bar T'at) and view the stunning panoramic views. It's nice to know that even when the weather does not permit this, they can still enjoy a relaxing break with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in sunnier times!

Kind Regards

Steve & all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.7 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ilkley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ilkley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rombalds Hotel
Rombalds Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
5.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatley Arms

Property: The Wheatley Arms
Address: Wheatley Lane | Ben Rhydding, Ilkley LS29 8PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Wheatley Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatley Arms Hotel Ilkley
The Wheatley Arms Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing