We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very late booking. Very pleasant surprise.”
Review of The Wheatley Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wheatley Arms
Ranked #2 of 10 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We wanted to stay for one night near to Ilkley but I didn't start to look for accommodation until two days before we were due to arrive in the area. I got a shock to see that nearly everywhere was fully booked. Feeling that I had no time to research as thoroughly as I would normally like to do, I quickly clicked on an available room in this hotel.

By the way - hotels in the area will be even more in demand on 4th and 5th July this year because of the 'grand départ' of the Tour de france.

The room was lovely.... it was not decorated in traditional 'hotel-style' but had a crisper, more modern look. Lovely bathroom, also (I did point out in the hotel's questionnaire that something more substantial than voile at the window would be preferable - but don't think that is sufficient to downgrade my rating).

We had not intended to eat in the restaurant but, having arrived a bit later than expected, we decided to book a table - the really helpful and friendly young staff members managed to juggle things and they got us a table within twenty minutes (it was a Friday evening). The menu was excellent and the food was cooked to order and delicious.

One further thing - there was a DVD and large flat screen TV - so we sorted out our own viewing for the evening ('Breaking Bad) - which was better than relying on what was on television!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPE1427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent stay with us

It was lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your evening at the Wheatley Arms, particularly as you only booked it a couple of days before! We are actually about to commence some 'touching up' on the interiors and are looking to install some blinds in the bathroom of Room 5.

As you quite rightly pointed out most hotels in the area are fully booked for the Tour de France coming through Ilkley & Ben Rhydding on the first weekend in April, however there are a number of campsites operating in the are as well, nearby to us on the route the Ben Rhydding Sports Club are operating such a campsite over the weekend which may be of interest to people.

We are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Steve & all the team

PS Great choice with 'Breaking Bad'!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Wheatley Arms twice now. We have also stayed at the other Inns in the Company. Our recent stay at the Wheatley was as before, excellent. We always come away feeling relaxed, well rested, and really well fed. A large part of the success of this Inn as well as others in the group is the quality of the staff, they are welcoming and professional in the way they relate to customers and seem to really put themselves out to make your stay an enjoyable one. The Wheatley is classy without being pretentious and this is reflected in both the rooms and the food offering. Ilkley is a great location for site seeing and falls within easy reach
of the beautiful Yorkshire dales but also within the business conurbation of Leeds and Harrogate.
My only reservation about writing such a glowing report for this and other individual inns is that
it will serve only to make it harder for me to secure a booking!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but those on upper levels can get a little warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review on your recent stay with us, it was great to hear that you have enjoyed previous visits here and across the other inns in our group as well.

I have passed your kind comments on to the staff as well and we look forward to seeing you at one of our Individual Inns again soon!

Kind Regards

Steve & all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Two nights last week on a golfing break and a very pleasant surprise. This is a working pub with an enthusiastic local support and excellent little hotel. Comfortable room was spotless but quite a climb up a rather steep stair to the second floor, might be worth asking for lower. But food made it special. Imaginative menu, informal setting of the bar or more formal in a restaurant booth. Excellent wines at realistic price was a great feature.
Breakfast was individually prepared and perfect.
Warm welcome, could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: First floor makes sense if you have a heavy case
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmills1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave some feedback on your recent visit to the Wheatley Arms.

It was lovely to hear that you had enjoyed your stay so much; as you quite rightly pointed out there are quite a few stairs to get up to the second floor (but worth it when you do!), and we are always happy to advise guests on which rooms are more accessible and can allocate them accordingly.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards

Steve & all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed last Sunday evening 16 March 2014. Excellent room, friendly and helpful staff - really welcoming! We ate in the restaurant and had a delicious meal - breakfast the following morning was also top notch- cooked to order and superb choice.We will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 -a luxury room, but they are all individual and looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike19Golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave such lovely comments on your recent stay with us, we were all pleased to hear you had enjoyed your visit. I was particularly glad to hear you liked Room 12 as its my personal favourite!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Steve & all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Warm, friendly welcome. Keen, enthusiastic, helpful young staff. Extremely comfortable room, well furnished with lots of useful things for the traveller. Imaginative, creative dinner menu. High quality cuisine (we live in France most of the year). Wide choice of wines with many available by the glass. Very good breakfast. The Wheatley Arms enjoys a quiet location ensuring a good night's sleep for all. We spent only one night there but are planning to come back later in the year for a longer stay.

A real gem of a find.

Room Tip: Room 9 at the top has views over the Wharfe valley and is VERY quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTH242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay with us.

We were all so pleased to hear how much you had enjoyed your time at the Wheatley Arms, and will look forward to welcoming you back later in the year for a longer stay!

Kind Regards

Steve & All the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

great place, top food, excellent customer service, rooms are well kept and well appointed, breakfast is amazing......nothing too much trouble for any of the staff, have stayed there for business and leisure and treated equally on all occasions.

Room Tip: rooms with baths at end of bed.....fantastic....novel, romantic etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevelarbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Hi Steve

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave some feedback about your stays at the Wheatley Arms! Its always nice for us when guests that stay regularly on business enjoy it so much they want to come back and have a relaxing break as well! I have passed your kind comments onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Steve & all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

What a lovely hotel! Location is excellent and situated in the small village of Ben Rhydding. Our room number was 10, gorgeous decor in the style of 'shabby chic', very comfy big bed and excellent shower! The room had a very homely feel and had everything in it we could possibly need. Once unpacked we went down to the bar for a few drinks which was very relaxing. The decor throughout the hotel was excellent and everything was very clean. We dined in the restaurant in the evening which was perfect. Again the decor was so nice and the chairs we dined on were so comfy. I would give the food 7/10. The menu was excellent and there was plenty of choice, the wine was very nice also, however £8.00 per glass of red wine i thought was a little steep. Breakfast the following day was very nice and was included in with our stay. I had eggs benedict which was lovely. I will definitely be revisiting The Wheatley Arms and be recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbydabbydoo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay with us,

We are all so pleased you enjoyed your break with us and appreciated the individual décor of the hotel rooms and public areas! With regards to the wine list we have an extensive range of wines and varying prices, £8.00 does seem a little steep for a large glass but this would have been at the 'top end' of our list and our house wines are substantially less.

We look forward to seeing you again soon, please let me know if you would like to request Room 10 again on your next visit, or try one of our other rooms, some of the Luxury Suites feature stand alone Bathtubs in the room as well!

Many Thanks

Steve & All the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.7 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
1.1 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
220 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatley Arms

Address: Wheatley Lane | Ben Rhydding, Ilkley LS29 8PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range: £74 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Wheatley Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatley Arms Hotel Ilkley
The Wheatley Arms Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing