We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“65th Birthday trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“65th Birthday trip”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

A trip back to Ilkley where I was born found me staying at the Riverside Hotel with my wife. With fine surroundings and a homely atmosphere suited us well. The breakfast was superb, as were the meals we took there. Nothing was a problem, and would go back at any time. Within easy reach of the town, and great countryside around.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    103
    39
    18
    10
See reviews for
43
97
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
74 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Well placed beside the river and only a short walk into town. Rather more a pub with rooms but no complaints about the room which was clean and a reasonable size. We did not eat in for dinner but the breakfast was pretty standard fayre. Ideally located for the Dalesway which we were about to start.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We had a really lovely two-night wedding anniversary stay at this homely and welcoming hotel. Its in a super spot just by the river and within easy walking distance into Ilkley to potter about the town. We had a lovely room with a very nice en-suite bathroom. The food was excellent - breakfast with first class ingredients and enough to keep you going all day. We had the best fish and chips we have had for years - really good batter and home made chips and a super creme brulee - not always easy to get right. The staff and locals in the bar could not have been more welcoming and we only wished it was up the road from home to pop into of an evening for a drink. I was mortified when during our stay my husband managed to tip a cup of coffee all over the duvet and bedding and the owner could not have been more understanding. In a great spot for touring around the Dales and time permitting we will definitely return and will tell our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Arrived here thinking it would be something completely different from all the positive reviews?

£80 gets you a reasonable size room fitted out with 1984 Argos furniture and decoration to match this vintage year!

Not too sure about the food as i did not eat here, but the smell reminded me of when i used to visit my Nan in a retirement home, really bad Sunday roast cabbage scent.

Location is nice, right next to the river, but it was overrun by children as its next to playing fields and playground to, so if you are after peace and quite i would look elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gritkid1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed here on a weekend when i was here for a job interview (2 adults, 2 children). We loved the room which was well equipped tastefully decorated and comfortable. In the evening we eat in the restraunt. In a way it was very good simple fish and chip restaurant food in a wonderful setting. But it was very good food, and we will return (just for the food, we live here now). The beer was good, and the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: All stairs so no good if you struggle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulw186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed for Jubilee weekend. Nice room - agree that the decor is a bit tired and chintzy but very clean, great service and good location. Dog friendly and that's always a bonus. Breakfasts were good, meals not bad either - not the best i've ever eaten but not bad and a varied menu. I liked it here - would recommend for a homely stay; more B & B than hotel but nice none the less.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne_WM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A comfortable and homely hotel although the decor in places was looking a bit tired. We had a lovely room with a gigantic bed and excellent ensuite. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and kept us going all day. The evening meals were basic but very tasty and ample quantity. We would recommend this hotel to friends and would not hesitate on returning if possible in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.7 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ilkley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.9 mi away
Craven Heifer Inn
Craven Heifer Inn
#1 of 2 in Addingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilkley Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilkley Riverside Hotel

Property: Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Address: Bridge Lane, Ilkley LS29 9EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilkley Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel in Ilkley West Yorkshire, offers a warm welcome and friendly atmosphere combined with a picturesque riverside setting. Ideally situated for visiting Skipton, Bolton Abbey, Otley, Leeds and Bradford, with Ilkley Moor and the Dalesway a stone's throw away the Riverside is an ideal location for business or pleasure. All of our hotel rooms are en-suite, and include Sky TV, free wireless broadband connection, tea and coffee making facilities. They have views overlooking either the Dalesway, River Wharfe or Ilkley Moor. Our restaurant serves homemade and seasonal food and is open all year round for non-residents as well as residents, as is our award-winning bar serving the very best hand pulled CAMRA Real ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Ilkley Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilkley Riverside Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing