We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at The Riverside Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed here for four nights over Christmas. The hotel looked lovely with lights in the trees around the parking space to welcome us. Inside, the place was warm and welcoming with Christmas lights and decorations and a log fire. Everyone was friendly and attentive; our room was spotless with a huge bed with beautiful bedlinen and an en suite shower room (Room 10.) Breakfasts were delicious. We had supper in the hotel on two nights and various members of the family joined us and enjoyed huge generous helpings of fish and chips, scampi, lasagne etc.

The hotel is on the edge of the park so a perfect place for us to stay as we had our labrador travelling with us.

I would recommend this hotel warmly to people who want simple, straightforward good value and lovely welcoming people. Bob and Jill

Room Tip: Room 10 was lovely with two windows looking out onto the park and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Morningsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Ilkley Riverside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

10 of us stayed at the Riverside for a family birthday, with ages ranging from 18 months through to 65, and there were also 2 dogs!

The staff were extremely friendly and accomodating for us all and we had a wonderful weekend.

We were in the family room which is very spacious and has a double bed and two single beds. There is a good size tv, the room was warm and clean and the room was quite dark at night. The hotel is set in a very quiet area and so we all had very good night sleeps. My only couple of gripes are that three of us were booked into the room but there was only enough towels and mugs for two. However, once we asked the staff were very quick at providing extra. Also, the shower was awful and barely ran when turned on. It also went freezing cold after about 5 minutes which was rather unpleasant. A new shower would do the trick and these days shouldn't be too expensive to sort.

We ate in the hotel the first night and the food was really good; typical pub food but warming and plentiful. The breakfasts were also really tasty, and to say there were so many of us dining together, the food came out really quickly.

Whilst away we visited the Grassington Christmas market which was lovely, especially as they have a park and ride into the village (costing £8) which made it easier than trying to park nearby. We also went to the Yorkshire Dales ice cream parlour nearby which was a great experience and the food and ice cream were delicious.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Cannot fault anything about this hotel, excellent service, superb, spotless room (room 10), welcome and staff absolutely lovely, evening meal to die for (fish and chips), breakfast - what more do you want, fresh coffee, juice, cerial, toast and a cooked breakfast. After reading previous review there was no grease to be seen, couldn't have done it better myself. Location perfect, We enjoyed a relaxing winters evening in the bar sat against a roaring fire, perfect. We will be returning......

Room Tip: Room 10 had a queen size bed and windows over looking the park and the side view. also a 2 seater...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mr and mrs f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Nice hotel on banks of river, well situated for walkers and town centre. Very friendly staff, nice cosy bar. Disappointed no roaring log fire but nice and warm nevertheless. Room quite small but well equipped and nice and warm. Shower not the best we've ever had but did the job. Great breakfast, one of the best we've had in b and b - substantial, well presented and nicely cooked with really quick service. All in all good value for money.

Room Tip: Top floor are probably a bit smaller as have sloped ceilings
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnonymousTyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Located on the banks of the Wharfe, at the beginning of the Dales Way the Riverside is only a short walk from the centre of Ilkley. It is included in CAMRA’s “Good Beer Guide 2012” and the ale did not disappoint. I slept soundly in a comfortable bed and enjoyed a substantial well prepared breakfast. Friendly hosts complete a very positive package and I would certainly revisit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank distantmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This was our second stay at the Riverside Hotel, which is within easy walking distance of the railway station and town centre. It is also close to the start of the Dales Way, and thus a favourite with walkers. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bar food served quickly. Our top floor room had an excellent view of Ilkley Moor. However, the bathroom was in need of refurbishment, although it was clean and we had plenty of towels. Breakfast was also served quickly with individual preferences well catered for.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Having stayed here before we were looking forward to staying again, unfortunately the cleanliness of the room left much to be desired! We stayed in room 9 and on visiting the bathroom found a pubic hair on the toilet seat, there was a dirty tissue under the sofa bed in the room and dubious stains on the bed sheet! In the bathroom the wire rack in the shower cubicle was rusty and the whole cubicle needed a good scrubbing! Breakfast in the morning was greasy and disappointing. What a shame as this B&B has the potential to be superb given its location

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sezyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.8 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ilkley
218 reviews
1.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.6 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilkley Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilkley Riverside Hotel

Address: Bridge Lane, Ilkley LS29 9EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range: £82 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilkley Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel in Ilkley West Yorkshire, offers a warm welcome and friendly atmosphere combined with a picturesque riverside setting. Ideally situated for visiting Skipton, Bolton Abbey, Otley, Leeds and Bradford, with Ilkley Moor and the Dalesway a stone's throw away the Riverside is an ideal location for business or pleasure. All of our hotel rooms are en-suite, and include Sky TV, free wireless broadband connection, tea and coffee making facilities. They have views overlooking either the Dalesway, River Wharfe or Ilkley Moor. Our restaurant serves homemade and seasonal food and is open all year round for non-residents as well as residents, as is our award-winning bar serving the very best hand pulled CAMRA Real ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Ilkley Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilkley Riverside Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing