We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The most striking thing about the hotel is that it is situated in a beautiful area. The Riverside Gardens are lovely.
The best part of our stay was the very comfortable bed, for one or two nights it is a good base well placed for the town. We found the restaurant and snack bar to be a bit overpriced, especially as there are more competitively priced eateries within five minutes. Breakfast was good, and the service acceptable. I would recommend this hotel on price and value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    108
    42
    21
    11
See reviews for
46
103
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed for the weekend in room 10. The room was very comfortable with a large bed and sofa. The en-suite was nice with plenty of hot water and a good shower. We had no problems checking in, a sign on the door told us go to round to the bar where we were dealt with promptly. The breakfast was good and we didn't have to wait long. The hotel is only a short walk from the town centre and lots of decent restaurants. I would recomment the hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleocairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Small cramped and overpriced. Dog friendly hence why we chose it. Too small to swing a cat let alone accommodate 2 Adults and a dog. Bedding in poor condition with holes in. Bathroom very small and very stained toilet. Previous guests bathroom metal cup of some sort left in bathroom with liquid still in it. Breakfast service was shocking. Glasses for juice were so dirty we couldn't use. No one there to assist with the issues. When waitress finally arrived and tea and toast served the toast was slung on the table landing in my tea. Toast consisted of crust ends. Breakfast arrived after no choice given. Very poor quality breakfast with half decent eggs. The gentleman who was booked us in was very helpful. Would expect budget price for this type of hotel. Bar area and outside seating very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WalesTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This was the fourth time staying here with my walking group. It is an ideal base for starting the Dales Way after a comfortable nights rest and a hearty breakfast. Situated right on the river Wharfe. Mrs Dobson is always welcoming and obliging.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

If you are used to visiting hotels in big cities with slick service then you'd better adjust your expectations before coming here ! This place is very relaxed.

On arrival I went to reception and stood there was 15 minutes but nobody came. It was only when I went round to the bar and I was told that guests usually check in there. I wish they'd had a sign on the reception to say that! My room was on the top floor and was quite spacious with a double bed and small couch. The bed was very comfy, although I did find it very warm being in at the top of the building. The bathroom is dated, but practical. I noted come mould around the shower fittings, which can easily be removed with a bit of bleach and an old toothbrush.

The bar staff and hotel staff ( actually I only saw 2 members of staff so I think this is family run) were friendly and laid back but not really very organised. At breakfast I was asked what I wanted and just asked for bacon and an egg. 20 or so minutes later the lady walked past my empty setting and then said ' Oh, dear, I gave your breakfast to somebody else'. Not great as there were only 2 other tables in the room ! I had to get off to work so I missed the breakfast in the end.
The hotel is in a lovely setting and there is a great pub garden. Good for holidays and exploring the local countryside but definitely not a business hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLightSleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Spent the night here for my birthday treat with my husband son and our basset hound. Both rooms were spacious and very comfortable and it was so good that we could bring our well behaved dog. The menu is very varied and all our dishes were very good especially the fish and chips! Our breakfast was served in the bar as we had our dog with us and even though the hotel was full the service was fast and efficient. The setting by the river is perfect and lends itself to a perfect relaxing break. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We were greeted by friendly, cheerful and helpful staff. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped. The food was tasty and really good value for money. The breakfast was hearty and the packed lunch was just what we needed. All in all the stay got us off to a good start on our walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.8 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
216 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,170 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.6 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilkley Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilkley Riverside Hotel

Property: Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Address: Bridge Lane, Ilkley LS29 9EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilkley Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel in Ilkley West Yorkshire, offers a warm welcome and friendly atmosphere combined with a picturesque riverside setting. Ideally situated for visiting Skipton, Bolton Abbey, Otley, Leeds and Bradford, with Ilkley Moor and the Dalesway a stone's throw away the Riverside is an ideal location for business or pleasure. All of our hotel rooms are en-suite, and include Sky TV, free wireless broadband connection, tea and coffee making facilities. They have views overlooking either the Dalesway, River Wharfe or Ilkley Moor. Our restaurant serves homemade and seasonal food and is open all year round for non-residents as well as residents, as is our award-winning bar serving the very best hand pulled CAMRA Real ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Ilkley Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilkley Riverside Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing