We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel with wonderful homemade food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely hotel with wonderful homemade food”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

me and my partner stayed here for 2night on a short break, when checking into the hotel we were greeted by a lovely friendly atmosphere in the bar. the staff were very polite and a young man carried our bags to our room. our room was nice size clean with gorgeous views! we ate here the first night and would very much recommend the meat pie! the selection beer was very good and i liked the way some were locally sourced. location is next to a river and in a beautiful park, breathtaking views. the lady at breakfast couldn't do enough for you and local Lisham butchers breakfast first class! we will definitely return!!

Room Tip: must try the meat pie!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    108
    42
    21
    11
See reviews for
46
103
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
W Sussex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here at the start of our Dales Way walk; whilst the room was clean one didn't get the impression that it was used that often. Breakfast was better than average, more than acceptable, but not really that memorable. More of a pub with rooms than a hotel with a bar.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I do wonder what people expect who are not of the area. This is a small hotel with a large local clientel in pleasant riverside surroundings. Easy access all round. Food well presented on hot plates and plenty of it. Have been a number of times over the years and always had a warm welcome. Obviously being local have had no reason to have a room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMOR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Saw the review in H2B magazine and decided to try the stonebaked pizzas. They were big, tasty, filling and excellent value. Barman was extremely polite and welcoming. The only snag was having to wait about half an hour from ordering to eating which was daft considering they weren't that busy. Nevertheless I shall certainly go again. Beer good value by hotel standards.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank yeadonsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Booked two rooms approx 3 months in advance and checked the week before that everything was OK. Turned up on the day to be told that our rooms were no longer free and had been given to someone else. The lady said there was nothing she could do but she was sorry and hoped to see us again!! She recommended another hotel which we went to but that was not really up to scratch. Interestingly this hotel said it was not the first time The Riverside had sent them guests in similar circumstances.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for one night before starting to walk The Dales Way.
The room we had was at the very top of the hotel and was very small and extremely hot.
The decor was clean and modern although the carpet was stained.
Bathroom was tiny and there were no toiletries.
On the plus side our suitcases were taken up and down the 3 flights of stairs to our room and the room was very quiet.
Breakfast was very average with no veggie alternatives to sausage and bacon offered, no yoghurt or muesli, no choice of preserves....we were just given packet marmalade and no selection of herbal tea, only fruit teas.
All in all a very average experience.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Troll70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

we live about ten miles away from Ilkley and go there quite a lot.
we have eaten at this hotel before and were quite satisfied,but
had sunday lunch today and it was awful.
I had to ask for table to be cleaned as was very sticky,then we
both had roast lamb,very tough(definitely not lamb,maybe mutton)
it came swimming in gravy with hard potatoes,and soggy veg.
no service whatsoever,will not be back again..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.8 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
216 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.6 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilkley Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilkley Riverside Hotel

Property: Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Address: Bridge Lane, Ilkley LS29 9EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilkley Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel in Ilkley West Yorkshire, offers a warm welcome and friendly atmosphere combined with a picturesque riverside setting. Ideally situated for visiting Skipton, Bolton Abbey, Otley, Leeds and Bradford, with Ilkley Moor and the Dalesway a stone's throw away the Riverside is an ideal location for business or pleasure. All of our hotel rooms are en-suite, and include Sky TV, free wireless broadband connection, tea and coffee making facilities. They have views overlooking either the Dalesway, River Wharfe or Ilkley Moor. Our restaurant serves homemade and seasonal food and is open all year round for non-residents as well as residents, as is our award-winning bar serving the very best hand pulled CAMRA Real ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Ilkley Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilkley Riverside Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing