We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Booked in for one night but ended up staying for two nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we had was on the top floor and was clean and spacious. The food was good and we ate here both nights. This was a big deal for me as I am vegetarian and not everywhere has a decent selection of food. The hotel looks very pretty and is in a lovely setting by the river and park. Nice for a walk in the evening after dinner. I cannot praise the staff enough and Christine even helped us find accommodation for our son, who is moving to the area to work.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretCramlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 252 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed for a week-end and thoroughly enjoyed it. We found the staff pleasant
food good and room comfortable. It wasn't noisy when we were there in fact
we are going back this week-end and looking forward to it

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveller6236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We have generally stayed at another hotel when visiting Ilkley, however, following the demise of our usual choice (due to it being converted into flats) we had to find an alternative. Not being fans of chain hotels we happened upon the Riverside Hotel via the web. We booked over the telephone at very short notice and arrived the following day. We were greeted by a friendly lady who showed us to our room and efficiently explained the various features such as flat screen TV, shower, etc. After a walk round the adjacent riverside park (plus squirrels and ducks!!), we enjoyed a glass or two of local ale in the traditional pub bar. The terrace with potted plants and hanging baskets is a delight. We were dining at a famous local restaurant that evening, the hotel staff were happy to arrange transport, and on our return we enjoyed a good nights sleep. Breakfast was good if a little limited (Full cooked English but no kippers). What would I change? ................ bigger bath towels please!!! If you are the sort of person who likes Holiday Inn and McDonalds, this is probably not the place for you, STAY AWAY, however, if you like quirky, privately owned, fun places to stay with loads of character all round, BOOK NOW while these types of places still exist.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAROLDHOGSWORTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

stopped one night on a return to town and couldnt get a room last minute anywhere else. the hotel (pub really) itself was ok once in the room - which was spacious and had an excellent new big telly, though not much else exciting. reasonably clean but not immaculate. Shower room was nice. There was a big floodlight ouside our window which kept waking me up through the night, and some noise from the corridors. We were in a front room away from the main pub part so wasnt too noisy. location not bad for Ilkley, about 10 min walk to town centre and in the park so nice walk during daylight hours.
The biggest let down was the breakfast, which was very naff with miserable staff and nasty sausages and cheap, greasy tasting bacon and egg - not worth the cost of b and b. I wouldnt return here - theres much nicer b and b's in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cobwebsinthecloset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlkleyRiversideHotel, Public Relations Manager at Ilkley Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

We're terribly sorry that you weren't happy with your stay, we have had the building re-roofed since your last visit which has also changed where all outside lighting is positioned, which will hopefully mean that none of our future guests will have the same issue. We hope that you will consider visiting us again in the future so we could have the opportunity of changing your mind about the excellent quality of both our staff and our food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

I did not want to stop at one of the impersonal local 'posh' hotels because I was not sure how long I would be in Ilkley. The location of The Riverside Hotel being adjacent to a park and within walking distance of the small town centre appealed so I made a reservation. This was done efficiently and confirmed with my credit card. I arrived mid afternoon and was shown to my room where features etc where explained. The room was very comfortable, had tea & coffee facilities, a good shower and a flat screen tv.
To my mind the hotel is more a good pub with rooms and this is not intended to be a bad feature, as a single visitor I enjoyed the busy bar and its interesting customers. The beer was excellent (CAMRA approved) and the restaurant food well priced and good value. In particular the haddock and chips were as good as it gets.
Breakfast was traditional British and no apologies are needed here since service was good and the egg, bacon etc all freshly prepared and of good quality.

I shall be visiting again this week, but this time with my wife, so that is a real recommendation - incidentally she loves haddock and chips!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seasoned_traveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Koen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.8 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ilkley
226 reviews
1.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 10 in Ilkley
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilkley Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilkley Riverside Hotel

Address: Bridge Lane, Ilkley LS29 9EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range: £67 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilkley Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel in Ilkley West Yorkshire, offers a warm welcome and friendly atmosphere combined with a picturesque riverside setting. Ideally situated for visiting Skipton, Bolton Abbey, Otley, Leeds and Bradford, with Ilkley Moor and the Dalesway a stone's throw away the Riverside is an ideal location for business or pleasure. All of our hotel rooms are en-suite, and include Sky TV, free wireless broadband connection, tea and coffee making facilities. They have views overlooking either the Dalesway, River Wharfe or Ilkley Moor. Our restaurant serves homemade and seasonal food and is open all year round for non-residents as well as residents, as is our award-winning bar serving the very best hand pulled CAMRA Real ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ilkley Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilkley Riverside Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing