We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chevin Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chevin End Guest House
Ranked #9 of 10 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very comfortable, quiet and spacious room with a gorgeous view and a wet room en-suite (excellent shower, plenty of hot water). Tasty cooked breakfasts and a friendly but very un-pushy welcome (I had to ask for a business card!). If you're lucky, you might meet Freddy, who will ask you to throw a ball for him. Our lovely hosts even provided us with a lift to the nearby train station at the end of our stay. My partner needed to do some work over the weekend and appreciated the free wifi and desk space. The Chevin Inn is nearby; the food is great, the beer is great but they do get booked up at weekends, so reserving a table's a good idea if you want to eat there. Otley's about a mile down the hill; a footpath all the way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MPugh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

we have just stopped for the second time this year, for the weekend, with a couple of friends. We were in rooms 9 and 10 and they were excellent, warm, large with great views and quiet.The shower/wet room was excellent. We havent stopped in the older part, so cant comment. I think some of the reviewees should lighten up a bit, its a great spot, family run, with the added bonus of nice pub at the end of the lane,what more could you want!! no one there is pretending to be running a Marriot or Devere hotel, but the rooms do stand up to there quality.The breakfast is great and almost a social event, as the owners make you feel very welcome. Yes its a quirky way of paying in the kitchen, but so what, it beats a souless receptionist always getting the final bill wrong in the mutli national hotels. We will have no hesitation in booking again and recommending the Chevin End to all who want a relaxed break in a great location.

Room Tip: rooms 9 and 10 had great views dont know about others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SHAWRYSHAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Travelled up from the Midlands to meet some old school friends for a drink and a meal in the Chevin Inn which is next door. The guest house is superb , especially the hand cooked breakfast, and the rooms are very comfortable and modern. The Chevin Inn is also very good!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Bed very comfy and the shower modern and a well designed wetroom made it very easy to get changed and out. Everything in the room worked and was solid and homely.
Lovely setting and it was very handy to have the pub just next door..(food was very good and welcome after a long journey)
Will stay there again no doubt breakfast was good and coffee lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natmorven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed two nights here with my mom while on a lengthy trip through the UK. Our room was in the annex and had one double and one single bed. Positives: room was a reasonable size (not large but not uncomfortable), two chairs, room for luggage (though luggage stands would have been appreciated), small writing desk area and a small closet for hanging clothes. Very quiet as the annex is away from the road. Nice looking, good-sized bathroom that was spanking clean. Basic tea service. Ample parking, and when a relative joined us for a day trip she was allowed to leave her car there while we took ours. Room had a lovely view of Menston and the valley but the windows are too small to take advantage of it. Heating controlled by the guest. Good water pressure in the shower. Restaurant/pub next door is very good. Breakfast was adequate though the fruit, juice and yoghurt offerings on the sideboard were scant compared to most other B&Bs we visited. Easy access to Menston. Well signed and easy to find.

Cons: Tired-looking linens. Cheap furnishings (reminded me of a student dorm room). The bedside lamp seemed to have a dodgy connection, which concerned me so I turned it off/on at the wall outlet. No bathtub, and the shower is open to the rest of the bathroom so everything within spitting distance gets wet. No washcloths. Really tiny sink and the only place to put toiletries is over the toilet, a few feet away. The only shelf in the shower is a tiny thing attached to the pipe; completely inadequate to hold soap, shampoo, and a razor. The bathroom really needs a shelf added to the right of the sink that would double as a shelf for the shower. You can tell the bathroom was designed to look nice and make clean-up quick but it's been done at the expense of function.

We paid 65 pounds a night for two, the same as The Stanage in Telford and Glyn Afon in Llanberis. The Stanage was great, Glyn Afon a nightmare, so this one gets an average rating.

Room Tip: The annex is quieter and has great parking. Flat entrance from the lot to the rooms means easy wheel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleinVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I recently stayed at the Chevin End Guest House for a birthday treat with some friends. We had a lovely night, eating out first at the cheerful chilli vegetarian restaurant and then after a few drinks at the chevin end pub. The bedrooms were lovely and spacious with a modern walk in shower and beautiful views over Otley. The breakfast was good and served quickly considering how busy it was. The owners were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Overall we had a lovely stay and would return a second time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LynneW34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Spent 2nights at the chevin end guest house 9/10 of August. Given a room that the screws in the headboard were not fixed which allowed it to move constantly while you we're in bed, shabby towels with rips,cobwebs everywhere. The room we were given had not been cleaned as I found a full digestive biscuit squashed in the carpet, when I asked had the room been cleaned I was told, the cleaner must have missed it as she had not moved the chair yet I had no difficulty seeing it, you could not see in the mirrors, after she whipped one over the cloth was thrown into the bathroom windowsill Also, when you went into the bathroom you had to close the door and manoeuvre to get into the shower which was useless and when you used the toilet it moved and banged when you got off it. We did not get a discount for this room (65 pounds per night and you have to book 2 nights they told us).

Room Tip: other rooms may be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W, Manager at Chevin End Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

This lady tried to book our last available room for a Saturday night only during our high season period. I refused explaining that we would easily get a multiple night booking. She then insisted on booking for 2 nights in order to reserve it. Clearly, it seems, she was unhappy about this and has therefore posted this negative review. Vindictive and malicious contributions, such as this, serve no useful purpose at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
1.6 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ilkley
219 reviews
3.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
3.9 mi away
The Wheatley Arms
The Wheatley Arms
#2 of 10 in Ilkley
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevin End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevin End Guest House

Address: West Chevin Road, Ilkley LS29 6BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range: £58 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevin End Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chevin End Guest House is an eight bedroomed barn conversion complex adjoining Chevin End Farm. Set in a rural location it has panoramic Wharfe Valley views yet is only one mile from the towns of Otley, Menston and Guiseley, and less than half a mile from the main A65 Leeds / Ilkley road.We are 15 minutes walk from both Menston and Guiseley railway stations. Leeds Bradford Airport is a five minute drive. Free transport can be provided from both railway stations and the airport.All rooms are en-suite, one with a bath. Each room has tea and coffee facilities and a colour television. There is ample private parking in our courtyard. There are numerous restaurants, pubs and shops within a half mile radius. Ground floor bedrooms are available.Internet access is available through our wireless network.Please ask for our WEP key if you require access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chevin End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chevin End Guest House Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing