We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing country pub with amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fox

The Fox
Ranked #42 of 95 Restaurants in Ilkley
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: traditional Yorkshire village pub & restaurant
Bradford
1 review
“Amazing country pub with amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have been a regular customer at the fox for the last 3 years , food has never disappointed and staff have always been attentive and friendly.
The fillet steak was beautiful and cooked to my liking.
If your pushed for a budget try the 3 course meal for £15 which is almost like an early bird menu.
I have taken many friends and family back due to the high standards and use of fresh produce.
Such a lovely warm atmosphere. I will be back again very soon :-)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lina44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Fox M, Team Leader at The Fox, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi there Lina,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such fantastic feedback! We love to hear that our regulars are very happy and are recommending our pub to others.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Kind regards
The Fox Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    99
    55
    57
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice food, shame about the service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We went on a Monday night and quite early. The restaurant was far from busy but by the time we left it was pretty full. Like some of the previous reviews I thought the service was very slow. I know that if the food is being cooked fresh then it will take time but we had to wait 40 mins for our meals and I think that is far too long. When the food arrived it was lovely, although quite expensive the prices are clearly displayed so you can budget accordingly. As stated this place could be so much better because the food is really very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi John,
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us have your feedback regarding your visit to us.
We are very sorry to hear that the service provided for you and your guests on that particular Monday night was not up to scratch. We do cook all our meals from fresh, using ingredients which are delivered daily, which as you point out can sometimes take slightly longer than expected, however we do not expect our guests to be waiting 40 minuets for their main meal and for this may we apologise.
We do hope that in due course we will see you again here at The Fox.
Kind regards
The Fox Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could be fantastic but sadly isn't”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The place is great, drinks are overpriced and the service is appalling . It appears that none of the staff understand that they are there to serve drinks and therefore make money. As a customer to be ignored is not acceptable and the time it takes to actually get served is unbelievable . Right image but just need to quicken the pace.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Sonya,
We are very sorry to hear that the service and value for money did not live up to expectations when visiting us here at The Fox.
We highly value our guest’s feedback as without this we cannot improve our service, so thank you for taking the time to let us have your comments.
All our front of house staff are trained to a high standard, so may we apologise for the lack of service which you and your guests encountered on your visit.
We do hope to see you again in due course.
Kind regards
The Fox Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Don't order the Seabass”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

The service was slow at every stage. Food was ok in the main but sea bass very disappointing. Little meat, over cooked and dry. The manager apologised but no discount was offered.
Needless to say we won't be going back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi Richard,
We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant meal with us at The Fox. All our fish is delivered daily to enable us to serve the best quality meal for our guests, and we apologise for the clear dissatisfaction that you had with your meal. All of our chefs are trained to a high standard, so your comments regarding your Seabass being overcooked has been passed on in order that this does not happen again.
Without our guests feedback we cannot improve our service, so thank you again for taking the time to have this.
We do hope we will see you again in due course.
Kind regards
The Fox Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Visited here Bank Holiday Monday. Not too busy, service a little slow, waited at least half an hour for food. Three of us had Linguine with prawns, crab, chorizo and chilli. No crab found, lacked any 'kick' and linguine over cooked and sloppy..not al dente. For the price expected more, very disappointing. Waited too long for a cup of tea at the end of the meal. Value for money..poor. Service simply too slow to bring drinks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Fox M, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi Sue,
Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback regarding your visit with us.
In the last couple of weeks we have had a full menu revamp, (the linguini being part of one of our new dishes,) so it's great to get some feedback in order that we can send this to our head office to make sure all our dishes can be made according to our guests needs. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. We do not expect our guests to leave our establishment some what disheartened and for that we apologise.
All of our front and back of house staff are trained to a high standard and we do not expect guests to have to wait an inappropriate amount of time for their drinks or meals. Your comments have been passed onto our team in order we can improve our service.
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know.
Kind regards
The Fox Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox also viewed

Otley, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Menston, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing