We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rombalds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rombalds Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ilkley
Certificate of Excellence
crewe
1 review
“highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Have just had a weekend break at the Rombalds hotel in llkley. Our sat nav decided to take us via the scenic route but it was worth it as the views were breathtaking!! The hotel has a great look to it and the moors are virtually on the doorstep. There is a driveway slightly to the left that leads on to a good sized car park. The hotel has a great ambience about it from the fabulous lighting to the beautiful pieces of furniture that give it the feel of a country residence. We had a warm welcome from the owner Jo and her team and were settled into the Hockney Suite . The rooms were decorated to a very high standard with all the amenities you would expect. We ventured the 10 minute walk into town and spent a very enjoyable afternoon browsing.
We returned to the hotel for an excellent three course meal followed by drinks in the lounge which incorporates a well stocked bar area.The manager Aaron kept us entertained and he really went the extra mile to look after us!
We slept really well and the room was lovely and warm.
Breakfast set us up for the day and again was a very attentive service.
We plan to go again in the summer for a longer stay so we can walk on the moors and enjoy the local sights and will definately stay at this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin C, Owner at Rombalds Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Really pleased your enjoyed your stay with us!
Looking forward to seeing you when you return in the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    76
    33
    10
    9
See reviews for
38
141
30
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Myself and my husband wanted a nice hotel to get away from it all for our anniversary - I booked this online on a advance offer. Once we had found the hotel we were greeted and booked in and shown to our room very quickly. We ended up been given the Douglas Suite. We had a lovely big living room, with tea and coffee making facilities, dial out telephones, desk with paper, envelopes, pen provided and a freeview tv. One of the sofas was a sofa bed too. The bathroom has a gorgeous roll top bath which is huge, with a hand held shower, and quality soap, shampoo etc provided. The bedroom has the loveliest four poster bed, with lovely furniture and another tv, we definitely felt very spoilt. Just outside the room there was a table with help yourself fruit, more tea/coffee/biscuits etc and shave kits/toothpaste,brushes, sewing kits, shoe shine cloths etc. The reception could offer most other items you might need for your stay. All very well organized. We had opted for BB and EM in the offer and the food was all lovely and well presented for both breakfast and evening meal. The lounge/bar was well stocked and not over priced and there was a wine list to suit most tastes and pockets! All this and only a stones throw from Ilkey Moor or the town centre with its lovely shops and numerous bars and places to eat. The railway station is a five min walk, though it is a bit of a hill to climb up for those with problems (I managed with a walking stick).

Room Tip: Can not fault the Douglas Suite for a romantic treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doncasterfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin C, Owner at Rombalds Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Great to hear that you not only enjoyed your stay in the Douglas Suite but that you enjoyed the town as well. Hopefully we'll see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESTERFIELD
Level Contributor
476 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Went to Ilkley for the day, and enjoyed it so much we decided to stay for the night. Ilkley was very busy, so Rombalds was our last hope of a room.
We took there last room, which was small, but very comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and efficent, and the breakfast was excellent.
Recommended to all, a really nice hotel.
Not central, and a steady walk up hill from the town centre

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARKAYESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin C, Owner at Rombalds Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Glad that we were able to offer you our last room and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

The customer service at the hotel is excellent - the staff are very friendly and accommodating. During my stay I caught a nasty stomach bug (not from the hotel) and was very ill and had to stay an additional night. The receptionist made sure that I was ok and even gave me a discount on the second night! When my father-in-law's car had a flat battery the next day, she even gave him her car keys to jump start the car. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin C, Owner at Rombalds Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
There's nothing worse than being ill away from home. Glad we were able at least to make your stay a little more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle Cumbria
Level Contributor
291 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

I was here for four nights on a business trip. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to make sure that everything was ok. I ate breakfast every day and twice in the restaurant in the evening, everything was really good. The room was clean, a good size, and always warm.
Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

A nice hotel, in a lovely location and cloase enough to the town to walk into.
The food was good, but I'm marking the rating down as it was really cold in the hotel. should have took a big jumper with me. If they get teh heating and windows sorted out it will be great.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Stayed for only 1 night on a business trip having stayed before ona couple of occasions. Hotel very quiet, few other guests. Decent room, if small, but clean and comfortable. Ate evening meal in the bar area which is a bit dated, but ok. Menu was limited, but food was absolutely fine. Breakfast very nice - freshly cooked to order. Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel is located on the edge of the Moor and only a few minutes walk into town. All in all a perfectly decent stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.3 mi away
The Craiglands Hotel
The Craiglands Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ilkley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ilkley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rombalds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rombalds Hotel

Property: Rombalds Hotel
Address: West View, Wells Road, Ilkley LS29 9JG, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rombalds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rombalds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rombalds Hotel And Restaurant
Best Western Ilkley
Ilkley Best Western
Rombalds Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing