We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great Burns Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Craiglands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Ilkley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great Burns Night”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Hi Graham / Louise

Just a short note to say Thanks to you and your staff for a successful Burns Night last evening.
I think it is fair to say that everyone enjoyed themselves and that the evening was enhanced by an excellent bill of fayre and good service too.

Our Thanks to you Graham, Louise and Bradley for your help in setting up a good event

Best wishes

Paul Kitching
HON SEC- ILKLEY 41 CLUB

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    247
    179
    161
    145
See reviews for
149
483
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My wife surprised me with a weekend away that involved a nights stay at The Craiglands. We enjoyed every minutes of spending time in Ilkley and at the hotel. The hotel is on the edge of the moor, the staff were friendly, the room was to a high standard and you couldn't ask for a better choice at breakfast. We didn't try the evening meal as we'd arrange to meet friends. We will visit again, especially now we know there are deals on Deal Cloud and groupon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 466PhilK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We booked a two night break through Deal Cloud which was great value for money and a very enjoyable stay. After reading some of the reviews on this site, we began to think they were talking about a completely different hotel. We found the staff to be friendly, helpful, courteous, and extremely hard working. The accomodation was very comfortable, warm and clean and the food was excellent. Everything included in the deal was fulfilled and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The location of the hotel is excellent and we shall definitely be back for another visit in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the hotel which was extremely quiet and restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dunebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

stayed here just after new year. This really could be a lovely hotel with a few tweeks. Reception staff were good and welcoming our bags were taken to our room. The room for the price was very small had an awful brown wooden mounting for the tv which really spoiled the look of the room which by the way looked nothing like any of the pictures on the web site. The mattress was awful really flat and hard. The bar area is cold and uninviting there was no fire lit and the colour scheme was not classy no chesterfield sofas either as in the pics just hard bucket chairs did not invite you to sit for long. Dinner was very average although the service was good and the bistro slightly more welcoming and comfortable as the fire was lit in here, and breakfast was fine we just had to find the waiter for more coffee. As I said lovely location and a short walk from the town but needs attention to detail and then it would be worth the money they charge

Room Tip: nice views to the front but maybe noisy at busy times as overlooks the main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pammie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed here for two nights with my partner. On checking in Receptionist staff were indifferent, dismissively pointing to which way we should go. Our standard room was a disappointment. It was quite small, with a large damp stain on the ceiling from a previous leak, the throw on the bottom of the bed was threadbare. Bathroom a good size but no table to place toiletries on so we had to put them on the floor. The shower screen was inadequate and water seeps through onto the floor, making it very wet. Even with a special rate it was not worth the money. Breakfast was well cooked except for the black pudding which was so charred it should not have left the kitchen. We decided not to chance eating here in the evening. All in all would not recommend until they start paying attention to detail and good customer service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emerald130944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We are pensioners and we were very pleased when our son bought us a Comedy night and bed and breakfast at the Craiglands hotel, Ilkley, for a christmas present. The hotel was lovely, with a luxurious bedroom and a large bathroom, with a huge bath and all the bottles!! Downstairs was a modern bar and breakfast room - breakfast was super. The comedy night included a really good dinner and 3 comedians, followed by dancing to a d.j. The comedians were really funny. However the evening was spoiled by noise and heckling from a large works party (they said they worked for the local Morrisons). The compere asked them several times if they would go into bar if they didn't want to listen to the acts, but he was met with abuse and seemed powerless to move them. This party were not only disrespectful towards the acts, but also spoiled the enjoyment of the other guests. This obviously was not the fault of the hotel, but I would think twice about booking such an evening again.

Room Tip: At the front, with a view over Ilkley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margeurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We bought this stay via groupon (our first groupon purchase) to include cream tea and fizz, we then payed extra to pre book an evening meal and an upgraded room.
We sayed here at the weekend in a refurbished suite which was fantastic apart from the fact it was cold!! reception offered a heater if it did not improve which they did provide but it shouldn't have been necessary given the huge radiator in the room that never heated up!
The room was spotless, my partner even ran his fingers along the tops of the door frames and not a speck of dust was to be found! and the jacuzzi bath was very relaxing! a shame the room was directly above the bar on a night where guests were being loud until 2am!
The food was brilliant and well worth adding at £20 per head when we booked. The staff were also great.
As the previous reviewer said signage in the car parks needs improving but it did look to me as if they are doing work on the grounds so maybe this is in the plan for the future.
Not sure if we will stay again (maybe it would get another chance if we could get a deal again, but wouldn't pay the rates on the website for these rooms) but we would visit the brasserie if we were in the area again as we really enjoyed that part of our stay.

Room Tip: reading other reviews I would say and upgraded room is a must, but try and avoid 112 if you are a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ickvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.5 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
4.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglands Hotel

Property: The Craiglands Hotel
Address: Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglands Hotel has been welcoming people from across the globe for more than 150 years. This grand Victorian hotel remains the ideal place for business or pleasure, combining modern comforts and facilities with a warm, friendly welcome.Set in 6 acres of beautiful, landscaped grounds and woodland, Craiglands is just a short walk to the historic spa town of Ilkley and the famous Ilkley Moor, with easy access to Leeds/Bradford airport and major business centres. There are 62 guest rooms and excellent facilities to suit all your requirements - 7 conference and banqueting suites, the newly refurbished Brasserie1 Restaurant & adjoining bar with outside terrace to name but a few. For fine dining, banquets, conferences, large corporate events or just to get away from it all, you really must come to Craiglands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Craiglands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craiglands Hotel Ilkley
The Craiglands Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing