We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful New Year's Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Craiglands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Year's Eve”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Having not celebrated New Year in style for many years we decided to attend the Gala Dinner at Craiglands. Arrived around 5pm and were shown to a lovely well decorated room with a huge bed and modern bathroom. Tried to do my "Four In a Bed" bit and hunted for dust....I failed. It was spotless. The hotel was busy but staff available when needed. The Gala dinner was extremely good, served by efficient, attentive staff. Food was excellent and well presented. Fabulous entertainment and an added bonus was the haggis just after midnight, it was delicious.
We retired to bed around 1am and were not disturbed by the continuing celebrations.
Breakfast was self service with lots of choice. Juice, fruit, cereals and a full range of cooked items. Staff quickly brought tea and coffee and cleared away used crockery.
We loved every minute and would happily return .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bridgetyounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    246
    179
    161
    145
See reviews for
149
482
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here for a Christmas party with friends, all members of staff were excellent in making sure our stay was enjoyable, food at the event and next day for breakfast was excellent, prices were standard for hotels, rooms we stayed in were big in size and very clean, plenty of hot water in all rooms we stayed in, wifi was great for us all. Would highly recommend anyone to stay here and we have booked up again for a few months time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethd837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for one night after a wedding in Bolton Abbey, we only really needed a bed to sleep in so were weren't expecting a lot but it was not a good experience.

All seemed ok when we checked in but our room wasn't ready so we left our luggage at reception to go to our room when we returned from the wedding. When we arrived very late we were taken to our room by the night porter (who was very helpful). Unfortunately he checked us into an unmade room! He came back up and found us another, which seemed ok but was very small. In the morning we found that there was no water coming from the shower (well there was cold but to get any warmth meant you could only have a trickle of water). So we just got dressed and checked out leaving our complaint. In the end I did get a full refund but it took AGES. And not before I was offered a gratis stay in the hotel for 2 people???!!! This hotel is tired and needs renovating. The front desk staff and very friendly and helpful but behind the scenes it just doesn't live up to any decent standards.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pauladoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilkley hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We having been away for new year breaks at various hotels in the uk for the last twenty years and this was the cheapest and the best. Usually cream tea on arrival means a bun fight and nothing left, this was afternoon tea served individually on cake stands at a time to suit us. The food was very good, and the New Year's Eve gala dinner and band brilliant. They managed to cater for a large number without losing any quality in the food served. There wasn't always someone on the bar but didn't take us long to get attention just a very very minor detail. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a new year break my husband and I and 2 friends enjoyed every minute.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I found this hotel when looking for a bargain on travelzoo. I booked it because it was a good deal and price for a suite, 3 course meal and breakfast. When we arrived we received great customer service from the girl on the desk (all the desk staff were extremely friendly throughout our stay). My boyfriend requested a bottle of sparkling wine to be put in the room as a surprise and this was done along with glasses and a wine cooler. However this was the only highlight of our stay! The room was large but had some lights that did not work (the dressing room area) and the bathroom door would not shut properly as it caught on the carpet. There were lots of stains on both the carpet and the sofa and the room itself was quite cold. Prior to showering (which wasn't particularly warm), my boyfriend went to open the window in the bathroom and it fell on his head as a set of hinges had broken. We informed staff on the desk who were very apologetic and wrote it down for the maintenance staff. We went for dinner and to be quite frank, it was gross. The soup was tasteless and a lumpy texture, the pasta was extremely bland, the fish goujons were greasy and the chips were unpleasant. It is not like us, but we left far more food than we ate. The next morning we headed down for breakfast within the allotted time and were met by a waiter who confronted us with: "we were going to make a plate for you because we didn't think you were coming." To which I stated that we were in the given time frame for food. He said no one had been down in 2 hours...we soon realised this meant that the food had been sitting out for that time! The cooked breakfast was lukewarm and rubbery, the bread had started to go stale and the pastries had developed skins on them. One good point to note is that I requested decaf tea bags which they don't offer but the cook donated one of her own. We left the hotel a good few hours before check out time as we were generally disappointed with what was meant to be a relaxing, romantic stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianneturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We booked a last minute night away at the beginning of December. The majority of hotels were fully booked with the exception of Craiglands, which should have been an indicator really! The first impression of the hotel from the outside was that it was a bit run down and uncared for. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.
Our room was at the front of the hotel, which turned out to be an unfortunate place to be as we were woken a few times in the night by a wedding that was going on and guests arguing under our window. The room was clean enough, but not spotless and everything just looked a bit tired really. The room price was £130 and we have stayed in 'grander' accommodation for half the price, minus stained carpets and make up and tea stains on the walls.
The price did not include breakfast which was an additional £10 each. When we arrived for breakfast, about 15 people, mostly from the wedding party were queueing for food, which was a serve yourself hot breakfast, but there was nothing left! We waited over 20 minutes for more food to appear.
i wouldn't stay here again, it wasn't good value, was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlossopLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you found our reception time to be so friendly and helpful.
However please accept my apology that you did not find your stay to be value for money on this occasion, we do hold many weddings throughout the year and although we do try to make guests that are not attending aware this is not always possible.
We are currently in the process of refurbishing many of our bedrooms and hope that you may book with us again to see our progress.

Kind Regards

Chris Dodgson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

To start on a good note the food over our four day break was exceptionally good with wonderful home made soups too.
The hotel rooms were very cold & when we mentioned this were promised a portable heater which never arrived. The corridor outside our room had a very warm radiator but ours were completely boxed in & they nor the towel rail got more than barely luke warm. The whole place was very dusty with huge amounts on the swags in our function room - very visible when the lights were on. The waiters & waitresses were very polite & helpful. Reception not so good when I went to report that our bedroom door had been left open the young Receptionist said "that's OK" so I told her there were valuables in the room & it was NOT OK. Two days running we were left bath mats to use as hand towels!! How sad that such a lovely building is let down by a huge lack of attention to details & lack of training for some of the staff. We paid a large amount of money for our Christmas break which was a disappointing & bad investment.

Room Tip: Would not go there at those prices!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback, I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed your food during your stay with us. However I am very sorry to hear that you had reason to complain on this occasion, I can assure you that we will be looking into the issues you have raised and extra training will be given where necessary.

We hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Chris Dodgson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.5 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
4.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Inn
The Crescent Inn
#1 of 9 in Ilkley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ilkley Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglands Hotel

Property: The Craiglands Hotel
Address: Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglands Hotel has been welcoming people from across the globe for more than 150 years. This grand Victorian hotel remains the ideal place for business or pleasure, combining modern comforts and facilities with a warm, friendly welcome.Set in 6 acres of beautiful, landscaped grounds and woodland, Craiglands is just a short walk to the historic spa town of Ilkley and the famous Ilkley Moor, with easy access to Leeds/Bradford airport and major business centres. There are 62 guest rooms and excellent facilities to suit all your requirements - 7 conference and banqueting suites, the newly refurbished Brasserie1 Restaurant & adjoining bar with outside terrace to name but a few. For fine dining, banquets, conferences, large corporate events or just to get away from it all, you really must come to Craiglands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Craiglands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craiglands Hotel Ilkley
The Craiglands Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing