We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea in a stunning hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Craiglands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel within easy reach of the centre.Staff friendly,food lovely,lovely grand hotel set in stunning grounds,spotlessly clean,great value for money,nothing too much trouble cannot wait to return!!!.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmadaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Couldn't fault the staff or food but room 122 was very shabby. This room overlooks a garden only the windows were so dirty you couldn't see it. We had to boil the kettle numerous times for the bath as the water was barely warm. Needless to say I would not recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wingnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Went to this hotel for afternoon tea as 2 couples... the food was superb & delicious... the staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient. Lovely hotel & beautiful setting. Ideal for walking into Ilkley and for a peaceful relaxing break with beautiful views. Also ideal for days out to the dales.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff. So polite and welcoming from check-in to checkout.
The 3 course meal on Saturday night was lovely and the cooked breakfast was also super. Room was cosy and spotlessly clean. It really was a lovely relaxing weekend. I shall be booking to return for our anniversary in June.
Many thanks for our lovely relaxing weekend

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmalouise180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

I attended a wedding reception here recently and was very impressed. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds in a great location in Ilkley.

The room (133) was huge. You entered into a hallway with wardrobes, mirror and the bathroom to one side and the bedroom was through another door which made it homely. Not all the rooms were this size though as my family's were much smaller. We all paid the £50 wedding rate which I thought was reasonable. The bedroom was decorated to a high standard and the bed was large (2 twins together) and really comfy. Need more plug sockets though.

The downside was the majorly creaky floorboards when walking around the room! I was also awoken the next morning by the room above/beside creaking around. This is a bad problem which needs fixing.

Despite the bedroom being really modern the bathroom was in need of a refurb. The bathroom suite was so outdated and looked quite shabby. The power shower was good though.

The annoying part of our stay was being woken up by house keeping knocking on the door at 10.10am to see if we had vacated. Check out is not until 11am so they should not be disturbing guests before then (especially after a late night wedding party) as it won't make me leave any sooner. They should check with reception which rooms have vacated. Also provide some 'do not disturb' signs so they really get the message!

The function room was a good size with the bar just outside which is a good layout. The bar staff were really friendly.

All in all a good hotel with some small areas that could be improved.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank K18UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Visited as a group of four with a Groupon Voucher. We all tucked into well filled sandwiches with a nice selection of fillings. We struggled to eat all the delicious scones and fresh homemade cakes. We were served by a pleasent waitress who offered additional pots of tea / coffee before we had to ask for refill.

I visited for afternoon tea twelve months ago and was disappointed with the food provided even at the Groupon price. There has been a massive improvement in quality since my previous visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 69Gaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Went to craigland hotel on Saturday for a afternoon tea got it if groupon it was not bad we had 3sandwichers each and the rest was cakes it would have been nice to have a bit if savory as well the coffee was only Luke warm we did not take the car we went on the bus they said it was only 5 minite from town centre we walk for a mile up a steep hill not good as my husband is disabled

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank conniecastleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
0.5 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ilkley
226 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Keighley
Travelodge Keighley
#3 of 6 in Keighley
157 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglands Hotel

Address: Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range: £50 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglands Hotel has been welcoming people from across the globe for more than 150 years. This grand Victorian hotel remains the ideal place for business or pleasure, combining modern comforts and facilities with a warm, friendly welcome.Set in 6 acres of beautiful, landscaped grounds and woodland, Craiglands is just a short walk to the historic spa town of Ilkley and the famous Ilkley Moor, with easy access to Leeds/Bradford airport and major business centres. There are 62 guest rooms and excellent facilities to suit all your requirements - 7 conference and banqueting suites, the newly refurbished Brasserie1 Restaurant & adjoining bar with outside terrace to name but a few. For fine dining, banquets, conferences, large corporate events or just to get away from it all, you really must come to Craiglands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Easy Market Spa, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Craiglands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craiglands Hotel Ilkley
The Craiglands Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing