We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a revamp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Craiglands Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Needs a revamp”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight and disappointed to say the least .The hotel is archaic believe the owners are trying to sell as can't afford to refurb.
Sections of hotel are sealed off and inhabited by not people but Pigeons yes pigeons !!!
Yorkshires 'premier wedding venue'
I think not , some staff struggle to speak English
Do yourself a favour
Stay elsewhere

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank engulfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    248
    184
    164
    146
See reviews for
150
494
24
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have been to this venue a few times and every time have been pleased.Excellent venue, very we'll organised. Food, decorations an faculties fab. Parking could have been better. All staff were pleasant and helpful. Highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Terrible stay at the Craiglands Hotel. There was a wedding party at the hotel during our stay, so music was playing until 12:30 which we could hear in our room on level 2, which I feel I should have been informed at the time of booking, but nothing was said. We couldn't get wifi in our room where the hotel stated 'free wifi throughout the hotel'. The rooms are very basic, our bed was so comfy though. The bathrooms are dated and looked like it'd not been cleaned. The walls are thin. All in all we had a terrible nights sleep. The breakfast was lovely though, a help yourself, they kept topping food up making sure there was enough. The reception staff at this hotel were the rudest I've ever come across, manners don't cost anything. The good thing about the hotel is it's location, but it's a shame I wouldn't stay there again. This hotel stay was a christmas gift off Groupon, had I paid I would be extremely disappointed. We tried to make the best of our stay, Ilkley is a lovely place.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilkley hotels

bradford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel within easy reach of the centre.Staff friendly,food lovely,lovely grand hotel set in stunning grounds,spotlessly clean,great value for money,nothing too much trouble cannot wait to return!!!.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmadaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Couldn't fault the staff or food but room 122 was very shabby. This room overlooks a garden only the windows were so dirty you couldn't see it. We had to boil the kettle numerous times for the bath as the water was barely warm. Needless to say I would not recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wingnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Went to this hotel for afternoon tea as 2 couples... the food was superb & delicious... the staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient. Lovely hotel & beautiful setting. Ideal for walking into Ilkley and for a peaceful relaxing break with beautiful views. Also ideal for days out to the dales.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff. So polite and welcoming from check-in to checkout.
The 3 course meal on Saturday night was lovely and the cooked breakfast was also super. Room was cosy and spotlessly clean. It really was a lovely relaxing weekend. I shall be booking to return for our anniversary in June.
Many thanks for our lovely relaxing weekend

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmalouise180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.5 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
211 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
9.8 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglands Hotel

Property: The Craiglands Hotel
Address: Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglands Hotel has been welcoming people from across the globe for more than 150 years. This grand Victorian hotel remains the ideal place for business or pleasure, combining modern comforts and facilities with a warm, friendly welcome.Set in 6 acres of beautiful, landscaped grounds and woodland, Craiglands is just a short walk to the historic spa town of Ilkley and the famous Ilkley Moor, with easy access to Leeds/Bradford airport and major business centres. There are 62 guest rooms and excellent facilities to suit all your requirements - 7 conference and banqueting suites, the newly refurbished Brasserie1 Restaurant & adjoining bar with outside terrace to name but a few. For fine dining, banquets, conferences, large corporate events or just to get away from it all, you really must come to Craiglands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Craiglands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craiglands Hotel Ilkley
The Craiglands Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing