We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Craiglands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Had afternoon tea at the weekend booked trough groupon offer, food was lovely and offered a nice selection which was just enough. The scones were delicious! Staff were very polite and friendly, would definitely return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank LouiseKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and i stayed here for one night ,it was a gift from our daughter and son in law,which cost £125. What a disapointment this hotel was.No hot water?,no milk or sachets of tea,and no heating in the bathroom. We also noticed stains on the towels,and bed covers,this showed a lack of housekeeping.When my wife rang reception she was told to run the tap for at least 10 minutes.To top it all off the wedding disco,was thumping in our ears until 12,30,am. which we had not been told previously.We complained to reception on our departure ,they said they would pass our concerns on.No good will gesture offered.All in all the facilities for a £125 a night was appalling.

Room Tip: A good tip is not to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight and disappointed to say the least .The hotel is archaic believe the owners are trying to sell as can't afford to refurb.
Sections of hotel are sealed off and inhabited by not people but Pigeons yes pigeons !!!
Yorkshires 'premier wedding venue'
I think not , some staff struggle to speak English
Do yourself a favour
Stay elsewhere

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank engulfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have been to this venue a few times and every time have been pleased.Excellent venue, very we'll organised. Food, decorations an faculties fab. Parking could have been better. All staff were pleasant and helpful. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Terrible stay at the Craiglands Hotel. There was a wedding party at the hotel during our stay, so music was playing until 12:30 which we could hear in our room on level 2, which I feel I should have been informed at the time of booking, but nothing was said. We couldn't get wifi in our room where the hotel stated 'free wifi throughout the hotel'. The rooms are very basic, our bed was so comfy though. The bathrooms are dated and looked like it'd not been cleaned. The walls are thin. All in all we had a terrible nights sleep. The breakfast was lovely though, a help yourself, they kept topping food up making sure there was enough. The reception staff at this hotel were the rudest I've ever come across, manners don't cost anything. The good thing about the hotel is it's location, but it's a shame I wouldn't stay there again. This hotel stay was a christmas gift off Groupon, had I paid I would be extremely disappointed. We tried to make the best of our stay, Ilkley is a lovely place.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel within easy reach of the centre.Staff friendly,food lovely,lovely grand hotel set in stunning grounds,spotlessly clean,great value for money,nothing too much trouble cannot wait to return!!!.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmadaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Couldn't fault the staff or food but room 122 was very shabby. This room overlooks a garden only the windows were so dirty you couldn't see it. We had to boil the kettle numerous times for the bath as the water was barely warm. Needless to say I would not recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wingnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
0.5 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ilkley
226 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Keighley
Travelodge Keighley
#3 of 6 in Keighley
157 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglands Hotel

Address: Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range: £50 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglands Hotel has been welcoming people from across the globe for more than 150 years. This grand Victorian hotel remains the ideal place for business or pleasure, combining modern comforts and facilities with a warm, friendly welcome.Set in 6 acres of beautiful, landscaped grounds and woodland, Craiglands is just a short walk to the historic spa town of Ilkley and the famous Ilkley Moor, with easy access to Leeds/Bradford airport and major business centres. There are 62 guest rooms and excellent facilities to suit all your requirements - 7 conference and banqueting suites, the newly refurbished Brasserie1 Restaurant & adjoining bar with outside terrace to name but a few. For fine dining, banquets, conferences, large corporate events or just to get away from it all, you really must come to Craiglands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Easy Market Spa, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Craiglands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craiglands Hotel Ilkley
The Craiglands Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing