We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Craiglands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Only a brief overnught stay,and did not dine.But great location,good car parking,and a warm welcome to start with.
Made use of the bar in the evening,with comfy sofas,and the local paper to read.Booked a single room at a great price,but got a huge double room with a king sized comfy bed.Generous sized bathroom,immaculately clean.Good night,s sleep in peaceful location.
In the morning generous breakfast,help yourself to as much as you wanted.Fast efficient check in,and out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

A last minute booking. A lovely comfy room with all amenities.
One unpleasant young waiter countermanded by an extremely helpful and cooperative Manager.
Other staff also very good.
This old spa hotel is undergoing refurbishments but well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I had my wedding at the Craiglands and the general staff were professional and the food was really good. The events co-ordinator was badly organised as they had fired the previous one. Watch the price that they charge you and double check the paperwork. The General Manager was unhelpful and the owner lacks professionalism and customer service.

The hotel needs a lot of investment to bring it up to a good standard. You get mixed reviews from customers because the rooms at the back of the hotel are damp, (we had guests with wall paper coming off the wall and it rained in!) and in need of work, very overpriced for £100 per night. The rooms at the front are better, but again they need some TLC. I was in the bridal suite which had stains on the carpet and bad grouting in the bathroom, not romantic!

For wedding venues in Yorkshire there are far better for the money and quality.

Would I go back, the answer is no. Such a shame a lovely hotel but needs a total revamp!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 128Pen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked late with -Hotel.info and it was so easy. We had a huge room and bathroom- spotless, a friendly, quick registration and comfy bed. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice and self service . If anything had run out the Staff happily refilled . Toaster needed T L C -as stacked the toast on the table beyond sight- but still did the job! Lovely clean, airy lounge/ bar, with large T V and loads of chairs. Unfortunately we will have to wait for another visit to try the Main meals but we did have a tasty, freshly made evening sandwich, with a glass of wine- after a day out on the moors (which are steps away from this hotel.) We were there with a wedding and later a coach of mature folk= both of which were catered for without it having any effect upon our comfort, as 60 rooms along long wide corridors means space for all and older hotels may have the odd creaking stair but do have thicker walls than modern ones.. We would love to return. Character plus in a charming situ.

Room Tip: We were on second floor (there is a lift) right down the back furthest room-so peaceful but could he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for three nights on the occasion of our son's wedding. The Craiglands is a beautiful building and provided great facilities and food for the ceremony, but the best thing about the place is the quality of the staff. The General Manager, Chris, set a great example, but all the staff were professional, capable and friendly. We had a wonderful experience and the whole event was enjoyed by everyone attending.
The only thing we felt was missing was a pool to relax in with the weather being so warm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Yesterday we held a fabulous wedding at Craiglands where the ceremony was very special in one room and we took over the Ballroom for the Reception. We had around 100 people enjoy the event with us. From the moment I arrived on Thursday (mother of the bride) the General Manager, Chris, could not do enough to satisfy my every whim! First he asked staff member Sam to help me bring in loads of wedding paraphernalia ... Then Chris actually served us dinner and the next morning breakfast! As there was a Prom on Friday in the Ballroom, it meant we had to wait for decorating the ballroom until the day. However, the ceremony room was set up Friday, ready for flowers and guests on Saturday. The Ballroom was cleaned in the middle of the night and decoration began in earnest Saturday morning. Chris reassured me all would be done. He and Sam hung 75 metres of bunting above, got the tables in correct locations, and had all the food set out ready for the Wedding Breakfast at 5 p.m. Everything went very smoothly and as far as I could see all guests had a wonderful time. I understand that the hotel is an old building and therefore is not always perfect in plumbing or decor, but any problems were sorted out quickly and kindly, and I never felt reluctant to make our wishes known. Today, in clearing things away, it was Chris himself who climbed the ladder to take down the bunting! So I wanted to thank Chris and the rest of the staff at the Craiglands publicly for helping to make a fantastic wedding day and also recommend this wonderful old hotel, with beautiful grounds in Yorkshire, to others for a brief stay or an organised event.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my father in laws 70th birthday. Room was lovely and spacious, just a bit hot. The staff were great and made loads of effort to make our stay special. The food was lovely both at dinner and breakfast. Overall it was great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilkley
0.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
0.5 mi away
Dalesway Hotel
Dalesway Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ilkley
223 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craiglands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglands Hotel

Address: Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range: £50 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglands Hotel has been welcoming people from across the globe for more than 150 years. This grand Victorian hotel remains the ideal place for business or pleasure, combining modern comforts and facilities with a warm, friendly welcome.Set in 6 acres of beautiful, landscaped grounds and woodland, Craiglands is just a short walk to the historic spa town of Ilkley and the famous Ilkley Moor, with easy access to Leeds/Bradford airport and major business centres. There are 62 guest rooms and excellent facilities to suit all your requirements - 7 conference and banqueting suites, the newly refurbished Brasserie1 Restaurant & adjoining bar with outside terrace to name but a few. For fine dining, banquets, conferences, large corporate events or just to get away from it all, you really must come to Craiglands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Craiglands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craiglands Hotel Ilkley
The Craiglands Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing